We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just got back from this hotel on arrival the porter was so eager to get us in he left my husbands case on the coach. We had to wait until the following afternoon to get it back. So in the morning we had ti go and buy shorts sandals and sun cream. The staff on reception were nit helpful and thought it was quite amusing, we were shown to our room very stressed by then. Afterva sleepless night of worrying. On the way to the shop in the hotel I slipped on the wet floor of which there were no wet signs. Hurt my hip and hand. We then went for breakfast which was chaotic and the food was cold. Dinnet was the same, as was evening meal. This continued for 5 days. I then complained to restaurant manager who was very nice and wrote everything down. He informed the chef and gave me feedback. Lots more probs. Def not a 5 star.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,676 - 1,682 of 2,429 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

I read the negative reviews before I went and thought people were being fussy, I am not a fussy traveler but have to agree with all the negative comments. I could list hundreds of minor niggles we experienced in our weeks stay, a dozen I could put up with but hundreds becomes wearing.
We emailed a month prior to travel asking for room together on arrival at 1am we were put at opposite sides of hotel, this is this 1st time this has ever happened, we had been travelling for 14 hours (with delays) and asked for a snack, we were given a plate of apples and told nothing else available until 7am, these are just small problems but the whole hol was full of similar niggles.
Hotel, grounds, views beautiful, we were in block zero on ground floor with stunning views however the room constantly smelt of sewage which came in through the air con, be advised that the 3rd bed is tiny, only suitable for a small child. Fridge stocked on arrival with 1 beer, 1 water 2 pop. I think this should be kept stocked. Not on a beach but they may created a man-made beach in time. Sea breeze great, grass areas lovely. Water park good. Cocktails served.
Main problems long wait for drinks, this is because staff are always making cocktails which take time, they really need to make 1 of the bars cocktails only this would solve the problem. Games room has 2 pool tables, air hockey and games machines. The pool tables are lob sided so cannot be played on this was not fixed, but the games room is situated in a very lonely basement not somewhere I would be happy to send kids at night, therefore they had nothing to do in an evening. Main problem the food, we are not fussy eaters and have never struggled with AI before, and although the food was not good it would of been edible had it not always been cold, this was everyone's main complaint. They need a lunch snack bar to give guests an alternative through the day instead of fighting the crowds in the restaurant 3 times a day which becomes a dread. The 3 theme restaurants were a change to be waited on but again food poor. Mexican the receptionist said would be too spicy for kids, it was a chicken wrap for started (very nice) and then pork steak with mash for main (the pork had blood pouring from it) and tiramisu for dessert. (Make sure you book theme restaurants as soon as you arrive, we did and they were already fully booked, we had to wait for cancellation. Hotel quite far out 15 euros in a taxi to beach or harbour but 1.50 euros each on bus.
It is a new hotel and as you can see from my report and previous it just needs tweaking, things are just not right at the moment. The hotel should put together a welcome pack, if you have not read about facilities before going you would never know about towels, theme restaurants etc.
If you expect 5 star you will be bitterly disappointed if you go expecting a good looking hotel but expect teething problems and 3 star service and let everything go over your head you will be ok

Room Tip: room numbers starting with zero have fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jollyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

At arrival the hotel looks amazing and it is huge compared to other nearby hotels. Pool is also very big and clean. The hotel is almost all white and in august this makes it impossible to walk outside without glasses. I stayed 5 days here all inclusive and I can tell you it was not worth it.
• First of all they say there's free WIFI but apparently they mean just in the lobby and with EXTREMELY LOW speed. If you want a same speed wifi in your room it is €10 per day and only for 2 devices.
• The FOOD is below average and not even close to a 5 star buffet. The breakfast although very nice.
• Few of the STAFF were terrible. Especially the woman in the kids' club!
• They get ZERO for ENTERTAINMENT. There is nothing to do except bingo and pool. Every night they have entertainment program which is fool of atonal singers and dance.
Generally it has a really awful service and nothing is organized!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Andreaschri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsokkosCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. The interiors and exteriors of the hotel are of contemporary line and based on natural colors, such as white, beige, black and grey... As in many other resorts around the world and especially the Greek islands white is a color widely used without any issues in summer period. The WiFi is available at all public areas and all hotel rooms at very high speeds. When you have reported your wifi not working in the room our IT had a look at your device and as we use the latest technology your device was a bit out dated and not recently updated as per the manufacturer warnings you received and thus you were facing an issue with your device not being able to detect the wifi while all other guests never had an issue... The WiFi charge is as every other hotel around the world - no 2 persons can use the same code simultaneously. There are different prices, however WiFi is free in ALL public areas! Also the money you have paid for room WiFi was refunded back to you in full as your device could not detect the signal for the above reasons! There is a wide choice of entertainment which includes daytime pool activities and night time outside acts performed by professional dancers and singers of one of the largest entertainment companies on the island! Thank you again for your comments, we are taking every comment seriously in order to further improve our facilities and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Not 5star !!
Having stayed at the king Evelthon hotel in paphos
This is just to outline some of the difficulties we encountered whilst staying at this hotel !
I just seemed to spend my first few days in reception writing complaint reports and waiting for the rep !
Arrival 10:30 pm 2 adults and a 17 year whom is six foot 5 room tiny, with a small double bed and a COT!!!!! Yes a cot all squashed in to a tiny room!!!!
back to reception to be told this is what we booked. and they could do anything as the hotel was full. As you can imagine NoT HAPPY as we had upgraded our room to a family room with separate bedrooms on the advice of a jet 2 customer service advisor.
I am not alone with this problem you had some very unhappy jet 2 guests here all with room problems .hotel blames jet 2 , then jet 2 blames hotel they really need to sort who is to blame and address this ASAP
Food needs sorting also as just not 5 star!!!
snacks awful, and food never warm .. Work is also still continuing on this hotel ... And does disrupt guests
Really disappointed ......please check if you have booked a family room before you travel as I would hate this problem to happen to any other family's.


Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank mclynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsokkosCyprus, Public Relations Manager at King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

The Superior rooms are 30 square meters and this is advised to all tour companies including the one you have booked with. If any guest feels that the 30 square meters are not enough for their party, we have a wide selection of different room types from Family rooms and Family Suites to the Suites with Private pool ranging from 34 square meters up to 85 square meters. Therefore clients can choose upon booking their holiday and according to availability the room type they require according to their needs. Your initial booking was for a Superior room Land View and we have allocated a Superior room Sea View with panoramic views of the Mediterranean sea without any extra charges. The reception has correctly informed you in regards to your booking that this is the room type you have booked and we could only do a view upgrade - which we already did. Thank you for your comments, please note that we are taking every guest comment very seriously in order to further improve our facilities and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When you read all the positive and negative reviews on this hotel it's hard not to agree a little with all of them.On arrival we were greeted with a drink by the porter then taken to check in desk where met with an unsmiling Russian lady that ran through the basic hotel layout so fast that we asked her to repeat herself a couple of times,certainly not very welcoming.A smiling concierge then instructed the porter to take us to our rooms which he described as "special" rooms which they were as we had been upgraded to 2 swim-up rooms,we had e-mailed day before to see if we could be upgraded and we had! Rooms good size with large double bed and single camp bed.Absolutely no information in room regarding hotel,tv,local area ,buses,evacuation procedure etc,we had to ask at reception how to work shower as never seen tap like it before! The outside space of the room was brilliant,large veranda with 2 sunbeds and 2 chairs with small table,leading out to good sized pool which was shared by 12 rooms.This was situated to the left of hotel when looking out to sea.We were there when wedding with 1500 guests was on but never heard a thing.The hotel is beautiful with grand furniture in lobby,large pool,good sized young kids pool with play area,very white and clean but no signage anywhere.If you go looking for the spa you could blink and miss it,vast area accessed by small stairway tucked at side of bar,if there is another way in, I never found it.This has a big indoor pool,gym,beauty spa and 1 solitary table-tennis table which is about the only thing older kids have to entertain them.A few days after our arrival an a4 info sheet appeared in the lobby which was the only way to find out what the"animation"is for the day.We want to all 3 ala carte restaurants ,which served good food but the lack of atmosphere was a bit embarrassing,lovely roof top views for Italian and Mexican but could do with music and candles and more customers! Greek taverna outside but again lacking atmosphere,food never ending but no explanation as to what we were being served.Entertainment did improve as the time went on,with singers and dancers giving their all and bingo not that bad,kids enjoyed it and it is cash prizes!! Dining experience certainly not 5 star.Our week started with being led to table,plate moved as soon as we finished ,drinks served in a flash but by the time we left it was a free for all as occupancy of hotel must have doubled in 11 days we were there.The food was hot and enjoyable,salads varied and bread fresh,no carvery though and only food cooked to order was omelettes at breakfast.Only 3domestic toasters at first but a catering one appeared later.Queues were long for drinks as only 2 machines,1 of which gave lukewarm drinks.Staff really struggling to keep up but giving their all.Shop doesn't sell newspapers but hotel next door does,only 2 minutes walk away.Water park good but not free for all,we went jet 2 which meant it was free entry for us but we had to take bottled water from hotel or pay for drinks.There is no beach only Sandy topsoil area with Sun beds but rarely used,entry to sea dangerous,certainly not safe,steps cut into rock covered with sea weed cannot be described as accessible.The day before leaving we enquired about keeping room on,as we had a late flight,and was told to come back next day,it would cost €35,On returning we were told bluntly that hotel full and no chances of keeping room on,,when we told them about conversation day before and asking to see manager we were told we could keep room on until 5 and wasn't charged.The staff on reception were the most contrary we have ever experienced and need better training,they certainly let the hotel down where everyone else we encountered there from cleaners to bar staff were very obliging.There was some maintenance going on around the hotel but not intrusive and discreet.I don't think this hotel is worthy of 5 stars,probably 4 at best We had a great holiday and met a lovely family which made it for us and of course having our own pool spoilt us too!Things may be still changing day by day and hopefully it will all settle down soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank george andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went to the water park for the day. Very reasonable at 15 euro an adult and 7,50 a child. You get given towels to use and toilet and changing facilities are provided. You can shower but will need to take your own toiletries. There are plenty of sun loungers and the area is very clean. Would recommend you take wet shoes as the floor between pools and slides is very hot. We took our own drinks and food but you can buy it there. Slides, lazy river and kids area all excellent. All in all a fantastic day.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Bones18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Firstly, let me put some perspective on this review. You can see from my reviews that I travel alot and go to lots of hotels each year. With greatest respect, I feel I know what is good and what is bad. Majority of holiday hotels are 5 star. For this reason, like other reviews on here, I am highly suspicious of some reviews on here. The number of reviews by people saying its the best ever is high, especially if you note that they have only done 1 review. Have mailed 3 of them and heard nothing back!

Hotel is approximately 45 minute transfer from Paphos Airport. We did enquire with a taxi but it was 30Euro so took the transfer coach. Hotel is not in Coral Bay but approximately 6 miles outside and approximately 2 miles from Harbour area. You can get a bus to either area for 1.50Euro or a day ticket for 5Euro.

Upon arrival outside you could hear the other travelers on our coach saying how lovely it looked and how lucky we were. How wrong they were, as unfortunately, beauty is only skin deep.

Immediately upon going into Reception at 23.30, we were made to feel like a total inconvenience. We had booked a room with its own private pool at a premium of nearly £1000. We were told the hotel was overbooked and we would need to come back to Reception the following day to get our room.I insisted that I wanted my room and Ellie said "you either take the room provided or go home. Next morning we were told it was not possible to have our room. Basically they had lied and then denied that we had ever mailed them telling them it was our 25th anniversary. Guess what, I showed them the mail and they then admitted an error. Reception staff are referred to in several reviews and at first glance you think to yourself, so what if they don't speak English but this is far deeper. The Reception staff are blatantly rude rude rude. They are front of house and give a poor reflection. THIS IS NOT 5 STAR.


Rooms
Very well appointed. We had sea view given to us. Free safe box. TV with dozens of channels although don't know why anyone would want to go on holiday to watch TV in a darkened room? The brochures say that fridge is stocked upon arrival. It took us 5 days to have ours filled. Even after Jet2 rep had been to Reception, they still did not fill it. Eventually on day 5, I told a bar tender who kindly filled it for me. There is absolutely no information whatsoever in the rooms. You have to ask how to book restaurants, what time the food starts, where the towels are, what time gym opens etc etc etc. THIS IS NOT 5 STAR.

Bars
There are 4 bars on site. The Reception bar was the best in terms of service. Anna and Anida were great ambassadors for the hotel. The raised pool bar and Greek tavern bar were a total joke. Service was rubbish, partly because 2 female staff had an ongoing feud with each other. Best way to get served is to pretend you are Russian and just push to the front of the queue. Each bar had a good selection of drinks including Carlsberg on tap. There appeared to be loads of confusion at bars as one day they asked you to give your room number and sign a printed receipt, the next they did not. THIS IS NOT 5 STAR.

Pools
One large pool with another small childs pool. Water was warm and plenty of space to swim. There some some pods around the pool which little sneaks would put there towels on at 5am each morning. What kind of holiday was this where you get up at 5am. Get a life! Plenty of beds were available all day when we were there. During week, maintenance men were adding hand rails, life belts and hammering and banging whilst you were trying to relax. THIS IS NOT 5 STAR.


Restaurants
Main restaurant is buffet. Without doubt, the food is the most disgusting I have ever encountered. It didn't matter what time you went in, 7am for start of breakfast, 12.30 for lunch or 19.30 at start of dinner, the food was stone cold and same old rubbish every day. I complained and nothing changed. The dining room was littered with full plates of food guests could not eat. The fact that the air conditioning unit was above the food might be the reason!. The selection was the most limited I have ever seen. After day 2, we stopped going to breakfast as it was so poor. Jet2 brochure says show cooking every day. This is not true unless you include a miserable chef cooking an omelette. If you are vegetarian you are in serious trouble as my wife was literally going hungry and having to by crisps. Out of 7 days, soup was chicken on 4 occasions. One day we went for snacks and these were croquet's, hash browns, chips, potatoes and pizza. How imaginative!This time last year, if you look at my reviews I went to a 3 star hotel on a last minute deal. The food there was far far better than this hotel. We ended up eating out on 4 evenings. Really beautiful Indian just 10 minutes walk down road (Koh I Noor)
THIS IS NOT 5 STAR.

Mexican and Italian which you can book at Reception. These were good. Greek was not tried as apparently there were no veggie dishes.

Gym
Jet2 brochure states that complimentary use of the whirlpool, sauna and steam bath once per week.This is factually incorrect as I enquired if I could take advantage and was told no, it was not possible Free introductory scuba diving lesson.I enquired about this, I was told it was not available at the hotel. THIS IS NOT 5 STAR.

Hotel
Everywhere you go there are cables hanging out of the ceiling, handrail hanging off in lift, door frame hanging off, smashed glass, holes in walls and perhaps most concerning is the fact that there is a problem with the doors and are wedged open. If there is a fire, there is going to be a disaster. I have photos which I am going to upload. THIS IS NOT 5 STAR.

Overall, if you have booked, I wish you well. If you have not booked, I would urge you not to. We have a large group friends who were going to book as a group and when we told them about the goings on, they have booked elsewhere. This hotel ruined my special occasion. I cannot believe the excellent reviews on here. They are either fakes or done by people who have no perspective on good quality hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
40  Thank liamshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
2.2 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.4 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#28 of 85 in Paphos
752 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laura Beach Hotel
Laura Beach Hotel
#40 of 85 in Paphos
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,211 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,784 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: Chlorakas Ave, Paphos 8200, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: £74 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel enjoys extensive well cared exotic landscaped gardens of 100,000 square meters. This deluxe hotel offers luxury superior rooms, family rooms, swim up rooms, junior suites, presidential suites and suites with private pools. Stylish and spacious interior as well as modern amenities will ensure your deluxe stay. Offering a combination of high quality service and true Cypriot hospitality, the King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort is a dream hotel for all ages. The vast array of facilities and services make this hotel ideal for families and couples seeking prime location, contemporary accommodation, delicious cuisine, sports and entertainment, peace and relaxation. Enjoy the Premium All Inclusive (PAI) for the most treasured moments in a magnificent spot by the Mediterranean sea for a relaxing stress free holiday.This luxury hotel is located on the seafront , a truly quiet setting with easy access to local bars, restaurants, taverns and shops. The famous Medieval Paphos Castle, Tomb of the Kings ancient site, Coral Bay and the Akamas Peninsula nature preserved area are all within easy access of this new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing