We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Valentine Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel
Gorgeous hotel; from the lobby, to the dinning areas, spa, pools and even the staircase (which many hotels overlook the importance of). My only itty bitty complain is the approach to the tennis court was a little disappointing given the rest of the hotel.

Room
Room was nice and cosy but we had the street view which wasn't the most beautiful thing to look out on. Saying that, waking up with the sun beaming through the windows is always a plus no matter the view. We were given a twin room rather than the double we had requested. On asking for a change, they said the bedding would be changed to turn the twin into a double...??? Didn't quite understand this and it never happened

Staff
Some of the staff were extremely friendly but unfortunately we did not get any names as we were only there for a couple of days. Smallish lady with dark hair in the breakfast restaurant was lovely. She made our day each morning. The reception staff could definitely be taught to smile a little more.

Food
We had a B&B and deal so only had breakfast at the hotel which was fine for the 3 mornings we spent there. This could have gotten very repetitive had we stayed any longer as the same dishes were served but then you have to ask yourself, how much variety can you actually get withe breakfast? Bacon, sausages, tomatoes, eggs, croissants, oats, pancakes, fruits, salad, juice, hot drinks...it was all there.

For Dinner, we asked for recommendations from the reception staff who pointed us in the direction of Ocean Basket which apparently was the most popular in the area. We walked down to the restaurant only to be told the kitchen had been closed at 8.30pm as the restaurant was due for refurbishments first thing Monday morning...boo!
We walked around for a little while trying to find somewhere that was actually open and willing to serve us on a Sunday evening and finally ended up at a South African restaurant called The Lodge. The food was fantastic, great environment and lovely lovely staff. Definitely a good result!

Harbour is about 30mins walk from the hotel. We hired bikes from a guy 2mins down from the hotel. He was very friendly and even gave me a nickname. Allowed us to keep the bikes overnight and return them the next morning. We cycled down to the harbour and parked the bikes at the first stop we saw. We continued the rest of the journey on foot.

A lot of cafes and restaurants down by the harbour and what beats being close to the sea while you eat?

We also visited the Archaeological centre while we were by the harbour which was nice and then made our way to the shopping centre which is another 15-20mins down from the harbour. Not many stores but I guess enough to make a two level shopping mall.

My partner was wearing some african print trousers which got us way too much attention in the mall with everyone from adults to teens and children pointing and laughing. made us feel very uncomfortable after a while so we left soon after. My advice, go in plain clothing. The people clearly are not receptive of certain fashion statements.

Overall, nice weekend getaway. I'm not sure I'd return but if I did, I wouldn't hesitate to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cher Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed for a week during Feb with friends. Hotel is very good and clean, the bedrooms are very good and clean, however we found the beds a bit hard. The room we had (309) had a great sea view, the balcony was a lovely place to watch the sunset at 5.30pm. Meals are buffet style, they are good however when the sweet courses ran out they weren't replaced. Staff are very friendly especially Marina who served in the breakfast dining room and bar. She was fantastic, made you feel very welcome. There was little entertainment on at this time of year, a singer one night and wine tasting another and that was it. The hotel is a bit way out from Paphos, not within walking distance and all the nearby shops were closed. There is a bus stop near to the hotel or you can use your own hire car to get into Paphos. The hotel is near to the flight line for Paphos airport, it was great watching the aircraft approaching for landing. There is very little noise from the aircraft, so they are not an issue when staying at the hotel. Had fabulous weather every day, wall to wall sunshine. Would we go back to this hotel again? Well if the price was right, yes we would go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third or fourth floor overlooking the sea are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy503941958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here over Christmas with my girlfriend and son and had a very nice time. The hotel was very quiet and the boy was the only child staying, but the hotel still laid on a Santa and a Christmas card activity.

The Lunar Park was only a 10 minute walk away, so we went there a few times. Again, very quiet, but it did mean no queues!!

The hotel lobby is beautiful, and the food was excellent – we had the Christmas Eve and Day Gala dinners, and it was very good value too, with a small live band. The Spa treatments were reasonable, around 25 Euro for a 4 step hair treatment, and around 20 Euro for an express pedicure.

The outdoor pool looked nice, but was a bit too cold to dip. They do have an indoor pool – and that leads to me my only real criticism: The staff could be somewhat friendly.

The temperature of the pool is supposed to be 27c, but it clearly was less and we had a small child in there so my girlfriend enquired about it. A dark haired guy from the gym came through quite haughtily and dipped a gauge in the pool for a second or two, flashed it at her and said ‘thank you very much!!’ I went to the toilet immediately after and could hear him loudly complaining to the Spa receptionist at the gall of my girlfriend for her enquiry!! I found some of the reception staff to be somewhat aloof and icy too, but that said, Marina in the bar is an absolute gem and the waiting staff were excellent too.

The harbour is about a 30 minute walk, or 8 Euro in a cab and there are plenty of bars and restaurants. For those with young kids I highly recommend ‘The Moorings’ restaurant in the harbour – great food, great staff and a really nice indoor play area for kids. Grab a seat next to it and relax … :)

There is also a water park nearby and Go-Karting – but we didn’t go to either this time around.
All in all, we really enjoyed our Christmas here and I have no doubt it would be great in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Beautufull hotel, very warm and friendly welcome, very good service and excellent food. Rooms can be done with a soft furnishing update especially the carpets and satelite tv would be a plus especially in the quiet winter periods. Except from that excellent and will stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed for a weel in early December,usually ok for weather but as Cairo had 6" of snow,the first snow for over a century I cannot complain at 8'C,but as its usually 17/18 maybe I can,anyway to the hotel.
First the good points,nice lobby,nice pool,gym.Our room 116 had a new bathroom,fridge and was plesent enough,with a sea view.
The hotel is about 2km from town,but only 400m from a supermarket,with a bus stop right outside.
The staff are friendly(ish) but as others have stated Marina is outstanding,shes wasted at this place,especially as she speaks 5/6 languages.
The foods is ok,having stayed in Cyprus before I know they can do better,the buffet self serve breckie was basically the same each day,fat streakybacon,dodgysausages,tomatoes,scrambled eggs(only soso), you could order eggs anyway with the "chef".There was prepared fruit mainly grapefruit and oranges sliced ready to eat,tea and coffee were also self service,spoilt by dodgy milk.
The evening meal was fair,a different theme each night,German night was poor though,there were lots of desserts (store bought) which suited me,ranging from cheesecake,tirimisu,panacotta and various Greek desserts.
Now the not so good points.
Although you don't go on holiday to watch TV,when it gets dark at 5pm,is 5'C and blowing a hoolie it is sometimes nice to get comfy in bed and watch a good film,or at least so british tv,as this hotel advertises it has "Satellite tv" and yes it does as long as yoy speak Russian or german,otherwise BBC wORLD IS IT!
We only had the room cleaned twice,I'm not a big lover of having people come in all the time if theres no real reason,the main said she needed to clean,so we left her to get on with it,we returned later in the day,all she hasd done was make the bed change the towels,no changing of the sheets or vacuuming.We had an Ant problem which we didn't realise until day four,when we movede the rubbish bin,which was full,ants were happily crawling all around it,they seemed to get the hump we had disturbed them,as they proceeded to invade the kettle and fridge area,finding over a 100 ants floating in the kettle first thing isn't what you want especially if you boiled the water first,poached ant isn't my cup of tea,ho ho ho,anyway we mentioned it to the maid who sprayed the area,it didn't work,anyway ants don't both me,but my partner wasn't happy,we did laugh though when one night I got up feeling thirsty,picked a glass of coke off the night stand,drank a fair bit of coke,went back to sleep,in the morning got up to loads of ants also enjoying my coke,obviously I has drank many of there relatives during the night.
By the way,as others have stated the beds are very firm,having been the sp via tripadviser we asked for an extra quilt to use as cushioning under the sheet,the staff went one better,giving us matteress toppers,that did the trick.
We stayed at Aquamare as we got a good deal,free half board,room upgrade etc.
TIPS!
1.get a week bus pass (15 euro) from the bus station,well worth it if you like us went out every day,as the bus fare is now 1&half euro each trip,not 1 anymore.
2.DONT DRINK IN THE BAR! 11EURO FOR A DBL TIA MARIA & COKE,a half bottle down the road was only 9euro!
a coke (200ml) at dinner 2.20 euro.
If you can time it right,catch the bus from the airport,1.5 euro each,not say 30 euro to Paphos in a cab,the bus only runs every 70mins,why not every hour god only knows.
All in all a pleasant stay,pity about the weather,but that's not the hotels fault,we borrowed a game of Scrabble from reception,so at least we could pass the time later in the evening,as we don't drink much,and the entertainment was limited and not our cup of tea.
Paphos harbour area has many cafes/restaurants which if you take time to search for cheap deals are good,some places do take the Michael with prices though,2.50euro for a coke,4 euro for chips as a side dish,thats if you don't fancy the hotel fayre.
I would recommend this hotel,but only if you get a good rate,otherwise there a way better places to stay nearby.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room,as ststed by many,they're quieter and get the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I visited the area in May 2013 and wanted to have our wedding in a large villa for our close family of about 14. Our wedding planner, Linda, who was a real asset, suggested we use the Aquamare instead of trying to manage in a villa. She insisted we visit the place and I have to say we were really impressed.

In October 2013 we returned to get married, we had the ceremony at Aphrodite's garden nearby and the whole thing was just perfect. We had the wedding reception at the hotel and the food was just divine. We chose a drinks package which we did very well out of, the hotel is just perfect.

We saw some mixed reviews of here and were a little worried but we needn't have been because everything was good. We had 6 rooms and they were all very clean and well appointed and without exception all the staff were very attentive.

We travelled out every night and found the location to be good too.

They were building a hotel next door but in the six months between us visiting no work appeared to have been done so there was no noise but I suspect there may be if the project starts again.

We will be travelling here again for our first anniversary for sure :-)

Room Tip: I would strongly recommend a sea view room for a little extra, because of the location the sunset is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay.
Good points-
food, especially good at the pool bar where it came freshly cooked, the dining room food was good as well but differences between theme nights were minimal.
Some service brilliant (marina we miss you) some ok but overall good.
Clean everywhere
Great weather
Nice walk along sea front
Pathos was great if you like visiting ruins and eating out, there must be a 1000 restaurants!
Bad points-
No welcome as such
Room for young children about ten rooms away on first night which meant we had to sleep in separate rooms on our first night, this was rectified.
Rear of hotel where we were faced onto a dual carridge way that was noisy at night with boy racers and I mean till 4 am! So several nights of broken sleep
Rear of hotel faced demolition site where heavy plant was being used to crush concrete so no rest in room in day either. We complained but were told there would be a charge to move to the front of hotel and that it was all our tour companies fault.
Rooms tired
Pool furniture broken in places and faded, left untidy most of the time.
Bit of a gritty beach was ok for snorkelling
Would not go back
If you go make sure you get sea view room 2 nd floor or above then you will forget all the bad bits

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 85 in Paphos
2,966 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
1,017 reviews
6.6 mi away
Queen's Bay Hotel
Queen's Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kissonerga
1,195 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Poseidonos Ave | Kato Pafos, PO Box 62654, Paphos 8066, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Paphos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#17 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#21 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £77 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Aquamare Hotel, we recognize and respect the allure of the Mediterranean, which is why you will find that our entire focus is on capturing its magic and surrounding you with it during your stay with us. Enter an oasis of pure luxury and elegance. With attention to beautiful details and impressive facilities in a hospitable environment, the Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa is the ideal destination for your next holiday or event. Offering a variety of restaurants and bars, conference & incentive facilities, wedding packages, indoor & outdoor pools, children's novelty pool, a fully equipped fitness center and a luxurious spa, whether for business or leisure, there is something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamare Beach Hotel Paphos
Aquamare Beach Hotel And Spa
Aquamare Hotel Paphos
Aquamare Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing