We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ascos Hell never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascos Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #58 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We've been coming to Ascos Coral Beach since 05 and it's gone down hill each year. This year was the worse we've seen, yes the rooms need up dating, the food is good, there's a lack of waiters, its the end of season we where told, but try to book your room because of your late flight, your told we're fully booked or over booked. The Russians are really bad, they are arrogant, ignorant, pushy, uncouth and have no decorum, and when it comes to food they can be seen filling bags of it to take some where or load up their table and waste it, they make the bad Brits we've read and heard about look like angels. We seen them letting their children urinate around the grounds in front of people having their food, they let them run around the eating areas and around the terrace area during the evening unsupervised, while they get drunk. The entertainment is something to be desired, Patrick the entertainer is pro Russian, so all the music is Russian, if asked to play English music the Russians complain so he changes it back to Russian music, there's no games as he like to sleep or sun bath around the pool and only does stretching in the pool when asked to. Be aware of the pool bar as the bar people like to play the music at full blast, but only if its a song they like and there's lots of them so no relaxing around the pool unless you have ear defenders. Look out for the ginger haired receptionist with the red framed glasses, she's about as helpful as a heart attack and wont give you an extension on your room unless you get a manager involved, and then still lets people into you room anyway. Look out for the Sunday night al fresco on the terrace, and really H&S issue, its dark, uneven ground and a nightmare for the disabled and visually impaired as the food is inside by the bar and not to forget the lift to the restaurant on the ground floor is always going out of order, so once again the disabled and people who find it hard to walk have to use the steep steps or walk around the hotel via the grassed area. You might thing this is a whinge, but its the truth, we are not coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vinny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nice hotel, lovely friendly staff. Food excellent. Dinner is good as you have to dress up and is in a nice restaurant. So no vests or shorts. Pool is clean and large and staff allways cleaning up. Beach is not to far but can be difficult to get to if you have a walking difficultly. Hotel location is good away from the strip so no noise but close enough (15 min walk) if you want a night out . Also a nice car rental near buy which is cheap with no hassles. Cars are clean and new. Rooms are basic but clean, a bit tired but after all it is only a place to lay your head at night. The entertainment is not that good which is really the only negative point about the Ascos. One other minus point is there are a lot of Russians here and they can be a pain, but that is not the hotels fault.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view and upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crazyhorse1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Brilliant hotel, fab food and plenty of choice, staff very friendly, rooms clean and tidy. The only thing that would prevent a 5 star rating is the entertainment, it was a little repetitive and carried out by the same annoying person who also does the day activities.
All staff work very hard and always willing to help. Love the choice of the poolside or the sea, bars at both areas. Bus stop a 5 minute walk. Coral Bay has plenty to offer, shops, restaurants you couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

this was our third visit to ascos and this time we went with friends as we recommended it to them
the staff as usual were hard working and very pleasant . the food was good and a good all round
choice. how ever the hotel is ruled by the unruly Russians who do not know what manners are it
seems as though the hotel owners prefer the Russians as they taken the evening entertainment
away from English tour operators and provide their own . the location is good the shops and
restaurants very close and worthy of visit. we spoke to lots of uk people and not one would be
rebooking next year , like myself. it is a shame as I say this was our third holiday there and it has
gone down hill . we go this time of year as schools gone back not knowing the Russians had
taken lots of children

Room Tip: do not select annexe as each time you want a meal quite a steep hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

this hotel is appauling.. the staff are unhappy and iver worked ..the entertainment is 1 person who is changed every few weeks as they get so stressed and fed up their only option is to quit.. food quality is poor and people just come for a cheap drinking week. russian kids are leaving faeces in the pool gardens and inside the hotel communal areas which is absolutely vile. management RUN AWAY FROM ALL COMPLAINTS QUESTIONS AND ISSUES AND HAVE NO RESPECT FOR ANYONES NEEDS AND DO NOT EVEN SHOW FOR THE 'MANAGERS COCKTAIL NIGHT' that guests are invited to. the grounds are left rotting and the hotel is going into decline..people i have met that have come for six to ten years vow never to return..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BournetobeWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

this hotel is appauling.. the staff are unhappy and iver worked ..the entertainment is 1 person who is changed every few weeks as they get so stressed and fed up their only option is to quit.. food quality is poor and people just come for a cheap drinking week. russian kids are leaving faeces in the pool gardens and inside the hotel communal areas which is absolutely vile. management RUN AWAY FROM ALL COMPLAINTS QUESTIONS AND ISSUES AND HAVE NO RESPECT FOR ANYONES NEEDS AND DO NOT EVEN SHOW FOR THE 'MANAGERS COCKTAIL NIGHT' that guests are invited to. the grounds are left rotting and the hotel is going into decline..people i have met that have come for six to ten years vow never to return..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BournetobeWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Had a week there the pool was great clean and large.The hotel was in a great location.Rooms basic but clean the bathroom was not it had mold on floor and celling and had ants coming in from the wall unit,the shower was useless.The food was dry and everything tasted the same,at dinner one night we went to get desert and our table had been cleared and the drinks taken you do feel pressure to leave fast as all staff are hovering and no sooner do you put your knife down the plate is whisked away.The late check out is advertised but when it came to getting it it was not available so we had a 6 hour wait for the coach

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
1 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Crown Resorts Horizon
Crown Resorts Horizon
#75 of 85 in Paphos
139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Queen's Bay Hotel
Queen's Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kissonerga
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
1.9 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
1,017 reviews
8.2 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascos Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascos Coral Beach Hotel

Address: 20 Coral Bay Street, Paphos 8134, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#31 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £59 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascos Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ascos Coral Beach is situated at the picturesque Coral Bay in Paphos and set on a shingle beach offering breathtaking views of the Mediterranean sea. The modern and stylish guestrooms, along with tropical gardens around the pool area as well as the beach and its friendly atmosphere, promise a memorable and relaxed holiday experience. The hotel hosts an excellent range of facilities combined with daytime activities and evening entertainment appealing to families and couples of all ages. An ideal lux-laid-back holiday, a star choice for a perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ascos Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ascos Coral Beach
Ascos Coral Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing