We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We had a wonderful week at the Athena Royal Beach Hotel in May. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. We had a standard sea view room and it was a good size, with lots of storage space and both indoor table and chairs and a balcony seating area. We were dissapointed to see we had twin beds, so phoned down to reception who arranged for the beds to be put together the following morning which was great, we ended up with one huge bed.

We had complimentary wine and fruit in the room when we arrived, which was a really nice touch. The sea view was gorgeous, it was lovely being able to sit on the balcony having a drink before going out in the evening.

We were staying on a B&B basis and the breakfast buffet was huge, bucks fizz, piles of fresh bread, fresh fruits and cooks making crepes and fried eggs to order - everything you could want. All sitting out on the sunny terrace watching the sea.

There was plenty to keep us entertained too, the pools were much bigger than I realised from looking at photos and the pontoon out to the sea made it easy to swim in the lovely clear sea. We enjoyed the putting green, table tennis and the French Boules lesson the hotel gave. The best bit had to be lying on the sun beds on the lovely lawn, looking out to sea.

It was so lovely being an adults only hotel too, very peaceful and relaxing. When we walked past family friendly hotels in the day you could certainly hear the difference!

Easy 20 minute walk along the sea front walkway down to the harbour, where there are some good fish restaurants. Bus stops near hotel take you up to the Old Paphos town which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Warrior08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2010

Everything was just perfect, this adults only hotel provides a peaceful haven, right on the beach, well spaced out sunbeds, ample facilities, buffet breakfast provided fantastic choice, champagne, omlettes cooked to order -wonderful ! This hotel is of the highest standards in cleanliness, service and friendliness of all the staff, and pays great attention to detail. Rooms were comfortable, big beds, and many extras were included - tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes and slippers, fruit and wine on arrival, and even more wine on a birthday ! The beach bar was very reasonable for lunch snacks and the hotel bar drinks were also very well priced. Evening dinner always had a theme, we ate in the hotel on two occasions as we were on bed and breakfast basis, and again the selection was wonderful. Low key enjoyable relaxing entertainment in the bar in the evenings. Location was great, plenty of restaurants nearby, 100m to small new complexes offering every type of cuisine - try The Rendezvous , and sample the Greek meze, and Zsa Zsa and Ficardo's. A beach path leads directly from the hotel along the seafront and takes about 30mins strolling to the harbour in Pathos - lovely walk, ! This is a fabulous hotel for a truly relaxing holiday if you enjoy excellent food and lots of pampering, in a wonderful setting - this was our first visit but certainly will not be our last as we discovered talking to other couples had stayed there many times over,

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank westcoastboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Having read all the excellant reviews before we went, we were not disappointed. The Hotel is spotless and the food in the restaurant supurb, with so much choice. The staff from the reception to the waiters can't help enough and the Execuitve Chef is charming !
If you can't decide between the Athena Royal (adults only) and the Athena Beach, I would recommend the Royal as it is a lot quieter and a bit newer.
We had a land view room and although a sea view would have been nice, the land view looks out towards the hills so isn't a bad view. Although there can be a little noise from the road if you leave the patio doors open at night (which you have to as it is so hot).

One thing that is missing is internet access (unless you have your own laptop). Although you can use the one next door in the Athena Beach. Had there been a computer I would give this hotel 10/10 but without would give it 9.9999 out of 10 !

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My sister & I stayed at the hotel for a week in May on a B&B basis. We are both in our early 30's and wanted to stay in a hotel that would provide a peaceful location during the day but within close proximity of restaurants and bars for a more lively evening and that is exactly what we got!

We booked a sea view room away from the main road, so lovely and quiet albeit a bit small. The grounds are spacious with ample sun loungers around the pools and on the grass areas. No music or entertainment during the day - apart from stretching & water aerobics in the morning!

The hotel is in a good location, on the sea front (but don't expect much from the 'beach'!) & you can walk along the promenade from the hotel to the busier harbour area which takes approx 30 mins. We would have preferred to have been a bit closer to the harbour for convenience in the evening as we had to pay approx 8 Euros in a taxi each way. There is a good bus service but not available in the evening at this time of year.

There is a good selection of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, (would recommend Ocean Basket just opposite) although we preferred the harbour area for atmosphere and choice. Theo's was our favourite for a traditional taverna style meal and The Seagull at the end of the promenade was also excellent.

'Bar Street' is a short walk from the harbour and has a selection of bars for a more lively evening. 'Flairs' was our favourite! The evening entertainment at the hotel was very low key and aimed at older clientele who represented the majority of guests but don't miss out on the half price happy hour 6-7 in the hotel bar (great cocktails)!

If you turn right out of the hotel there is a supermarket a short walk away & also a coffee shop that sells filled rolls/pastries/cakes which can be taken away.

A great hotel with a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere for peaceful days and close enough to the harbour/bar street for more lively evenings. We would definitely return :o)

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMFEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Athena Royal Beach and having experienced quite a few hotels ( for both business and pleasure) this rates right up with the best. The location is perfect, 20 mins walk along the sea front into Paphos or 8 Euro taxi trip from the front of the hotel. We were on B&B so cannot comment on the evening meals however, the breakfast will meet your highest expectations. Don't miss out on happy hour from 6 till 7, grab a spot on the veranda. Outside of happy hour drinks could be termed as being moderatley expensive but the bar entertainment is quite good. The staff are always on hand to serve you. You do not have to walk far to find a restuarant, there are quite a few within 10 mins walk of the hotel both to the left and to the right. If you decide to travel into Pahos then there are lots to choose from and cater for a wide variety of tastes. I did some research prior to going to Paphos and found that 'Mother's' restuarant was highly recommended. we must have picked an off night. Our roast lamb special (which we all picked) was terrible (we didn't go back to give it another chance). There are lots of activities to pass the time, boules, putting, bowls, table tennis, pool, and more. A word of warning, the bowls costs 5 euros per person for the hire of the bowls. We upgraded our room to a twin with a sea view (we were in room 3327). Another word of warning, the rooms are not that spacious (slightly disappointing) and could be doing with a refurb (the colours help to make the room feel small). The cleanliness of the hotel and the attentiveness of the staff cannot be overstated. The fact that there are no children under 16 is another bonus, nice and quiet!!!! The area around the 3 pools provides more than ample room for the sun beds and there are alwys plenty available (I have no idea why people still insist in putting towels on sun beds at 7 am (madness in my eyes)). We would have liked to have used the Spa but in our view the prices were a bit steep. All in all we had a super time and we fully intend returning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyhammerSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this lovely hotel and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a totally stress free break. All of the hotel staff could not have been more helpful or friendly and the cleanliness of the hotel is second to none. The food is exactly what you would expect from a 4 star hotel, lots of it and very well prepared and presented. The restaurant staff were all very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Room Service was also exceptionally good and value for money.

All in all, we had an excellent holiday and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a totally relaxing holiday.

We will definitely be returning to the Athena Royal in the very near future.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ollieLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My partner and I stayed here for a relaxing holiday, after what had been a difficult year. We had read the reviews on Tripadvisor, and this is the reason we booked this particular hotel and resort.
We were not disappointed, however, the only slight downside for me, was that there wasn't any WOW factor.
That said, we were totally happy with the accommodation and the hotel grounds, which were kept exceptionally clean. The food was extremely nice and plentiful and the staff were very friendly and attentive, even reception.
I had informed them on arrival that it was my partners birthday the following day, and they kindly decorated the door with balloons and streamers, and we were given a bottle of complimentary wine and fruit.
The spa area seemed to be used by a lot of residents, so would be advisable to book at the beginning part of the holiday to guarantee a slot.
Iwona & Joanna (I think) were brilliant, when my partner and I booked an Olive Oil massage including a head massage....... Well worth it, and felt totally chilled out afterwards.
Entertainment left a little to be desired, and it seemed to be aimed at the predominantly 60+ age group, however, I do think even they would have preferred it a little more lively. The singers were good, but more like background music.
The hotels position was near enough to the local bars and restaurants located a short walk away, however to get into Paphos town you could either take a 40 minute walk by the sea front (although this is unlit the whole way at night) or catch a cab. When we went the buses didn't work in the evening, but will do in Summer.
All in all, a great hotel and have come home throughly relaxed and de-stressed plus we were lucky enough not to have had any problems with the Volcanic Ash cloud.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diamondcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,839 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | P.O. Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#21 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £55 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel is an adult-focused, four star, waterfront hotel in Kato Paphos. Places of archaeological interest, restaurants, bars and shops are located at a convenient short distance. A few metres away from the hotel entrance is a bus stop and taxis are always available. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests. The resort is situated 15km away from the Paphos airport and 140 km from Larnaca airport. Two excellent golf courses are within a short driving distance. All the rooms offer large balconies with majestic views of the sea or of the hotel’s extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Royal Beach Paphos
Hotel Athena Royal Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing