We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WARNING !”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Think carefully before booking a stay at this hotel. My wife and myself booked a room for a week several months ago and received confirmation of the booking. When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist, all smiles and welcoming, said the manager would like to welcome us personally. We were shown to a desk in the foyer and after a while the manager came out and told us we were being sent to another of the company's hotels. We protested and told him that if we had wanted to go to another hotel we would have booked it and showed him our booking confirmation. He told us not to interrupt him and said that was how the hotel company, Constantinou Bros operated. When we asked why us and not some other people were being moved, he said it depended on who arrived first. It seems that if you get there early enough (we arrived late morning) you get the room otherwise bookings, confirmed or not, mean nothing. This is all bad enough but as far as we can remember at no time during our discussion did this bad tempered, aggressive little manager by the name of Demetris Demetriou, offer an apology for this treatment. We were dumped at the other hotel and had to wait for three hours before our room was ready. It is a nice enough hotel but on the outskirts of Pafos with no bars or restaurants nearby, as the Royal has, and it was too far to walk into Pafos town.
On reflection we should have refused to move or just walked out but after a long flight, on a very hot day and being strangers in Pafos we gave in as the manager knew we would. This has not been a nice experience for us and from what we understand it happens frequently. So if booking with this company don't expect them to always honour their obligations. We assumed we had entered into a contract, as had the hotel company, which they broke - we will research this matter further.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
32 Thank Josie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,155
    237
    69
    21
    18
See reviews for
95
1,185
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My husband and I have just enjoyed a lovely relaxing week at Athena Royal Beach. Excellent facilities, polite staff and they really look after you. We had a side sea view room which wasn't the largest hotel room we have had but lots of extras included. Very quiet throughout the hotel and the grounds both day & night. Sun bed set up very good with spaces in between with, parasol chair & table so you could relax in sun or shade. No real entertainment apart from Duo singing old songs so not much atmosphere at night, we went to local bars or into harbour Took 35 minutes to walk in at a relaxing pace not 20 mins as brochures say. Caught last bus back at 11pm number 611 for 1euro. Disappointed with the food though, as advertised gastronomic delights!! Breakfast buffet was good with lots of choice, cereals, pastries, fresh fruit & cooked meal. Evening meals were not as good value, salads & cheeses & crackers, also soup & nice desserts & fruit. The main course was very poor though, lots of choice but poorly cooked and presented. There was always pork cooked in various ways, white fish that tasted of nothing and chicken. Vegetables were hard not al dente, sprouts, baby carrots & sweetcorm nearly every night. The vegetarian choice was pasta with watery sauce & even on the theme nights it wasn't much better. The Far Eastern night consisted of veg chow mein, chicken curry & burnt felafel. They would have been much better offering less choice but better quality & better cooked. I was looking forward to traditional Cypriot food, spinach & feta pies & stuffed vine leaves etc. The meals served at lunchtime were much better & good value at E5 to E120.. I would like to return to Athena Royal but next time would go bed and breakfast as there were plenty of restaurants nearby offering a variety of cuisine.

Room Tip: Any room I would think although we paid extra for side sea view, There was excellent double glazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank StaffsAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at The Athena first week of June and had a really relaxing stay. We were probably the youngest of the guests so the entertainment is geared up towards the 60+ age bracket. Food was great and always varied. Our recommendation is to book a room with a sea-view as the rooms that face the road can be quite noisy at night. Overall a great hotel with staff that go out of their way to help. Definitely returning next year.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book a sea view, as the other rooms are noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Walesjos2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon Cambs
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Have just returned from the Athena Royal which I cannot fault in anyway. I have stayed in many hotels on Cyprus but this really is the best. Superb position just 20 minute walk to the harbour.
Plenty of sunloungers in well kept gardens. All the staff are very professional but very friendly.
My room was kept spotless as were all the public rooms.

My daughter got married in the Athena Beach whilst I was there, which is the family hotel next door and between the Beach Hotel and Royal plus the efficient and lovely Jayne the wedding co-ordinator, everything was just perfect.

I travelled with Thomson holidays whom I would recommend highly also if the budget allows try and have a sea view room the views are stunning.

Thank-you Constantinou group for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Sea view or side sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ann46HuntingdonCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

(Trip date unavailable on TA options, as it was 2 years ago, our opinion is valid nonetheless). We booked a holiday for Easter 2010 at the Athena Royal Beach Hotel through Olympic Holidays with a gold upgrade - free taxi to and from the airport, extra wine and fruit in the room. It was the first full package we've ever had and we've been yearning to go back ever since. The scent of orange blossom on the warm evening air through the groves around Paphos will remain with us for ever.

The Olympic representative at the hotel was very welcoming and helped us plan our sightseeing itinerary with optional excursions into the Troodos Mountains in 4x4 vehicles and by coach to Famagusta in Northern Cyprus. Both tours have left lasting good memories and are really something not to be missed.

We were able to walk from the hotel right around the bay into the lower town and port area, but there are inexpensive and regular buses (old coaches actually!) that stop near the hotel and are easy to use and save the legs and feet for walking around the archaeological sites; fabulous mosaics and Tombs of the Kings, not to mention the market in the upper town. We made two trips there and on our second visit, I was greeted as if I was a dear long lost friend by the owner of one shop we'd previously visited! If you happen to stop for a coffee anywhere, just ensure you're served with proper coffee and not nasty instant Nescafe!

Even if you don't want to include any sightseeing on your holiday, but just relax at the hotel by the outdoor pools or pamper yourself in the wonderful spa (sauna, steam, indoor pool and a whole range of holistic and beauty treatments), then the Athena Royal Beach Hotel is certainly the place to do it. This is an adult friendly hotel, so there are no screaming children running around to spoil your idyll. The staff are warm and friendly, the rooms are spotless and well-appointed with extra towels for the pool. Constantinou Bros certainly have an art in exceeding expectations. We hadn't told them it was my birthday, but they must have seen my cards and put birthday balloons and a message on our room door and left an extra bottle of wine. On other occasions, a platter of Easter cakes and eggs and souvenir gifts were left for us.

The quality of the food certainly makes or breaks a holiday. We'd booked half board as we were sightseeing and we found on many days, after a sumptuous breakfast, we hardly needed to eat again until the evening. I'd expect the chefs to be fairly seasonal but there were some particularly cheeky ones who helped to start our day with a smile. The main restaurant is buffet style and caters for all tastes. It was filled in the evenings with amazing salads, local and traditional main courses, decadent desserts and cheeses. Healthy eating is optional! For vegetarians/non-meat eaters, the choice was more limited but a quick word in the head chef's ear on my birthday ensured a specially prepared plate of giant prawns in garlic was delivered to our table with a flourish, and the head chef had a friend for life (at least a strong hug and kiss on our departure!). Cyprus produces some interesting wines that are on the wine list and well worth trying.

For evening entertainment, if you are after blazing lights and loud discos, then try Ayia Napa! The Athena Royal Beach Hotel lends itself to after dinner walks around the pool and bay area, where if you're lucky, you can make friends with a family of hedgehogs on the search of a tasty morsel. After you've walked off dinner, then there may be someone singing in the bar area, or you may wish to watch a film in the TV room. The bar serves wonderful cocktails and we enjoyed trying different ones each evening at happy hour before dinner, as well as relaxing with a freshly brewed coffee after dinner.

We hope it's not too long before we make our return visit, as we already feel as if we are loyal customers and we receive a Christmas card from the manager every year!

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZhooZhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

just returned from another fortnight at this hotel (3rd time) and it was wonderful as always all the hotel staff are lovely ,food is excellent ,and hotel and grounds are imaculate cant wait to go again next year

Room Tip: sea view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank juliestevenson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We booked to stay at this adult only hotel months ago, however on arrival we were met by the manager and told that the hotel was full and we were being moved to the sister family friendly hotel next door. Apparently this does happen and whilst the Athena Beach next door is a perfectly lovely hotel, we were not happy that we had paid extra for adult only and got put in a family hotel, we could have booked the Athena Beach ourselves and saved £100 each had we wanted to stay there. Our rep told us that we should have stood our ground and insisted on staying at the Royal, but when you arrive tired and worn out after hours of travelling the last thing you want to do is stand there arguing. I shall be taking this up with my travel company. So anyone who gets met with a "no room at the inn" - my advice is stay put and insist.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Buzbyago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#18 of 85 in Paphos
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#9 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing