We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Holiday Guaranteed but 2 problems” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Great Holiday Guaranteed but 2 problems”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Once again we enjoyed the whole Constanitnou experience in what is a well appointed and well managed hotel . I don't intend to spend time eulogising the hotel which is excellent but I have two quite major criticisms.
Firstly in this day and age I am amazed there was no free Wi-Fi in the hotel. This meant we had to walk a few 100 yards to a local bar where there was free Wi-Fi available. The bar also benefited from our expenditure in their premises. If the hotel offered free Wi-Fi they would have gained more profit from the use of their bar facilities.
Secondly all swimming pools were too cold for a pleasurable swim. The sea was warmer. With the abundant sunshine I am sure it must be possible to warm the water by using a simple solar heat exchanger.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdhor2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,084
    219
    63
    18
    17
See reviews for
86
1,102
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just arrived back from a weeks holiday in this lovely hotel. The staff are wonderful - they can't do
enough for you. I am a vegetarian and found plenty of choice of food. Had champagne at
breakfast to start the day. We were in a superior room and had a cabana on the beach. We had
a mobile phone to call for waiter service, we were served by a very pleasant waiter called Rosca.
The maids came in twice a day to clean the room and in the evening to turn down the bed and
empty any used bins. The entertainment was good and there was something going on every
evening. The only downside of the hotel was that the swimming pools were not heated and were
absolutely freezing, hence we only went in up to our knees on two occasions. We would definitely
go back to this hotel if we were assured the pool would be heated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delia28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Constantinou Brothers and their management know how to run hotels. This is our fourth holiday in their hotels in Paphos and our second to the Athena Royal Beach, our first visit here being the same time last year. Perfect temperature for us at 26C. This is an adults only hotel and caters extremely well for that category of guests. The staff are superb, many of them known from last year. All, without exception, are so friendly and courteous, with notning being too much trouble. The food is to die for with such a variety on offer. Whilst eating out is not a problem, with good and varied restaurant within a 10 minute walk,, taking all meals in the hotel is no chore at all, in fact it's a pleasure.
This is truly a resort hotel with nothing missing to spoil a truly memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms don't get the sun and are the best price and the coolest. Thee guest floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Brilliant holiday. We were there 2-16 Oct.
Welcome; staff; rooms; food quality & variety; facilities; animation team; are all excellent. No wonder it is heavily booked & there is such an amazing rate of return guests.
Manager leads from the front by example, as do his section heads.
Whenever you see staff, they are genuinely pleased to meet you.
No shortage of loungers yet fellow Brits still put out towels at 6.00am!

Room Tip: Worth sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank retired072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Athena Royal, where we celebrated a birthday.
The hotel was in a great location, with a private beach space if you wake up early! Rooms were very clean, as was the whole hotel!
Breakfast choice was very good and of a good standard. The staff as a whole were very helpful and friendly, although unfortunately slightly too regimental in their approach to customer service, with a 'computer says no attitude ' .
For example while we were on the private beach we were happy to order our own drinks at the bar (a waiter service would have been nice at a 4* establishment, and in turn made more bar profit) we requested a small pizza which was on the bar menu, only to be told that it wasn't on their food to be delivered to the private beach ... Only a sandwich was! We found this a bit strange and ended up ordering food from outside the hotel and bringing it too the private beach!
When on holiday it's nice to have a treat, therefore a cocktail by the pool and on the hotels private beach would be wonderful and decadent, we were disappointed when we were told that the cocktail bar doesn't open until early evening and only a limited selection of drinks are available during the day.
The hotel itself is slightly dated and looks like tis come straight out of a 1980's brochure although very clean and well maintained throughout.
One thing you need to know about this hotel is it is like going on a saga holiday. Most of the clientele were 60 plus, and it felt like going on holiday with your grandparents.
The adults only theme is welcome but it would be nice to have more guests under retirement age.
The hotel would have received a 4* from us but for a few points.
Also smoking is a big issue here. Our room got stunk out from someone on a nearby balcony regularly and the meals at the pool restaurant were sometimes hard to bare as people smoked all around on the dining tables hence wanting the food to be delivered to our lounger.
Also the cocktail bar when opened in the evening was not nice to sit at as smokers sat opposite and the smoke wafted into the bar and hotel itself.
Thank you to the staff for the lovely birthday breakfast in our room though we did enjoy our stay as a whole.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at Athena Royal Beach Hotel 9-16 October. This was our second visit to this hotel and we certainly hope it was not the last. We have stayed at other hotels in Cyprus but this one surpasses all the others in almost every respect. Wonderful beach
front location with plenty of sunbeds etc .Never any sense of being on top of other guests. Some folk still got up at crack of dawn to secure their favourite spot but this was not necessary. Hotel, rooms, lawns all kept in immaculate condition. Staff in every department gave excellent service. Food was particularly good, with more than enough choice at every meal. We eat, morning and evening outside. Should it have been cold, and it never was, there were heaters avalable. The pleasant walk into Paphos took about 20 minutews. For those with walking difficulties there were regular buses which stopped just outside the hotel. We would fully recommend this hotel as a place to stay. Rev Sam & Mrs Mary W

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Willms2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just returned from 10 day holiday and thoroughly enjoyed it . The hotel is in a great beachfront location with very pleasant sun bathing areas. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and the hotel was spotlessly clean. If you don't want to eat in hotel there are some very good restaurants nearby so an excellent spot. It is a good 15-20 minute walk to the harbour but his is along coastal path and very good exercise then have a cold beer for refreshment at the harbour This was our second visit and we will happily return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drptf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.5 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#18 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#9 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing