We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dionysos Central Hotel
Ranked #40 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel in June 2014.
We hadn't been to Paphos before and checked out reviews of the hotel on here before booking. I'm glad we took the poorer reviews with a pinch of salt, as we arrived with an open mind.
Reception is big with plenty of space to relax in the shade, and the staff were all friendly and helpful.
We booked half board but still took plenty of money in case the food was poor as some reviews had suggested. In hindsight this was unnecessary as we didn't have a bad meal. There was only one evening when choice was a bit limited due to my tastes. There were always potatoes, rice and vegetables to accompany along with a salad and pasta bar. The service in the restaurant was always good when Rosi was working, the boys weren't as fast to clear the tables and seemed to panic when the boss was around! This hotel could increase their bar takings if they were quicker to offer drinks with evening meals. Sometimes we were near the end of our main when we got someone's attention.
The rooms were spotlessly clean with maid service daily. Rooms large enough, with a nice sized balcony. The glass door in the bathroom wasn't an issue as we are married! We stayed in 212 which had a bath, my parents were in 218 which had a new shower. The rooms overlooked the pathway to the annexe which wasn't noisy at night. Also, Bar Street wasn't noisy as it didn't seem that busy up there (only half of the bars were open, the rest were all to let). The rooms are double glazed anyway, so I can't see it being a big issue even mid season.
The pool was adequate for a little dip every now and then, the pool terrace up the steps always had beds available with umbrellas. Pool bar open.
The location is excellent with the harbour right on the doorstep and easy access to the rest of the island from the bus station about 1/2 mile wander along the harbour.
Will definitely return here in the future.
Tombs of the Kings is a must, and Kings Avenue Mall worth a visit on the way back. Mosaics also great to visit (don't miss the castle ruins, they're the best bit!).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here last week for second time.nice small and friendly.had a new room,which was lovely overlooking the courtyard.lots of shades areas around the pool.alot of Russians staying here,Brits a minority.on the plus we could always get a lounger,on the top terrace,which had a lovely breeze.only thing we didn't like was the food,so ate out most nights,but it's not expensive to eat out in paphos.great location,everything nearby,and lovely stroll to harbour,and beach very easy.would say it not really a family hotel,but great for friends and couples.would stay again,as we were not disappointed,lovely and traditional and spotlessly clean.xxxxx

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Distinctly average is exactly how I would rate this hotel!

We stayed in a deluxe room which I understand had recently been refurbished, The bathroom and bedroom looked great and were clean and reasonably comfortable. However we did run into some problems - firstly a towel rail in the bathroom was stuck to the wall with mastic rather than screws and this fell down and hit me on the head (yeah it was pretty funny but still).

Our air conditioning broke, there was no remote for the tv, no fridge to put water in, our thick duvet was taken away and not replaced so we were only left with a sheet and on two out of the 5 nights our room wasn't turned down. Also when they come to fix the air conditioner they did so about 10am on the day of our departure and knocked and came into our room despite having "do not disturb" on the door. None of these things were a huge disaster but are the difference between an ok and a good hotel.

Food at the hotel is ok, we went all inclusive which probably you don't need to as there are plenty of places to eat and drink around. They also make it kind of difficult to get your moneys worth on the drinks.

We were in cyprus for a wedding which was taking place at another hotel so we didn't spend much time around the pool here (sneakily went to our friends hotel instead as we wanted to spend time with them) but the pool and loungers were ok. Pool bar wasn't open so getting a drink meant having to go inside.

Food average - never made it up for breakfast. Lunch was nice and dinner was samey. I'm a vegetarian and as expected options were pretty limited.

Also wifi at this hotel sucks - don't bother paying for it!

Reception and waiting staff are helpful.

Finally, if this sort of thing bothers you, the hotel has mainly russian guests.

This hotel could be a fantastic hotel but needs a bit of work. Wasn't expensive though so can't complain.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rae87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After hearing the Dionysos had been refurbished we thought that we would give it another try. Wow what a difference, we were in a superior garden view room and we could not believe it was the same hotel very impressed. Definitely going back, in fact, already booked for end August. Most of the rooms have now been updated and hopefully all by next season, bathroom completely different now just shower in our room, all new fittings,sink toilet and tiling floor to ceiling, fluffy towels ! Redecorated. Staff as helpful as ever and very friendly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Deb-Trev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Been coming here for 17 years love the refurbishment. Rooms very comfy and clean. Staff fabulous made to feel part of the family. Place Royale the perfect place to spend your evening relaxing. Good food and top service. Can't wait till October.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talponciau1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Ok in the winter, but I wouldn't want to be here in season :-/

Fairly comfortable, good food, very central!

Rooms are utilitarian with a glass door to the bathroom - recommended you have no shame! Great base for exploring, close to the bus station and local sites - quick transfer time too!

Wouldn't want to stay for longer than a week, or in season

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rmp1968uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I don’t normally write reviews but am disappointed in the all inclusive package at this hotel. Don't get me wrong the hotel itself is central and we had deluxe sea view room which was good. The food however - you may only eat at certain restaurants at certain times. Evening you can eat at La Place Royal (which is the best of the bunch) once only. The other alternative is the Italian restaurant which is diabolical. Drink and food menus are given to you on arrival so you may only eat certain meals at the Royal but not from the Al a carte. Drinks you can't have local Keo beer but can have their cheaper and worse counterpart Leo?? Cocktails are questionable not too much alcohol in there I gather. Very annoying seeing as I paid a lot of money to go A/I. Don't bother there's very reasonably priced excellent food and drink around the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mjohnsonma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 85 in Paphos
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#41 of 85 in Paphos
526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roman Boutique Hotel
Roman Boutique Hotel
#46 of 85 in Paphos
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apollonia Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Basilica Holiday Resort
Basilica Holiday Resort
#30 of 85 in Paphos
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Central Hotel

Address: 1 Dionysos Street, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: £45 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dionysos Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dionysos Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Central Hotel Paphos
Dionysos Central Paphos
Dionysos Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing