We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shameful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascos Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed 12 March 2012

come back today from coral beach and i will say its a nice friendly staffed hotel and everyone was great but there was a bug going round so ten of us not well but we got by and apart from that the entertainment day and evening excellent but the food wasnt hot much at brekfast and lunch as they seem to be catering for a fast turnaround and of course there wasnt but i spoke to our thomas cook rep and she went and saw the restaurant manager who did hes best to please but because the doors were open it still got cold quick.but i will say between meals in snack periods the staff was brill and the basic food like pizzas,omelettes,chips etc was all hot as it was cooked fresh for you but as to the stars i dont think its a 4star so to highly rated really but i will say i had a break to relax and made some good friends with everyone wanting to enjoy there stay

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea or pool really nice
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
There are newer reviews for Ascos Coral Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Just got back from the Ascos on 05/03/12. All meals were excellent and many choices that you should have no problem finding something you liked.
I found the Hotel to have a high standard of decor and very clean indeed.Bedroom was very large with TV and Coffee facilities - Toilet Shower etc.
We had 2 bad days of weather that did not put as off as the entertainment was once again excellent and mainly carried out by one person named Paul.He was the Host and Paul worked from the very early hours of the morning till 2300 at night,keeping the guests busy and involved.
Such games as Boules,Beanbag shuffleboard, darts,pool,table tennis the list was endless.
The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and I found them very accomodating.
Will definately go back again.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor (top) overlooking the pool and sea room 321 which was a corner room and very la...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just returned from a week at the Ascos, have to say we had a fantastic time, ok so there is room for improvement, the decor in rooms needs updating and they are in the process of renovating, the week we were there was the first week of opening and the hotel was not quite ready for us, however I have to say that the staff are amazing, they all work tirelessley to please guests, and the atmosphere is so warm and friendly.

Good choice of food for breakfast lunch and evening meal, very nice restaurant!!

If your looking for an entertaining week, then I can totally recommend, the entertainment was the best, from daytime activities to evening entertainment everyone was made to feel welcome and involved and I have to say this made the whole of the hotel guests gel.. we have made life long friends here and will definatly be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: sea view and side sea view recommended
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Have just returned from a weeks break in Cyprus This was booked for my husband and I to share a week in Cyprus with my 85yr Mum and her friend who was celebrating her 72nd birthday. This was not our original choice but 3 weeks before we flew we were told our original choice would not be open and we had all been transfered to the Ascos Coral Beach. First imppressions on arriving were good check in very quick and a plate of salad and a roll provided as the restaurant was shut. Went to the bar where we had a drink then went to our rooms 219 and 243. Mine was a large end of corridor room overlooking the carpark Mums was the other end of the corridor again overlooking carpark. Froze all night as heating did not work went to see mum hers worked. Reported to reception was told it would be fixed that day. However the whole of the hotel had no heating that day as it all broke down. Fixed later that night Ours still did not work Complained and was told it would be fixed the next day. Went to bed both in single bed with 6 layers of covers. At 2am went to reception to ask if they could give us a warmer room. Was given room 256 just for that night and told to see the daytime reception staff. This we did to be told it heating would be fixed ASAP. Went out for the day came back room still very cold once again slept in single bed with 6 covers went to reception in the morning and was told we could move to room 279 Walked in to lovely warm sunny room overlooking the pool. Nasty crack down the bath tiles and in the hanbasin and the flush on the toilet not working properly We could not fault the staff they worked really hard but the corridors still gloomy with peeling wallpaper. The restaurant where we had breakfast and lunch was always cold and so was the food. The nightime resaurant was too hot and the manager was very srict. Luckily we always dress for dinner as we had no letter from Thomas Cook telling us they now had a dress code. Soup was very hot 1st 2 nights then lukewarm. Selection of food was quite good. Drinks seemed to be very weak and the lemonade tasted mouldy. Would I go back, not unless the standards improved Not a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Try to pay for a seaview room as these get the sun and look more cheerful
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwifudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

i have been to this hotel 2 years in a row Oct 2010 & 2011 we went back there cos we knew it was great & friendly the food was lovely & i never remember moaning about any of the staff some people must be EXTREMELY hard to please or just love a good moan...there is only 1 reason i wont be there this year is cos i would like to visit another country ....but we are coming back in 2013 with my daughter & my grandchildren

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Me and my partner stayed at Ascos August 2011 and had the time of our lives.
We arrived late, and had a bit of trouble at the welcome desk with being given the wrong room key, we were given a room key that already had people in, and just saw these four feet poking out the end of the bed. Having just arrived on holiday, we were in great moods and saw the funny side to this, after all anyone can make a mistake. We were quickly given a different key and the receptionist was very apologetic.

Our overall view of this holiday was AMAZING. weather was superb, hitting heights of 40 degrees, food was very good lots of choice and the entertainment was fantastic, Dimitri and Louise in particular. Lovely hotel for families and also for couples without children, would HIGHLY recommend, cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineM113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

On my wife and I`s third visit to this hotel in November 2011,(obviously we had previously found it to be adequate for the price paid,)in the second week of four we heard a rumour,from fellow guests that the hotel was going to close at the end of our third week.I approached a senior member of the hotel staff and that was the start of a long and tortuous ten day period of evasion culminating in downright lies.Eventually on the day before the closure we were informed that we would be moved to another 4*hotel on the same terms,we had experienced this hotel and did not want to stay there again.I offered to pay the difference to move to another 4* of our choice,this was refused so we went where they wanted us to go,where we were allocated a back,sunless,viewless room,which we could pay extra to upgrade.Throughout all this period our so called rep.for the company we booked by,hotelsforu,com,was very evasive told me that the office in the U.K.was of the opinion that we shoud negotiate directly with the Ascos management,when I eventually contacted the U.K. myself they told me that they agreed with what the hotel proposed could do no more.On our return home from the worst managed so called holiday in 50 years I emailed both companys to ask for comments on the whole fiasco,nothing from the tsokkos hotel group but a rather curt reply from hotelsforu to say that they would look into the situation and then get back to me,10 weeks later still waiting.G,B. Manchester

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
0.4 mi away
Crown Resorts Horizon
Crown Resorts Horizon
#64 of 85 in Paphos
1,689 reviews
7.3 mi away
Aloe Hotel
Aloe Hotel
#59 of 85 in Paphos
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
1.3 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
5.3 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#44 of 85 in Paphos
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascos Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascos Coral Beach Hotel

Address: 20 Coral Bay Street, Paphos 8134, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#29 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £65 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascos Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ascos Coral Beach is situated at the picturesque Coral Bay in Paphos and set on a shingle beach offering breathtaking views of the Mediterranean sea. The modern and stylish guestrooms, along with tropical gardens around the pool area as well as the beach and its friendly atmosphere, promise a memorable and relaxed holiday experience. The hotel hosts an excellent range of facilities combined with daytime activities and evening entertainment appealing to families and couples of all ages. An ideal lux-laid-back holiday, a star choice for a perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascos Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ascos Coral Beach
Ascos Coral Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing