We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we were looking for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amarakos

Amarakos
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amarakos
Ranked #11 of 16 Paphos B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It is not a concrete block on the coast in is a Cypriot Inn renovated in the traditional style. We were greeted with a glass of the freshest orange juice with the trees just over the road. It is family run with everyone very friendly and helpful. We were looking for a break form the noise of the coast and that is exactly what we got. I have never seen so many stars in the sky. The meze in the evening was delightful. We would recommend the Herb Garden and coffee shop in the next village - but it is too far to walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    4
    5
    14
See reviews for
7
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is situated in a quite small village close enough to Polis for swimming and shopping but far enough for quite and relaxation. The rooms were spacious. The only problem was with the cleanliness of the hotel. The bathroom was NOT cleaned before we were in (disgusting) as well as the breakfast's tables. I booked a triple room from an internet side and specifically requested for an extra bed for my kid (as specified on the side you could do that with an extra charge of 5 beds). When we arrived there the extra bed was not prepared and we were told that it was our mistake not to ask for a family room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paphos hotels

birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Location was great but this place is so badly run and the lady owner was rude, arrogant and a little bit scary. We decided that we would not stay here and certainly would not eat there. The pool was green with the odd dead frog and other creatures floating on the top. Be warned and keep away

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank molly2Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

It was the best holyday we have make since 2007.The hospitality was very warm and very kind. We stay theare for 4 days it was very nice and clean and know any dust.the food was very delicious and tasty and was homemade. And the best drink was the orange because it was from the plot witch was magnificent and of course was very delicious the orange juice.And in the end of our holydays we left with so many memorys and we love the family oners of Amarakos and i belive it was thesame for them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoforos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The setting is lovely, the area is wonderful, but there is something very strange about the family that runs it. There were no other guests, we were overcharged for everything, and my I Pad was taken from our room. The reaction reflected the general dynamics of the family-denial and high drama. This is a shame because it really could be a magical place.

Room Tip: Studios on the courtyard are lovely, but very noisy-loud talking, yelling, TV noise-all from the fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelergirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

It's very hard to understand some of the previous reviews on here. Maybe the management have really turned it around, because our stay was excellent.

We arrived and were greeted well, and offered a drink ("Large beer please") in a lovely shady and flower-filled courtyard. We were shown to our room (called Kallisto I believe) which was spacious, well-equipped and stylish. It had two balconies, one facing the courtyard and one facing the countryside, which gave a choice sitting in sun or shade at any time.

Next, a quick dip in the pool, which was fine.

We ate dinner, which started with meze, then a chicken and potato dish, then fruit. Local wine to drink, all delicious.

No complaints about sleep quality.

Breakfast was of a good standard with fresh OJ etc, so we left as very happy customers.

Can't comment on the price, as we were booked it as part of a walking holiday package. We didn't try the Wi-fi, either.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a good place to stay if you can't find accommodation in latchi or polis, or if you consider accommodation in those places overpriced. The place is clean and well kept and rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. This is agro-tourism so don't expect too many luxuries but the place does have a swimming pool and even offers dinner (which we did not try however). Breakfast is rather basic but decent. Being only 10-15 drive from latchi it is definitely a really good option to consider

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Must_try_it_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.0 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.0 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 90 in Paphos
1,828 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avillion Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bella Rosa
Bella Rosa
#4 of 16 in Paphos
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Julipapas Gardens
Julipapas Gardens
#1 of 3 in Kissonerga
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarakos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarakos

Property: Amarakos
Address: Kato Akourdalia, Paphos, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amarakos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing