We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very Relaxing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #18 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A very Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel for ten days in September 09. The hotel grounds are fabulous and plenty of sun loungers and shade. The breakfasts were excellent, with campagne if you wish. The evening meal was a buffet service and there was plenty of choice and something for everyone.

We booked on a bed and breakfast basis and on arrival booked evening meals for four nights, which worked out cheaper to do it this way. Because children under 16 years of age are not allowed at this hotel the peace and quiet was wonderful for us being in our early sixties. The swimming pools were lovely to get into on hot sunny days. Staff come round when you are relaxing around the pool, asking if you would like something from the bar, so you do not even have to get up from your sun lounger if you don't want to. There are also pool towels for you to use, so you do not need to take your own.

We have stayed in Paphos before and so knew some wonderful restaurants to go out for dinner on the other days that we were at the hotel. The staff are really helpful and friendly, the hotel is spotless. We booked a room with a sea view which overlooked the pool area, nice and quiet because as I stated before there are no children, we have had our turn of that!

The only downside is the evening entertainment, but you can always go to other hotels or bars for a drink if you wish. All in all a wonderful hotel and we are thinking of returning again this year, if not, definitely next year and in September too.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suej47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    226
    67
    20
    18
See reviews for
89
1,126
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We've recently returned from the Royal Athena Beach hotel in Paphos after getting married whilst over there at Peyia Town Hall.

From the moment we checked in we recieved nothing but first class service. All the staff are friendly and can not do enough to help you. A special thanks to the hotel manager and assistant manager Demetris and Nicoletta for making our time at the Athena Royal at truly special one.

We didn't eat at the hotel every night but the nights we ate, the choice and quality of food was excellent and there were always choice of sunbeds for you to enjoy the sun too.

This is a adults only hotel and it's something the hotel is very strict on (My flowergirl had to wait in reception on the wedding day) so this is a perfect place to go if you want a relaxing time away without any children around.

On the day of our wedding the hotel brought up champagne and decorated our room with banners and balloons. On the morning after, the hotel laid on a champagne breakfast which could have fed 4! Nicoletta was always looking at ways to make our stay a truly special one!

The Athena Royal is on the main strip of Paphos with a few bars and restaurants opposite if you fancy a change. We organised for the wedding party to meet and eat at the Ocean Basket in Advanti Village one night who do excellent food and reasonable prices! It's best to prebook as the restaurant is popualr with locals.

Paphos Harbour is a short drive/taxi drive away.

Our only regret is not having enough time during our stay to take full advantage of the hotel facillities whilst there but we were getting married in Cyprus while on holiday and had a party of 35 to meet up with as well as meeting up with the wedding planner.

Overall, we were extremerly impressed with the standard and service and hope to return back to the Athena Royal in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettyandLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2010

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and if you want relaxation in an adult only environment then this is the place to come. plenty of sun-beds for everyone to enjoy both around the pools and on the grassed areas towards the beach.

The manager Dimitrios is an extremely friendly gentlemen, who wants to ensure everyone enjoys their stay with them, and this warmth and friendliness extends throughout entire hotel team including the front reception, Bar, restaurant and catering teams.
All very caring people with very nice pleasant personalities. Eva the bar manageress made a particular good impression on both my mother and wife, always sharing some exciting stories of the day with one another.

The hotel bedrooms are of good size and have tea and coffee making facilities within them and this certainly worked very well for us every morning before gong down to breakfast.

The food within the restaurant was also extremely good at both breakfast and evening meal times. A great selection of different and varied dishes throughout these times allowing a wide choice for everyone attending. (Do not think or worry about diets during your stay)

Excellent service, great hotel and a most wonderful relaxing break for us all.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevet0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north lincs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

This really is a quality hotel and lives up to its trip advisor reputation, Hotel staff incredibly helpful, room fine, although bathroom a little tired. Location superb. The breakfast arrangements were excellent, although the vaccum flasks of coffee on the table were a touch unusual. Make sure you seek out the freshly squeezed orange. Our only concern was the quality of the evening meal. Whilst there was lots of choice.. in our opinion the quality was a little lacking.
We would most certainly return to this hotel again..albeit on a bed and breakfast arrangement.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We stayed at the Athena Royal Beach Hotel for a week, the hotel is immaculately kept with a large lobby/bar area with waiter service, the hotel has a small gym and indoor pool, TV room, games room and two outside pools which were very cold at this time of the year, one of the best things about the hotel was the excellent service from it's staff right up to the manager who is regularly seen inspecting the property, nothing is too much trouble and all the staff were very friendly and always smiling. We had a sea view room which had a fantastic view of the pool and sea which is great to sit on with your glass of wine or beer.The only down side of the room was the lack of English TV channels which were limited to Sky News, Sky sports 1 and a couple of obscure news channels, the two movie channels did not work.
We were on half board and have to say that the breakfasts were excellent with a large selection of food some cooked while you wait, we did find the evening meals a bit hit and miss, while there was a large selection to choose from we found that the meats tended to be overcooked and some of the vegetable selections were a bit dull, vegetarians weren't particularly well catered for however this is buffet style catering and lacks the elegance of restaurant dining, they also have different themed evenings each night but it is repeated after a week.
Entertainment was limited with a singer and piano player which is more to the liking of older guests.
The walk into Paphos harbour is along a lovely coastal path, there are some building works for new hotels going on but this doesn't detract from the sea views along the way, generally it takes about 15-20 mins to walk into the harbour area with it;s selection of bars and restaurants, there were a few annoying English touts in the harbour area attempting to give you scratch cards in order to spend 90 mins talking to some holiday company they are quite pushy but just be firm with them and they will leave you alone.
If your interested in dining out over the road from the hotel in a courtyard area is a great seafood restaurant called the Ocean Basket which does fab prawns and fish well worth a visit.
We also booked a trip to the winery with Thompsons and found that it was pretty much rubbish and not worth the money we paid, talking to other guests the general opinion was that the sightseeing trips are poor however the archaeological site at Paphos harbour with it's mosaics is well worth a visit. It is also much cheaper to go across the road from the hotel and book your trip with the travel firm based there.
Just a special note: We booked our trip with Thompsons during the Volcano crisis and have to thank them for their excellent handling of the situation, we were kept in our original room and upgraded to full board during the time we stayed while our flight home was delayed, some other companies moved their guests to other hotels but Thompsons must be commended for the way in which they handled a difficult situation.

All in all an excellent hotel with top class staff and decent meals.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stecaz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

If you want peace , quiet and relaxation in an adults-only environment then this is the place to come. The manager Dimitrios walks the walk and is high profile. The staff are all extremely helpful and friendly and make it their mission to please you. This includes the chef Chris who offers to provide what you want. Vegetarians will be as happy as carnivores. This is a very clean, well maintained and reasonably appointed hotel with nice touches such as tea and coffee making facilities and in-room ironing as well as fruit and wine on arrival, bathrobes & slippers. The breakfasts are excellent with a wide range of choices and dinners are varied, plentiful and tasty. Wine is reasonably priced , ( the Staus 99 was a decent red and the Persephone a decent white - ask Florin from Romania to advise you). Be aware that coffee in Cyprus is very expensive at roughly 3.5 euros and not necessarily of the quality we expect elsewhere in Europe. The Olive Tree cafe by the pool is pleasant for lunch with reasonably priced food and salad bar. Joanna and Elina will look after you very well. The spa experience is pleasant and Joulia gives a great massage. Nila takes the aquarobics and stretching which is all good fun without too much excersion although there is a gym and other sports facilities . The restaurant staff are great with just the right amount of humour and professionalism. Florin, Adriana and Ugo are worth a mention. The happy hour from 6-7pm is a good idea as the drinks are a bit pricey after that. The bar staff headed by Eva are absolutely charming, warm and friendly. Everyone from Reception staff to housekeeping to the very helpful bellboy make you feel special - thats a real knack. There is a great coastal walk into Paphos harbour which takes about 20 minutes and across the road and a few hundred meters to the right there are some nice cafes and restaurants in a modern, well-designed complex. We went with Thomson and were stranded during the volcano eruption and were delighted with the way they looked after us and kept us in this hotel on full board until they could get us home. So to sum up - if you want peace and quiet, great service, clean, bright, modern surroundings and nice food, a good stroll into town, spa and gym facilities in an adult environment then this is the place for you. Enjoy!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

This is an amazing place,thinking of it makes me go fuzzy! it was my dream honeymoon.
The staff are amazing so polite, we had a superior room with sea view it was lovely it was room 3303 on 3rd floor.
We enjoyed the food tremendously. The BBQ night is great if you are only b&b dont worry because Paphos has some amazing resturants! we were hb and because the food was that good we never went out!. Paphos its self is beautiful, the night life was perfect for us! the triangle is best place to go, especially the Crocodile Bar, the staff are lovely the drinks are cheapest here, the only downside to hotel is price of drinks bout 6euro each. Down the road bout a mile is the Harbour its so picturesque go on the Wave Dancer Firework cruise it was worth the 70 euro each you get food and brilliant entertainment. taxis are quite expensive bout 10euro but bus is only 1.50 euro each. You will not be disapointed with here. weve been back to this hotel and to its sister hotel Athena Beach next door! Go to Paphos if you want brilliant views, bright sunshine and relaxing times, its also so romantic it was amazing for us, if you are gettig married here all i can say is Lucky You! Hope this review helps. You wont be disappointed. Just also if you get a chance go to Coral Bay the beach is Lush!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnppearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#15 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing