We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Not Stay There Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystallo Apartments
Ranked #44 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Haydock, Merseyside
2 reviews
“Would Not Stay There Again”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Booked this holiday as a late deal with Libra.
We have been going to Paphos for 8 years now so we know what to expect regarding accommodation, so these are our personal opinions on the Crystallo Apartments.

The general location of the apartments is good, it is only a 10 minute walk to the harbour (if you know the area), and 5 minutes to the nearest small supermarket, restaurants and pubs. Unfortunately the small roads where the apartments are situated now get very busy during the evening and night since the road past the harbour was pedestrianised, so there can be a lot of traffic noise and with all the boy racers in the area with their noisy exhausts it gets very annoying.

The studio apartments are very spacious but are in need of a major refit. The units in the kitchen area are in a very poor condition with handles missing, doors that don`t close fully, etc. The crockery and cutlery are made up of all sorts of oddments and fall far short of the quantity you expect to find in a self catering apartment, there is no grill or oven, only a small 2 ring electric hob and a small dirty toaster. The fridge was past its best with its corroded door and barely kept anything cold.
The bathroom has a basin, WC and a walk in shower but no bath. It was fully tiled but needed a serious clean, most of the tiles where stained and the grouting was black in places. Lighting in the shower room was very poor and there was no shaver point. The ceiling was an ill fitting suspended metal affair with large gaps that allowed access for numerous very large cockroaches. Also you had to supply your own toilet paper and the towels were like sand paper.

The beds were a little on the hard side so sleep was not good, removal of the thin sheets (so thin you could see the pattern on the mattress) uncovered stained mattresses. Underneath the beds was thick with dust and dirt, obviously not having been moved for cleaning for many months. The bedside lights were old wooden items with dirty shades and loose fittings and the domed glass shades of the ceiling lights were full of dead insects. The pictures on the walls were very old, very faded posters in frames with cracked glass, as I said before, the apartments need a serious refit.

Now, to the pool, (I have a pool at home so know all about pool maintenance), we went into the pool for the first and last time not long after arriving. The pool was very dirty with a lot of suspended and floating dirt and a floor in need of a serious vacuum. The pool pump and filter was never running when people were in the pool making it very unhygenic, the filter was only ever on for 10 minutes in an evening when an unmeasured quantity of chlorine was put into the pool.
A swimming pool pump and filter should be in continuous operation when a pool is being used and for several hours after the last swimmer has left to allow for proper filtration of the water.

Finally, there is no entertainment whatsoever, apart from football being shown on the large TV in the reception area and the communal seating area (with a very old pool table) looks like a basement waiting room, just not nice at all.
If you just want a place to sleep after getting drunk all night then this place is for you, but I would not recommend this accommodation in its current condition to anyone.

Andy & Christine, Haydock

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    106
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
37
178
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We just spent a week here and loved it. The apartment was spacious and clean. Strongly recommend paying extra (about €45) for the air con as we didn't for the first night and I thought we were going to die! It was so so hot. The pool is good for a little swim and to cool down but there are so many great places nearby we never spent much time by the pool. 5 min walk to the harbour and about a billion restaurants. Easy to walk to loads of beautiful archeological places - many of which were free - including a hill of caves with gorgeous views opposite the apartments!

Spent more money than we planned but we ate out every night and it soon adds up! However there is a great supermarket nearby. The owners are helpful and we made use of the pool table, internet, and bar on occasion. Overall Paphos is very romantic and beautiful and the Crystallo was ideal for a relaxing short-break.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bythesea11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Stayed here for a week and found the owners freindly and helpful, Room was clean but basic as we expected. We chose to have use of the airconditioning for the week which set us back 45(ish) euro's but we would not have been able to sleep in the humidity without it...
Location for us was perfect... Far enough away not to be able to hear the noise from the bars but only couple of minute stroll away from them if you wanted to stay out all night....

Pool area was clean and quiet also... so great for either a splash-about or equally for a quiet sunbathe... It has its own small bar and does snacks but to be fair we didn't use it at all.... No reason other that we were so close in all directions to either Bar street, The Harbour or Tomb of the kings road that a nice stroll before sitting down for a drink or to eat seemed a nicer idea....
Great place as a base for the area really.... Some fantastic local restaurants none more so than The Saint Pauls Pillar, run by Cris and Gill (Cris the Chef and a Cypriot and his wife Gill from Walsall) who took us in as their own.... so much so we went there 4 nights out of 7.... The night we were Flying home Cris took us out for a drive to show us some of the places we wouldn't have seen as a tourist...
Some other nice places to eat nearby... just look for where the locals eat and you cant go wrong...
Overall a top week.. we will definately be going back to Paphos and would have no issues if it was back at the Crystallo

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavinbmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

....near to bars, restaurants and within walking distance of beach. The reception is small but welcoming and the pool area never really gets that busy which is good as its not particularly big but as this hotel is perfect as a base, it doesn't need to be anything more. The decor is a little tired in the hotel rooms but it is clean although they weren't great at replacing the towels. There is no need to hire the room for an extra day if you are flying late as there are showers in the pool changing rooms. Paphos has loads to do around the port although the beaches aren't great. They rave about Coral Beach but to be honest, I have seen better beaches as everyone flocks there and it gets busy. The second beach further on is better. The restaurants looking out to sea in Paphos port are a little pricey so my advice is to go inland a bit. There is a really busy pub area called Bar Street and you can get a little hounded but if thats not for you, there are plenty of really good relaxed bars just outside of Bar Street. Get a quad and head up towards Lara Beach, great views and quiet beaches. The water park in Fasouri is brilliant and I thoroughly recommend it. Oh and try a Meze for dinner, lovely...!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nattyw31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We went to the Crystallo apartments in June this year, first impressions weren't good but i had been delayed for 8 hours at the airport and arrived in the early morning. But first impressions can change and i can safely say I would go back next year. George the owner is lovely, and the kids loved him. The apartments were very spacious, yes they are alittle dated...but if its just somewhere to lay your head down, then you wont complain. The people staying at the apartments were really friendly and the pool wasnt busy so we always had a chance to swim. So just to round up - Lovely apartment complex with a friendly atmosphere, need a refurb but loved it!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee_lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Like many people, we were looking for a cheap holiday in Paphos to attend a wedding, and I chose this one (booked through Libra) after reading reviews on a number of the cheaper hotels and apartments. I didn't have very high hopes, especially as I couldn't find it on a map, but was very pleasantly surprised.

Our apartment was on the ground floor, and the furniture was a bit basic and 70's, but we had everything we needed. The apartment was spacious, and we had a patio area outside with a gate leading straight to the pool. We paid for the air-conditioning (it's extra, but they do tell you that up front) and it was well worth the extra 6.80 Euros per day (especially in July) - my husband had it on so high, I was frozen for the first night!

You can get drinks from the bar area in reception to take to your room at reasonable rates, or to drink by the pool. We really liked the location - it's only a 5 minute walk to the bars and restaurants, and about 10 minutes to the seafront, but it's quiet at night, so you can still get a good night's sleep! The pool was never too busy; we occasionally had it to ourselves, and it was very refreshing in the heat.

The bins were emptied and beds made almost daily, and towels and bedding were changed mid-week, at the same time they mopped the floors. Staff were friendly and helpful, and we felt welcome. There are 2 shops within a minutes walk from the apartment, which had most things we needed, but there's also a larger supermarket about 10 minutes walk away.

There were some very good restaurants on the seafront, and service was always friendly.

Overall, we were very happy with our choice (especially having seen a few of the alternatives whilst out and about!), and would very much recommend it. It's not 5 star luxury, but it's also not 5 star prices - we thought it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kae81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds, west yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We booked our holiday through lastminute.com and got flights from leeds/bradford, transfers and a week at crystallo apartments for £255 each! The transfer from airport in paphos to apartment only 15/20 minutes away and we were 2nd drop off. George the owner was waiting for us and got us sorted with keys, safe box etc. Apartment is basic but big enough for the 2 of you and maybe even a 3rd? The kitchen is quite basic so you couldn't cook a 3 course meal but we cooked a bit pasta 1 night - all cutlery etc miss match...but that doesnt really matter..well didn;t to us. Apartments are clean as well as the pool and bar. The pool is quite small but the apartments are very quiet as their is so much to do and you are in such a brilliant location to do stuff that it is never very busy and their are plently of sunbeds! The location is brilliant as the aprtments are quiet and not in the thick of it at all but the harbour with all the shops, bars, restuarants and of course the sea is literally a 10/15 minute walk away. The harbour is gorgeous and you can sun bathe down their too. Their is also loads of watersports to do...the cheaper ones are towards the fort, in the opposite direction they get abit more expensive as thats where all the 5* hotels are over looking the sea! Just right out of the apartments is the mini market and bus stops that take you to various places - coral bay is only 20 min bus ride away and its only 1euro 50 on bus. Coral bay absolutely gorg but you do have to pay 7 euro for sunbeds/umberalla and drinks/food bit dearer as well but worth it for the day as sea beautiful and the sea breeze takes the edge of the heat. Paphos is very hot!!! The only thing we regret is not having more money as it can be quite expensive with exchange rate being rubbish. Alot of restuarants offer set menus though and most are good but walk round before you go in as some offer set menue for 10 euro can be rubbish but the ones along the harbour are very good - we liked the captains view restaurant by the harbour, brilliant views, atmosphere with a set menu of 12 euro... dont get put of by the live music its actually quite good and you can ask to sit further way. We would definately look at going back and George and his son are brilliant so if your not happy with anything they would sort it!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#41 of 88 in Paphos
490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pandream Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Roman Boutique Hotel
Roman Boutique Hotel
#49 of 88 in Paphos
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilltop Gardens Hotel Apartments
0.4 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
0.9 mi away
Axiothea Hotel
Axiothea Hotel
#22 of 88 in Paphos
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystallo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystallo Apartments

Property: Crystallo Apartments
Address: Ikarou 2, Paphos 8103, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Paphos
#31 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystallo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crystallo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystallo Apartments Paphos
Crystallo Apartments Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing