We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully renovated and close to everything.”
Review of Dionysos Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dionysos Central
Ranked #39 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Budmouth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated and close to everything.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Having stayed here before, I have to say that the new renovations are super, very modern and clean. The aircon in the rooms is good, efficient and blessedly quiet. The pool does need a bit of minor attention, having some inch-square tiles missing from the steps, but nothing awful.

Good breakfast, continental style and plenty of it. We had some gannets in when we were there, piling their plates high with a bit of everything and leaving their plates on the tables while they went to get more, but their depredations were quickly made up - if the eggs or ham had all gone, there were more within a few minutes. We were B&B so I can't speak about the rest of the food, although other guests said it was 'adequate'. You shouldn't need to go half board, there are so many good restaurants and bars within an easy stroll. Try Flintstone's, opposite the hotel for a drink, they keep you well topped up with popcorn and don't mind if you get food delivered - there's a chinese nearby, pizzas or (if you really must) KFC. Or have a drink there and amble down to Grill Garage for amazing ribs and burgers etc.

There's a bar by the pool, open from 11 to 4, for drinks, ice cream, and snacks such as salads, sandwiches, burgers, omelettes... There was a fillet steak on there but I thought that was a bit heavy for lunchtime...

Others have mentioned paying for the TV remote, safe key, and fridge. They seem to have got the wrong end of the stick - you pay a deposit, refundable when you leave. I suppose people kept wandering off home with these items in their luggage, and this is the only way to be sure they get returned. Our fridge wasn't locked anyway. The TV only shows BBC News in English, but then who wants to sit in and watch TV on Hols? You can also get pool towels for a five euro deposit, refundable on return.

Centrally located, the hotel is the ideal base to explore from, as you can stroll down to the Fort and the Mosaics (take water and a sunshade as they are very open) passing the bars, restaurants and shops on your way. Some have mentioned noise, it's not intrusive considering the hotel's position. If you want quiet stay outside town and get cabs or busses in and out. Very convenient....Not. The worst noise was the church bells at 7am but that was only at the weekend.

Anything to grumble about? The WiFi in the rooms was hit-and-miss and only supported one device at a time. Better to go to the lobby or cafe. Shortage of sockets in the room, although the hair drier is attached to the wall so doesn't need one. We only used for recharging. No tea or coffee making facilities.

Ignore the moaners, it's good value for a three star, and has all you need. If you want five star, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budmouthbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    166
    62
    34
    24
See reviews for
88
225
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

When holidaying in Paphos, Cyprus for about the last 16 years we always stay at the Dionysos Central Hotel, because of the friendly atmosphere. The manager, Costas, and his staff are always ready to give any help and assistance that you may require to make your stay an enjoyable one. The rooms have been refurbished with all new furnishing including beds, which are very comfortable. The food is of a high quality both for breakfast and evening meal with a lot of choice. It is a very clean hotel which includes the good sized swimming pool. We have stayed at the hotel in past years with friends that have travelled with us who were also very pleased with all aspects of the Dionysos Hotel. The Hotel is well located with restaurants, shops within the surrounding streets. The sea with an area of sunbeds are across the road to the front of the Hotel. We spent 14 nights at the hotel in early September 2013, and are returning again this October.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel is fantastic, everything about it is just superb.
The rooms are very clean and modern.
Staff are very helpful and go out of their way to help you.
The pool is very clean.
We were staying at another hotel but couldn't stay there any longer and then we found this hotel and the manager was so accommodating to me and my family.
It's the ideal location for everything you need.
Thanks to all the staff for making us feel welcome.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
See you next time!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamy133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from Cyprus and have to say, we really enjoyed our stay here. In the beginning of the week, we were at another hotel which we hated as our room was full of ants. We came to this hotel as it's right on the harbour so perfect location. The manager spoke to us and managed to give us a room. They prepared it nicely for us, we had fruit and a bottle of wine In our room. They are refurbishing the rooms so we had such a lovely modern room with all new furniture. Fully air conned. Was perfect. Staff were very friendly and helpful. As soon as you walk out the hotel, there are the shops and restaurants. No noise could be heard from the room as the balcony doors were sound proof so were never disturbed. I would definitely come back here. Amazing place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee3264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Costa, the hotel director, is very nice=)). The staff is quite helpful as well. The hotel is close to the beach, shops, cafes, the bus stop etc. I`d also recommend to visit Theo`s restaurant - 10 min walk to the right down the sea-front. The oysters were superb!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cantthinkofthename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Rooms are clean but poor quality beds and furniture. Food is very basic luke warm and unappetizing. Very poor selection of evening meals.
At times to try and get a drink is impossible waiting up to 40 mins to be served.
Although staff are friendly management appear to pay little interest to complaints or resolving them .
What was worse is that our complaint was doubted.
We paid for a deluxe room only to be told that the wifi was not included although when checking travel agent web page it states it is.
We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holiday46140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights.great location,just got back last night.stayed for bed and breakfast.nice room,great air con.very typically Cypriot.quirky,not modern.but very clean.we must have had a refurbished room because it was lovely.only let down was pool,not very nice so don't go off the photos.!!!definately needs attention.good base to explore.would I go again ?yes for a small break .

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Basilica Holiday Resort
Basilica Holiday Resort
#34 of 88 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
0.2 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#28 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Daphne Hotel Apartments
Daphne Hotel Apartments
#82 of 88 in Paphos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#44 of 88 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roman Boutique Hotel
Roman Boutique Hotel
#46 of 88 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Central

Property: Dionysos Central
Address: Ave Poseidon 1, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dionysos Central 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Bookcyprus.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dionysos Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Central Hotel Paphos
Dionysos Central Paphos
Dionysos Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing