We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - food needs to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We travelled as a family - 2 adults, 1 child at the end of July and had a great time - although some aspects could be improved on:

The hotel is beautiful, very modern and clean. We arrived at 10.30pm and were met by a friendly porter and receptionist. We were shown to our room and given a tour and shown how everything works (including shower) The room was a standard room with a pool view and was very impressive - plenty of room for 3 - comfortable beds, great bathroom / shower. As all the evening entertainment happens by the pool if you want an early night it could be noisy but all
quiet at 11pm which isn't unreasonable. Mini fridge was well stocked - safety deposit box free and hair dryer and large tv, bathrobes and some toiletries supplied. Cleaners are good - but come into the rooms very late sometimes - latest for us was 6pm when we wanted a sleep before dinner! We also had to complain about glasses and fruit peel left on windows which wasn't moved - although to be fair this is probably more of a reflection on other guests ( why would you do that?) rather than hotel staff - it was cleared when we mentioned it.

The pool area is gorgeous - very warm water and the in-pool jacuzzis are lovely - towels provided (it would have been nice to know this before we travelled!) and no fighting for sunbeds at 7am. Plenty available throughout the day. The pool bar could be slow - the girls serving seemed to fall out a lot and one was quite scary but we found is amusing rather than annoying - there was waiter service if required and the guys bringing drinks were lovely - ice cream milkshakes and soft drink cocktails available for kids - and all drinks and cocktails available on AI which was good. The service could be slow which was frustrating at times. There was a shaded area in the pool under the bridge of the bar which the kids seemed to like.

Big improvements need to be made on the food side - it was all a little bland in the main restaurant and not always hot - having said this the salads / fruit / bread etc we're lovely as was the fresh cooked omelettes in the morning - I feel it is missing some kind of fresh cooking area where steaks, fish, kebabs etc are cooked to order at lunch and dinner - and fried eggs, pancakes etc should be cooked fresh in the morning not let standing to go cold and rubbery. Availability of some items was also sporadic - the feta cheese was amazing but kept running out! The hot vegetables were either very over or under cooked and there were too many stews. But we always found something to eat that was acceptable. We found the service in the restaurant to be good - the waiters were always polite and friendly - maybe a little over enthusiastic in clearing plates but I think that's down to them wanting to be helpful. The Italian restaurant was lovely as was the Greek TAverna - we didn't try the Mexican as the menu didn't really seem Mexican at all and we had mixed reviews from other guests. We booked early in our holiday and had no problem getting a table.

Entertainment was mixed - there was always something happening during the day around the pool but we were happy not to join in - aqua aerobics, water polo and poolside games - they didn't impact on our relaxation as the pool was big enough. Evening entertainment was not really great - but no worse than any other hotel we've stayed in - kids liked bingo - this would have been better earlier and the act of the night after - one or two acts were ok but they could probably be improved on. Service in the evening was great by the pool but very slow in the lobby - day time staff in the lobby were great - it went pear shaped in the evening.

We took advantage of the water park and got in free as Jet2 travelers - we also got drinks and towels - if you arrived at 10am it was really quiet and we had the pool and slides to ourselves for half hour - kids loved it.

We want into paphos a couple of times - bus was €1.50 and took about 15 mins - the promised free scuba diving lesson proved to be a taster session in the pool when cydive visited a couple of times a week - not as advertised- although we went on a Discover Scuba course with them and it was good.

Don't go if you're looking for a beach holiday- this is none existent - hopefully the area will be developed in time as it's a little scruffy - empty bottles and rubbish laying around - the pool area was beautifully clean though so we didn't mind not having a beach.

Anyhow all in all we enjoyed our holiday - I wouldn't say its a 5* - the surroundings are lovely (except the beach) but the food needs improvement. But we had a lovely holiday, met some lovely people and would go back - especially if the management take note of the reviews and improve the food.

Room Tip: Pool view room was good - but would be noisy if you want an early night. Swim up rooms looked nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 2,482 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a stunning hotel with one of the largest and best pools I have seen. No problems with sunbeds, there are ample sunbeds for everyone. The photos of the pool do not do it justice, you have to get into this pool to see how big and good it is.
This hotel caters for the russians, who outnumber the british by about ten to one.
The barstaff are mainly russian and are rude and arrogant, along with the reception staff who are also the same. several times, they ignored me and served a russian first. The cypriot staff were different again and always polite and helpful.
The entertainment was the worst I have seen in a long time.(Have probably been spoiled by staying at Thomson hotels) Peter is great, but he has no one to back him up. There needs to be far more animation crew and money spent on outside acts.
The location of this hotel is in the middle of nowhere and there are no shops or bars anywhere near. It is one and half euros on the bus each to go to Paphos or Coral bay.
Ignore the pictures in the brochure that show a lovely beach. They are lying. There is no beach , only very sharp rocks that would cut your feet open if you tried to venture down to the sea.
The waterpark is fantastic but the tiling in the park is atrocious. None of the tiles have rounded edges. Several children had nasty cuts and one child had blood streaming from his head because of the sharp tiles.
I found the food to be ok and more than enough for me, but was quit often only luke warm.
There is free Wi fi in the lobby area and is fast enough for most users. (around 20 meg)
The kids club is a joke . I took my grandaughter and she was the only british child there. All they did was drawing pictures. They should look at a Thomson kids club to see how it should be done.
The 3 theme restaurants are well worth a visit and serve far better food than the buffet .The location on top of the hotel is stunning along with the cocktail bar, which serves the best cocktails in the hotel.
We had a seaview room that also overlooked the pool. The views were amazing .Try to get one of these rooms if you come to this hotel, They are worth every penny. Dont go for the swim up rooms, they are not worth the money , they are on the back of the hotel with a lousy view .
As you can see from this review, this hotel is a stunning hotel with fantastic pool and waterpark, but there are lots of issues to be sorted before it can be classed as a 5 star.
The main problem being the terrible and rude russian staff.
Colin

Room Tip: Seaview + poolview rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We visited the waterpark twice as day visitors on a recent holiday in Cyprus, being on an easy bus route from Coral Bay, and found it to be great for a day out and excellent value. It was also quite empty, even though it was school holidays, which made it much easier to watch the children. There were several slides which the children loved, a small lazy river, and also an area for younger children and a huge swimming pool which was always nearly empty. We thought the park was excellent for families and there were no queues for anything and lots of free sun beds and umbrellas. We found the cafe to be quite expensive but there is the option of taking in your own food and drinks. The only suggestion we would make is the need for some watered walkways or other cooler surfaced paths between the various areas as we needed flip-flops everywhere or it was very easy to get burnt feet. Great for a family day out and highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank malcliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just got back from this hotel on arrival the porter was so eager to get us in he left my husbands case on the coach. We had to wait until the following afternoon to get it back. So in the morning we had ti go and buy shorts sandals and sun cream. The staff on reception were nit helpful and thought it was quite amusing, we were shown to our room very stressed by then. Afterva sleepless night of worrying. On the way to the shop in the hotel I slipped on the wet floor of which there were no wet signs. Hurt my hip and hand. We then went for breakfast which was chaotic and the food was cold. Dinnet was the same, as was evening meal. This continued for 5 days. I then complained to restaurant manager who was very nice and wrote everything down. He informed the chef and gave me feedback. Lots more probs. Def not a 5 star.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I read the negative reviews before I went and thought people were being fussy, I am not a fussy traveler but have to agree with all the negative comments. I could list hundreds of minor niggles we experienced in our weeks stay, a dozen I could put up with but hundreds becomes wearing.
We emailed a month prior to travel asking for room together on arrival at 1am we were put at opposite sides of hotel, this is this 1st time this has ever happened, we had been travelling for 14 hours (with delays) and asked for a snack, we were given a plate of apples and told nothing else available until 7am, these are just small problems but the whole hol was full of similar niggles.
Hotel, grounds, views beautiful, we were in block zero on ground floor with stunning views however the room constantly smelt of sewage which came in through the air con, be advised that the 3rd bed is tiny, only suitable for a small child. Fridge stocked on arrival with 1 beer, 1 water 2 pop. I think this should be kept stocked. Not on a beach but they may created a man-made beach in time. Sea breeze great, grass areas lovely. Water park good. Cocktails served.
Main problems long wait for drinks, this is because staff are always making cocktails which take time, they really need to make 1 of the bars cocktails only this would solve the problem. Games room has 2 pool tables, air hockey and games machines. The pool tables are lob sided so cannot be played on this was not fixed, but the games room is situated in a very lonely basement not somewhere I would be happy to send kids at night, therefore they had nothing to do in an evening. Main problem the food, we are not fussy eaters and have never struggled with AI before, and although the food was not good it would of been edible had it not always been cold, this was everyone's main complaint. They need a lunch snack bar to give guests an alternative through the day instead of fighting the crowds in the restaurant 3 times a day which becomes a dread. The 3 theme restaurants were a change to be waited on but again food poor. Mexican the receptionist said would be too spicy for kids, it was a chicken wrap for started (very nice) and then pork steak with mash for main (the pork had blood pouring from it) and tiramisu for dessert. (Make sure you book theme restaurants as soon as you arrive, we did and they were already fully booked, we had to wait for cancellation. Hotel quite far out 15 euros in a taxi to beach or harbour but 1.50 euros each on bus.
It is a new hotel and as you can see from my report and previous it just needs tweaking, things are just not right at the moment. The hotel should put together a welcome pack, if you have not read about facilities before going you would never know about towels, theme restaurants etc.
If you expect 5 star you will be bitterly disappointed if you go expecting a good looking hotel but expect teething problems and 3 star service and let everything go over your head you will be ok

Room Tip: room numbers starting with zero have fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jollyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

At arrival the hotel looks amazing and it is huge compared to other nearby hotels. Pool is also very big and clean. The hotel is almost all white and in august this makes it impossible to walk outside without glasses. I stayed 5 days here all inclusive and I can tell you it was not worth it.
• First of all they say there's free WIFI but apparently they mean just in the lobby and with EXTREMELY LOW speed. If you want a same speed wifi in your room it is €10 per day and only for 2 devices.
• The FOOD is below average and not even close to a 5 star buffet. The breakfast although very nice.
• Few of the STAFF were terrible. Especially the woman in the kids' club!
• They get ZERO for ENTERTAINMENT. There is nothing to do except bingo and pool. Every night they have entertainment program which is fool of atonal singers and dance.
Generally it has a really awful service and nothing is organized!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Andreaschri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsokkosCyprus, Guest Relations Manager at King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. The interiors and exteriors of the hotel are of contemporary line and based on natural colors, such as white, beige, black and grey... As in many other resorts around the world and especially the Greek islands white is a color widely used without any issues in summer period. The WiFi is available at all public areas and all hotel rooms at very high speeds. When you have reported your wifi not working in the room our IT had a look at your device and as we use the latest technology your device was a bit out dated and not recently updated as per the manufacturer warnings you received and thus you were facing an issue with your device not being able to detect the wifi while all other guests never had an issue... The WiFi charge is as every other hotel around the world - no 2 persons can use the same code simultaneously. There are different prices, however WiFi is free in ALL public areas! Also the money you have paid for room WiFi was refunded back to you in full as your device could not detect the signal for the above reasons! There is a wide choice of entertainment which includes daytime pool activities and night time outside acts performed by professional dancers and singers of one of the largest entertainment companies on the island! Thank you again for your comments, we are taking every comment seriously in order to further improve our facilities and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Not 5star !!
Having stayed at the king Evelthon hotel in paphos
This is just to outline some of the difficulties we encountered whilst staying at this hotel !
I just seemed to spend my first few days in reception writing complaint reports and waiting for the rep !
Arrival 10:30 pm 2 adults and a 17 year whom is six foot 5 room tiny, with a small double bed and a COT!!!!! Yes a cot all squashed in to a tiny room!!!!
back to reception to be told this is what we booked. and they could do anything as the hotel was full. As you can imagine NoT HAPPY as we had upgraded our room to a family room with separate bedrooms on the advice of a jet 2 customer service advisor.
I am not alone with this problem you had some very unhappy jet 2 guests here all with room problems .hotel blames jet 2 , then jet 2 blames hotel they really need to sort who is to blame and address this ASAP
Food needs sorting also as just not 5 star!!!
snacks awful, and food never warm .. Work is also still continuing on this hotel ... And does disrupt guests
Really disappointed ......please check if you have booked a family room before you travel as I would hate this problem to happen to any other family's.


Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank mclynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsokkosCyprus, Public Relations Manager at King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

The Superior rooms are 30 square meters and this is advised to all tour companies including the one you have booked with. If any guest feels that the 30 square meters are not enough for their party, we have a wide selection of different room types from Family rooms and Family Suites to the Suites with Private pool ranging from 34 square meters up to 85 square meters. Therefore clients can choose upon booking their holiday and according to availability the room type they require according to their needs. Your initial booking was for a Superior room Land View and we have allocated a Superior room Sea View with panoramic views of the Mediterranean sea without any extra charges. The reception has correctly informed you in regards to your booking that this is the room type you have booked and we could only do a view upgrade - which we already did. Thank you for your comments, please note that we are taking every guest comment very seriously in order to further improve our facilities and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
2.2 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
2.9 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,252 reviews
4.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
1.2 mi away
Laura Beach Hotel
Laura Beach Hotel
#39 of 85 in Paphos
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: Chlorakas Ave, Paphos 8200, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: £80 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel enjoys extensive well cared exotic landscaped gardens of 100,000 square meters. This deluxe hotel offers luxury superior rooms, family rooms, swim up rooms, junior suites, presidential suites and suites with private pools. Stylish and spacious interior as well as modern amenities will ensure your deluxe stay. Offering a combination of high quality service and true Cypriot hospitality, the King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort is a dream hotel for all ages. The vast array of facilities and services make this hotel ideal for families and couples seeking prime location, contemporary accommodation, delicious cuisine, sports and entertainment, peace and relaxation. Enjoy the Premium All Inclusive (PAI) for the most treasured moments in a magnificent spot by the Mediterranean sea for a relaxing stress free holiday.This luxury hotel is located on the seafront , a truly quiet setting with easy access to local bars, restaurants, taverns and shops. The famous Medieval Paphos Castle, Tomb of the Kings ancient site, Coral Bay and the Akamas Peninsula nature preserved area are all within easy access of this new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing