We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“whatever happened to the Ascos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascos Coral Beach Hotel
Ranked #59 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“whatever happened to the Ascos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My Wife and I returned to the Ascos for our 9th consecutive year. It was nice to meet up with friends we have met over the years. A lot of people have been going back year after year but sadly this could be the last visit for us. The entertainment quite frankly was pathetic and the daytime activities were almost none existant. The hotel is now mostly catering for Russian families who just want to sit by the sea in small groups and let their children run wild.Vinny is quite right with his views on the hotel ,its fine if your Russian! Ishould like to finnish by saying the Brits have supported the Ascos since it was built, will the Russians be here in future years ? I doubt it and by then the regulars from UK will have gone elsewhere,what a shame we will not see the helpfull management and staff again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank malstockdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    469
    269
    134
    92
See reviews for
319
729
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

after several years returning to what we considered our ideal hotel we will not be returning.what a shame its now spoilt with loads of kids and rude russians.the so called entertainment was pathetic. gone were the days when we really enjoyed ourselves we were glad to come home..all our friends that we have met over the years were of the same opion,some had been going for 15 years...my observations this time were unbelievable changing soiled nappies in the dining room then using the pool to wash the babies bottom,,food being put into bags to be taken out,one morning we counted 10 bannas going into a bag.carafes of wine going to rooms..all going on and and management appear tothe do nothing the russians seem to have a free run i wander if we brits would be allowed to get away with half what they do...the nightly entertainment so bad we would retire to our room to read but the music so loud we complained several nights to the manager only to have it turned up again after the manager had turned it down..time for the owners to sort it out or have a empty hotel. you will not see me returning.

Room Tip: dont bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank joshanCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paphos hotels

London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is our 3rd visit to this hotel and boy has it changed for the worst. I have just read Vinnys review and totally agree with everything he says. I should know i was there at the same time and witnessed the lot. So just to add my points, Entertainment the worst we have ever known and we have travelled all over Europe (we went out most nights even though we were all inclusive), service by some of the more experienced waiters/waitresses somewhat surly (they always look angry),our maid gave our room a quick once over every day but was never thorough, rooms dated and need decorating, snacks advertised were recycled breakfast/lunch, doors to the rooms had to be slammed to shut properly so imagine the noise, sunbeds around the pool urgently need replacing or at least cleaning (cobwebs). Some things which were ok for us were: reception staff mostly ok, good bus service into Coral Bay where the best beach is, a good sea view from our room which we didn't ask or pay for, good bus service into the harbour.
The T.Cook rep told us that they would be pulling out of this hotel next year due to the owners tying up more expensive deals with Russian agents, so next year expect the split to be 90% to 10% in their favour. This will not be a surprise to anybody that has been there this summer! However i have spoken with T.C. in the UK and was told they are still taking bookings for next year (confused.com!). Many many repeat guests have told us they will not be returning and some of these have been staying there for 15 years! Its a terrible shame for these people and shame on the hotel and its owners for taking this direction. Shame on you Tsokkos bros!! We have vowed never to book in there hotels again.
I have reviewed this hotel before and the change is quite incredible.
I would like to thank Costas, Dusan, Ivan and just one or 2 others for really trying to make an effort for the Brits, but they are fighting a losing battle.
We will be back to the beautiful island of Cyprus but will keep well clear of this place. And if there are any Russians reading this then most of your compatriots are without doubt the most ill mannered, ignorant, rude and greedy people we have ever known. Shame on you Russia!
Incidentally, the most recent reviews praising this hotel seem to be from Greek travellers. We never saw one Greek family holiday there in the 2 weeks we stayed so it seems a little suspicious that these came from this nationality. Tsokkos up to no good maybe?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverfox56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We've been coming to Ascos Coral Beach since 05 and it's gone down hill each year. This year was the worse we've seen, yes the rooms need up dating, the food is good, there's a lack of waiters, its the end of season we where told, but try to book your room because of your late flight, your told we're fully booked or over booked. The Russians are really bad, they are arrogant, ignorant, pushy, uncouth and have no decorum, and when it comes to food they can be seen filling bags of it to take some where or load up their table and waste it, they make the bad Brits we've read and heard about look like angels. We seen them letting their children urinate around the grounds in front of people having their food, they let them run around the eating areas and around the terrace area during the evening unsupervised, while they get drunk. The entertainment is something to be desired, Patrick the entertainer is pro Russian, so all the music is Russian, if asked to play English music the Russians complain so he changes it back to Russian music, there's no games as he like to sleep or sun bath around the pool and only does stretching in the pool when asked to. Be aware of the pool bar as the bar people like to play the music at full blast, but only if its a song they like and there's lots of them so no relaxing around the pool unless you have ear defenders. Look out for the ginger haired receptionist with the red framed glasses, she's about as helpful as a heart attack and wont give you an extension on your room unless you get a manager involved, and then still lets people into you room anyway. Look out for the Sunday night al fresco on the terrace, and really H&S issue, its dark, uneven ground and a nightmare for the disabled and visually impaired as the food is inside by the bar and not to forget the lift to the restaurant on the ground floor is always going out of order, so once again the disabled and people who find it hard to walk have to use the steep steps or walk around the hotel via the grassed area. You might thing this is a whinge, but its the truth, we are not coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nice hotel, lovely friendly staff. Food excellent. Dinner is good as you have to dress up and is in a nice restaurant. So no vests or shorts. Pool is clean and large and staff allways cleaning up. Beach is not to far but can be difficult to get to if you have a walking difficultly. Hotel location is good away from the strip so no noise but close enough (15 min walk) if you want a night out . Also a nice car rental near buy which is cheap with no hassles. Cars are clean and new. Rooms are basic but clean, a bit tired but after all it is only a place to lay your head at night. The entertainment is not that good which is really the only negative point about the Ascos. One other minus point is there are a lot of Russians here and they can be a pain, but that is not the hotels fault.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view and upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazyhorse1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Brilliant hotel, fab food and plenty of choice, staff very friendly, rooms clean and tidy. The only thing that would prevent a 5 star rating is the entertainment, it was a little repetitive and carried out by the same annoying person who also does the day activities.
All staff work very hard and always willing to help. Love the choice of the poolside or the sea, bars at both areas. Bus stop a 5 minute walk. Coral Bay has plenty to offer, shops, restaurants you couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodiam, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

this was our third visit to ascos and this time we went with friends as we recommended it to them
the staff as usual were hard working and very pleasant . the food was good and a good all round
choice. how ever the hotel is ruled by the unruly Russians who do not know what manners are it
seems as though the hotel owners prefer the Russians as they taken the evening entertainment
away from English tour operators and provide their own . the location is good the shops and
restaurants very close and worthy of visit. we spoke to lots of uk people and not one would be
rebooking next year , like myself. it is a shame as I say this was our third holiday there and it has
gone down hill . we go this time of year as schools gone back not knowing the Russians had
taken lots of children

Room Tip: do not select annexe as each time you want a meal quite a steep hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
5.3 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#36 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crown Resorts Horizon
Crown Resorts Horizon
#64 of 90 in Paphos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
5.1 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel
Venus Beach Hotel
#78 of 90 in Paphos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Neptune Hotel Apts.
Neptune Hotel Apts.
#48 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascos Coral Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascos Coral Beach Hotel

Property: Ascos Coral Beach Hotel
Address: 20 Coral Bay Street, Paphos 8134, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#30 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascos Coral Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ascos Coral Beach is situated at the picturesque Coral Bay in Paphos and set on a shingle beach offering breathtaking views of the Mediterranean sea. The modern and stylish guestrooms, along with tropical gardens around the pool area as well as the beach and its friendly atmosphere, promise a memorable and relaxed holiday experience. The hotel hosts an excellent range of facilities combined with daytime activities and evening entertainment appealing to families and couples of all ages. An ideal lux-laid-back holiday, a star choice for a perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascos Coral Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ascos Coral Beach
Ascos Coral Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing