We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Cyprus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

In contrast to the holidays we normally book, my wife and I this time were looking for a 'nothing to do, nothing to see' holiday: that means 'just relax' and 'milk the day'. Athena Royal was the right place to be. Paphos has a very nice harbour with some attractive fish restaurants, the archeological park is interesting but can of course not be compared to other sites in Greece or Italy. Most of the interesting spots in Cyprus are scattered through the country, so you will need a rental car to discover them. But ... why not just stay at the Royal and let the staff pamper you ? The rooms are very clean and rather big, the hotel staff is friendly and the food is delicious. Even in cooler months like november, you can still have a swimm as the hotel as two outdoor pools but also an indoor one. The gym is free of charge and well equiped. In the evening, there is not much of activity, but in case you are looking for a drink, just visit next door's Athena Beach Hotel (which belongs to the same owner) and have a drink in the bar with live music every evening. The Athena Royal is a great place far from the crowd. It was a real discovery for us, and we can recommend the hotel to anybody looking for a great four star hotel with a fantastic restaurant and friendly service.

Room Tip: ask for a room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmols8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

So many times we have booked so called 4 star package tour hotels in the Med only to be disappointed. Not so, for the Athena Royal. This hotel is the biz. Only minor detraction, which you'll see from . the very few negative reviews for this hotel is their tendency to overbook rooms and then bump guests to another, most often the Athena Beach Hotel next door. It is also a nice hotel but, if they try and move you stick to your guns, and quote the Package Travel Regulations at them. We did and our reservation was eventually honoured.

Truly excellent service, and excellent food for mass catering. The food is like being on an upscale cruise liner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil5kye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

When you expect your hotel to be posh, design and lively do not go to the Athena Royal Beach. If you want an excellent, relax and real "all inclusive" package this is your place to go !

As indicated in other reviews, the looks of the hotel may seem a bit outdated at first sight but this is only a first impression we couldn't confirm afterwards. The hotel is charming and all we needed was available and very well maintained! The sunbeds for example were all cleaned early every morning, public areas, rooms and the garden were impeccable, not a single spot to be detected… In contrast to many other Paphos hotels, Athena Royal beach has a splendid large garden and beach where sunbeds and umbrellas are well placed, leaving at least 5 metres room around each of them and no morning-rush to get a nice place….
Whereas the breakfast buffet was really offering everything we could imagine, the dinner buffet was a bit disappointing as regards variety and presentation. It could surely benefit from some extra gastronomic creativity. The "à la carte restaurant" on the contrary was higher class with a nice selection of fine dishes and wines. Except top brands such as Black label, VSOP etc. all local and international alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks were included in the premium package and lunch could be taken "à la carte" in the pool bar or in the breakfast restaurant.
The only inconvenience of the area, for which the hotel can't be held responsible, are the sometimes busy air traffic (airport is only few kilometres away and most Paphos hotels suffer from this) and the noise of boats and jet skis of the nearby water sport which pass constantly close to the hotel's beach.
Above all we much appreciated the quality service, speed and kindness of staff in all premises. Everything asked was swiftly executed with good temper and a big smile ! What a change to the grumbly Egyptian waiters…Congratulations and thanks to all! We definitely can recommend this hotel and probably will return ourselves !

Room Tip: Go for the Premium package in a superior room and you will have a real "all inclusive "vac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucDBrussels_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Overall, I was very impressed by this hotel. The staff were all lovely - very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I would definitely go back.
Rooms - clean, comfortable and well-stocked with toiletries/hospitality items. Free litre of water and a fruit bowl on arrival.
Restaurant - very extensive buffet breakfast. I was B&B so didn't use the buffet restaurant. The A La Carte restaurant had a great view but the menu was a bit uninspiring so I went out to eat.
Gym - air-con & free bottled water. Good choice of machines.
Spa/hair salon - fabulous. Treated myself to a ginger/cinnamon massage. It was lovely. Beverley did my hair twice while I was there. A wash/blowdry was so reasonably priced it wasn't worth trying to tame my curls myself.
Location - about a mile from Paphos port but you don't need to walk far for a good choice of restaurants/bars.
Entertainment - mainly in the Athena Beach next door. Evening entertainment was a range of hilariously bad lounge singers.
Wi-Fi - expensive. This really annoyed me; it's an expensive hotel after all. Even in the public areas there was no free Wi-Fi.
Views - thanks to previous TripAdvisor reviews, I didn't book a sea-view room. Not worth the money when the alternative is a glorious mountain view.
Grounds - plenty of sunbeds around the pools (freezing in October) and in the gardens. The sea is over a public path and access is via a floating jetty. This might put off less confident swimmers as it puts you either straight into deep water or into very rocky shallow water. lovely clear sea.
Gripes - the Wi-Fi and the pool temperature. 2 lovely pools that nobody used. Apparently they put the heating on in November.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andromedababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Once again we enjoyed the whole Constanitnou experience in what is a well appointed and well managed hotel . I don't intend to spend time eulogising the hotel which is excellent but I have two quite major criticisms.
Firstly in this day and age I am amazed there was no free Wi-Fi in the hotel. This meant we had to walk a few 100 yards to a local bar where there was free Wi-Fi available. The bar also benefited from our expenditure in their premises. If the hotel offered free Wi-Fi they would have gained more profit from the use of their bar facilities.
Secondly all swimming pools were too cold for a pleasurable swim. The sea was warmer. With the abundant sunshine I am sure it must be possible to warm the water by using a simple solar heat exchanger.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdhor2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just arrived back from a weeks holiday in this lovely hotel. The staff are wonderful - they can't do
enough for you. I am a vegetarian and found plenty of choice of food. Had champagne at
breakfast to start the day. We were in a superior room and had a cabana on the beach. We had
a mobile phone to call for waiter service, we were served by a very pleasant waiter called Rosca.
The maids came in twice a day to clean the room and in the evening to turn down the bed and
empty any used bins. The entertainment was good and there was something going on every
evening. The only downside of the hotel was that the swimming pools were not heated and were
absolutely freezing, hence we only went in up to our knees on two occasions. We would definitely
go back to this hotel if we were assured the pool would be heated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delia28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Constantinou Brothers and their management know how to run hotels. This is our fourth holiday in their hotels in Paphos and our second to the Athena Royal Beach, our first visit here being the same time last year. Perfect temperature for us at 26C. This is an adults only hotel and caters extremely well for that category of guests. The staff are superb, many of them known from last year. All, without exception, are so friendly and courteous, with notning being too much trouble. The food is to die for with such a variety on offer. Whilst eating out is not a problem, with good and varied restaurant within a 10 minute walk,, taking all meals in the hotel is no chore at all, in fact it's a pleasure.
This is truly a resort hotel with nothing missing to spoil a truly memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms don't get the sun and are the best price and the coolest. Thee guest floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,832 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £55 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing