We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and traditional.”
Review of Dionysos Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dionysos Central
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice and traditional.”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights.great location,just got back last night.stayed for bed and breakfast.nice room,great air con.very typically Cypriot.quirky,not modern.but very clean.we must have had a refurbished room because it was lovely.only let down was pool,not very nice so don't go off the photos.!!!definately needs attention.good base to explore.would I go again ?yes for a small break .

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    172
    63
    34
    26
See reviews for
92
229
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Not so modern rooms. Classic Ambiance with stone walls etc. Boutique Type. Had to hang around in the lobby for WiFi since room had too weak coverage. Right in the middle of the city. Very close to the harbor and archaeological sites.

Room Tip: Check for good Wifi signal. My room had no coverage. So had to stay in the lobby for internet. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keheliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days ,ok of you want to use it as a base or just somewhere to sleep the hotel itself is not to bad but the rooms need attention very old fashioned and very dated the breakfast is average .They do have a restaurant on the front facing the main promenade road which serves nice food and a great pork chop.The plus point of this hotel is its location with the harbour and promenade only a short walk. Various bars and restaurants within 100 metres

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room as the Rooms at the back face bar street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the month of April and was very pleased with mostly everything, nice friendly staff, good food, rooms are ok considering the short time your in , always plenty of hot water and fresh towels when you needed them, some of the rooms I must add are facing near a night club which is really noisy mostly at the weekend when we were there so we asked to be moved and that was done on the same day, outside space is good with a small pool with a veranda also for sunbathing, as the name applies the location of this Hotel is fantastic, very handy for walks along the front, a great holiday and yes we would choose the Dionysos Hotel again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed here on a recent trip to Paphos and booked the hotel by way of a package with British Airways. On arrival, and first impressions were very good. Bear in mind that I do think of any hotel as a bag drop, because unless you are going to be staying in your room all day, then that is essentially what it is, or at least to us.

Anyway, back to the hotel. From the check in which was done without any fuss, we went to our room which was numbered in the 200's so on getting in the lift, you'd automatically think it was on the second floor, not to be as it's on the first, but again no hassle. We were informed by a lady who we shared the lift with, to be wary of it as it could be a little on the vicious side, what she meant by that we didn't know until it came to an abrupt halt.

Anyway, we found our room. The room was of a decent size, clean but basic. The bed was comfortable. We soon went on to find that the only plugs available were tucked under the table right in the corner, so if there were any guests with needs they may struggle to get down in order to access the electricity points.

The room had a small flat screen tv, however, no remote. It had a fridge, but it was locked and the wardrobe had a small safe and again locked. As the room had these features, I enquired as to how you were able to use them. I was informed that they incurred a daily charge and a deposit. We took advantage of the fridge in order to keep drinks cool, but didn't go for the safe or remote control of which I would expect to be included with the room.

Having to pay for everything else, made me think as to whether we'd be metered on toilet flushes or for the amount of water used in the shower!!

The bathroom however, was ok, our room had a large chunk of marble?, missing which was only noticeable if you happened to sit in the bath, and again was clean and there was piping hot water for the duration of the trip with good water pressure,

Our hotel deal included half board, the food in the restaurant being good and the waiter in there for the majority of our time was a tall gentleman by the name of Demetris, who it would seem was kept on the go morning, noon and night! He was to say the least very attentive, keeping a watchful eye all the time.

Verdict: Would I stay again, yes, but would try somewhere else before going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaJo_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I have got to say I stayed in this hotel in March, this was the in the middle of a refurbishment, I would not mind if it was just a paint and decorating job, but this was a whole new floor being built on top of the second floor, banging, drilling at 7am ,dust and debri all over the patio and the pool area, no green netting to protect the guest, while they sat around the pool not that many people did because the noise was rediculous. I am not very happy with the company I went through because they must have known this work was going on. The security was not good, changed my room after the first night, you had to pay for 20 euros for the remote for the tv which there was only 1 programme BBC world news for the British, 20 euros for the safe, 10 euros for the fridge which did not even work, I was passed complaining at this stage because no one was listening to you. The receptionist were very rude, they even said to me at one point when I complained about the building work (what building work), like they knew nothing. The reception staff need to go on a course for customer services. The bar was a joke when it was open just before dinner you would ask for your drinks and the bar man would get the glasses and go into another room for the drinks looks really nice on the photos just like everything does. The breakfast was the same every day and not even hot, the food was the same at dinner not hot to make it worse the plates were cold, so any warm food soon got cold,at dinner time there was a cover put on the drinks machine so we could not have any warm drinks with our meal we were half board I at lease expected to have a coffee with my evening meal. This was just a money making machine at this hotel charging for every little thing. Be aware of the noise at night from the disco and night life around. The only good thing was being central as Cyprus is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rose471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed for a week in March and wished i had stayed at home, the hotel is in the middle of a major refurbishment, the top two floors are completely gutted, work started at 7 in the morning until late afternoon, very noisy and dusty, the air conditioning wasn't working, the lift was broken, and no hot water for one day. You have to pay extra for everything in the room, the safe the fridge even the remote control! The only good point is the central location.

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flashman6667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Basilica Holiday Resort
Basilica Holiday Resort
#26 of 88 in Paphos
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#28 of 88 in Paphos
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Daphne Hotel Apartments
Daphne Hotel Apartments
#82 of 88 in Paphos
494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Princessa Vera Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#40 of 88 in Paphos
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Central

Property: Dionysos Central
Address: Ave Poseidon 1, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dionysos Central 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Bookcyprus.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dionysos Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Central Hotel Paphos
Dionysos Central Paphos
Dionysos Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing