We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avanti Holiday Village
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant place for families”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great clean apartment, with air-con in bedroom and lounge area. Kitchen is well stocked with lots of utensils and even has an oven. Make sure you take some washing up liquid and cloths to wash-up with, and you'll need to ring reception to request a tea-towel, as they don't provide one unless requested. They have two supermarkets on-site, but essentials for cooking seem to be more expensive than other supermarkets, although drinks, crisps, ice-creams seem reasonably priced. There's a large supermarket in Paphos, which is better to buy from for main essentials for cooking etc, which is located across from Debenhams. There are loads of sunbeds around the large pool area, and guests start putting their towels out at 8am. This was more noticable around the shallow end of the pool, where you watch your child play within easy sight. Lots in inflatables left by other holidaymakers around the pool, so if you go later in the year, don't bother buying any, as they'll be loads out there.
We ate at Fiesta bar, in which I had a Jack Daniels burger which was ok, but the burger was of a quality that you'd associate with a lay-by cafe, I feel it was little over priced for the quality of the food, plus the childrens fish fingers didn't look appetising at all, which is no wonder our little girl, didn't eat them. Little Eaterly pizza's were lovely, and as others have commented, the medium is more of a UK large size. Ocean basket, was always busy but we never ate there.
Head into Paphos and you can get some better quality meals, at a lower price, with some offering a good set menu. Nice to walk back along from the harbour, which has a wide pram friendly pathway and well lite and takes you all the way past Athena Beach Hotel and beyond.
You can get on the 611 bus into Paphos, outside Cavallini's restaurant on the main road, and only costs one Euro each way. You can also head to another bus stop, if you head out of reception (or down the pathway at the side of the taverna) and on the opposite side of the road you see a pathway with 4 ball topped street lights, which looks like it heads nowhere as it vanishes behind a line of tree's. Take this pathway and it'll lead around the back of Avanti Hotel and onto the main road where the bus stop is just next to. There's also another supermarket (not as good as the main one in paphos but better stocked than others), banks and some great restaurants to chose from, if you don't fancy venturing into the harbour area.
As for the entertainment, hats off to Chris & Zoe, who provide the best entertainment they can, all day and all night, for zero budget (Avanti management need to give them more pennies, to give the entertainment sector a boost)
All in all a great family holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Castlequeen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,355
    496
    122
    21
    15
See reviews for
1,140
576
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed at the avanti village for a week in september with my partner and 5 year old daughter. The apartments were very basic but clean and spacious which suited us. The pool area was brilliant it was very clean the only downfall was that we had to be up at 6 to put towels on the sunbeds otherwise we would of never have got one. We also want to thank leanne who ran the kids club our daughter loved it and we couldnt keep her away. All in all we had a really good holiday.
we will hopefully be returning in the near furture :)

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We've just returned from 10 days staying at the Avanti Village in Paphos. This was our second visit to the Avanti having spent 10 days there in September last year. We don't often return to the same resort let alone same accomodation so that speaks volumes for how good the place is. Overall its a great place to stay: quite low key, good staff and accomodation and some great places to eat out within a 5 min walk. The weather in Cyprus during both years was perfect - low 30's every day and lovely evenings. The Avanti is in a good location just 30 mins walk from the harbour if you want to walk down that way or 5 mins on the regular bus service (€1 each way or €3 for a full day ticket which you can use to get to the better beaches - old town water parks etc). The local beach is just across the road but is not great as the island is quite rocky on the West side. Its about 40 - 50 mins on the bus up to Coral Bay beach which is worth the visit. Lots of really good places to eat right on the doorstep and in my opinion much better than the ones in the harbour area. The village itself is well laid out with low rise apartments set around winding paths leading from the pool area and reception down towards a plaza containing a couple of bars and restaurants. The apartments are of a good standard with plenty of room for 4 and really spacious for a couple such as us. I've stayed in plenty of Greek resorts and the standard here is pretty good. OK not 5 star but you're not paying 5 star prices either. Kitchen includes a fridge, oven, 2 electric rings (no microwave which some may miss) kettle and toaster. Free air conditioning is also a bonus and works well. The bathroom is a good size with shower in bath and hot water at all times of day - never ran out at busy times. The cleaners change the towels every day and the bedding once a week. There are also free pool towels supplied which you can change every day - helps keep down the baggage weight. The pool is a pretty big lagoon shape and there is a small lazy river at the back where the toddlers tend to migrate. Lots of sun beds and both times we were there no problems with beds being reserved at the crack of dawn. We went down for breakfast at the poolside tavern around 9.30 and you could take your pick of spots. Food at the tavern was good - we did the flexibreakfast tickets and there was plenty of choice each day also ate there a few times for lunch and the food was great and reasonably priced. All the Staff from reception / swim up pool bar/ tavern were friendly and available - no hanging around for ages to get served. Entertainment during the day could have been better (although I never use it) so if you have kids you'll need to keep them occupied yourself. The resort was pretty evenly split between couples and families and the kids seemed to play with each other up the very shallow (ankle deep) end of the pool. There is a gym sauna and indoor pool which all looked in good condition but I never used them so can't really comment. There is free WiFi in the reception area which was also handy. Direct Holidays did some pretty cheap deals here and overall I'd say its very good value for money and would definitely return.

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking for an upper apartment as the balcony is great for sitting out at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

First impression was not great, checked in at about 2pm and was then given directions to our apartment which although accurate did not tell us that myself and my wife would have to negotiate an over populated pool area with not only 5 suitcases + hand luggage but also 3 young children with no offer of assistance from the invisible porters!After about 20 minutes of urban warfare with tatty sunloungers,parasols and ants the size of my big toe we finally arrived at our destination which was a 1st floor appartment(ideal for families with young children and prams)My wife and i decided that the best way forward was to sit on our cases and take breath before launching our assault on menacing looking staircase before us. After 15 minutes(please bear in mind it was about 40 degrees) of olympic power lifting and at least 2 cardiac arrests we finally achieved our goal and reached the battered doorway to our Oasis! Upon entering our appartment 1st impressions were that although basic this hotel has a very good reputation for cleanliness and in this instance i would have settled for that,however i'm the sort of bloke who when he gets to his place of rest,his new home from home,for some reason i have to stake my claim and,show we say christen the toilet area, upon taking my pew i started to glance around and survey my new bathroom ,admiring the shoddy workmanship and poor quality of the fixtures+fittings, as i started surveying the floor area i saw what i could only describe as small gatherings of black curly hairs in the corners,on top of the bin and behind the door.Once i'd finished staking my claim i immediately tryed to ring reception to ask if they had a cleaner healthy enough not only take on the journey to our room but who would then have enough energy to carryout the neccasary hair evacuation,upon realising there was no phone in our room i was forced to make the journey back to reception negotiating the pool area whilst appologising to the nice people that i had concussed and battered with suitcases and babies on the way to our room.The lady at the reception desk was extremely sorry and could not have been nicer,she said she would get someone there immediately and so of i trotted on my merry way.Some time later up popped this little old lad who althoughlooked cheery didn't look the full ticket,i pointed out where he offensive black curlies were hanging out and she responded by dissapering into thin air,after about 20 mins i started think that maybe the heat had got to me and that actually i'd imagined all of this, but then all of a sudden up she popped again, standing in the doorway of our appartment like some pube clearing greek goddess!
Things didn't really improve from this point on,i got really fed up of having to get up at 5.30 just to put towels out(we're getting more & more like the germans ) and also found standing next to a table that was just about finished eating at breakfast just so we could be seated was really embarrasing.whilst we were there most of the parents with children had to buy ear plugs because of the amount of ear infections children were getting from the pool which would make you question the cleanliness.As for the lazy river,this needs to be be renamed and i have a few suggestions "bone idle river" "on disability living allowance so don't want to exert myself river"or "if you want to get from one end to the other do it yoursef you lazy pigdog river"
Last but not least the kids club,we put our 3&5 year old boys in there only once,the reason for this was that after 45 mins my 3 year old decided to escape and did so with ease through the unlocked door, instead of calling me on my phone(you have to leave a mobile number) the dizzy cretin that was in charge decided to send the 5 year old to go and look for him on his own.Thankfully both our boys knew where we were around the warzone that was also known as the pool area and came and found us,i asked the bonehead in charge why she did this and she told me she couldn't leave the other children,thats fair enough but try locking the door or at least ringing the parents you irresponsible skyfairy!
Apart from this we had a great time ,especially when we were out of the helmund province village.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We've just returned from 11 nights at the Avanti Village. The apartments are spacious and the grounds are well maintained. The complex is ideal for wheelchair users. There are lots of ramps and the ground floor apartments are on one level with no steps or ledges.The apartments don't have the best range of cutlery etc. We had one teaspoon, two knives and no corkscrew.

The cleaning staff are excellent with towels changed every day. There are pool towels available which you can change every day. Whilst there are lots of sun beds round the pool they are quite close together. The best spot is round the smaller pool where the water fall is.If you want to join in the activities round the pool you can but you're not pressured if you're not interested.

The local shops are ok for basics but if you want to make meals then you'll need to go in to Paphos. The local shops don't have much fruit and veg. You're not able to buy a lettuce locally. There is a really good supermarket just behind the harbour though. This is about a 30 minute walk or you can get the bus. The buses are very good.

There are a range of restaurants and bars nearby. At one end of the complex there are a few restaurants. We want to the Ocean Basket, which is always busy, and we thought it was good....until we saw the boxes for frozen fish in the bins when we walked past the next day!

A short walk away is Romeos which was good. Try the Fish Meze for lots of small dishes.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stumpy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Avanti village. It was a fantastic week, the apartments are of a good size and well kept. The site is very clean and the staff are very good and friendly. It is positioned well for a nice stroll to the harbour down the sea front path. The bus service is great but can be cramped due to it been cheap. Would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elderslie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

this is a great place ,something for everyone,nice places to eat and you can make use of facilities at the avanti hotel.pool at the avanti hotel is better than at the village as there is more shade on very sunny days.the village is situated about 25 min walk from harbour but the bus service is very regular and cheap!the fiesta bar on site had great food and cocktails for only three euros!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 88 in Paphos
2,725 reviews
1.2 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 88 in Paphos
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avanti Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti Holiday Village

Property: Avanti Holiday Village
Address: Poseidon Avenue, Paphos, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#9 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#16 Family Hotel in Paphos
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avanti Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avanti Holiday Village is the sister hotel to the well-established Avanti 4 star Hotel. It is situated 300m beside it,in a very convenient location just 250m from the beach,at a walking distance from the harbour. The village is built on a 94000 sq. m. plot and stands out with its distinctive Mediterranean architecture and the beautifully laid out spacious one-bedroom apartments. Guests may book as self catering or bed and breakfast (in village) and also Half Board in which case dinner is served at the Hotel. The atmosphere combined with the variety of facilities makes it a resort suitable for couples and families seeking a different style of holidays with more privacy and flexibility. A family owned and run holiday village offering a unique experience in the heart of Pafos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Bookcyprus.com, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avanti Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanti Village Paphos
Avanti Village Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing