We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday with great service and accomdation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Capital Coast Resort & Spa
Ranked #45 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good holiday with great service and accomdation”
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We had a 10 day stay at Capital Coast in August 2010 we went as a family with two children aged 11 and 7 and after reading many of the reviews before I went I was slightly worried.

However once I arrived at Capital Coast I was greeted by only friendly and helpful staff. We got fantastic room with two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a lounge and dining area, a fully fitted kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine. We were based on the ground floor so also had a large patio area with table and chairs outside.

The cleaning service was excellent with the maid coming in every day and she was always very polite and helpful. We stayed half board so had breakfast and either lunch or dinner in the restaurant. Again the staff working here were always extremely polite and helpful and the food was good. For example my youngest child is rather picky and on two occasions Dimitri (the restaurant manager) offered to make her something else which went down very well plus he was always chatty and the customer service was excellent.

The hotel is situated a short walk away from many restaurants and bars and recommend getting a car as much of the good places to visit a spread out across the island.

Overall we had a great holiday I would definetly recommend this hotel and return again someday and Thanks to all the staff for a fabulous service with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186460Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    801
    325
    96
    80
See reviews for
652
928
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Just got back from the Capital Coast and completely agree with Worcester Sammy.
This is being promoted as 5 star accommodation but would 5 star include:
'Floaters' in the pool on a couple of occassions and nothing done about it.
Treating the decking around the pool area with teak oil from 5.30pm when the pool area doesn't close until 9pm! The pool was full at the time and the breeze kept blowing the stuff into the water. Not to mention the stink whilst people were trying to enjoy 'happy hour' around the pool bar.
A note on your sunbed that the pool area would be closed from 6pm on saturday due to a private wedding (probably the reason for the decking treatment).
Hotel management staff completely miserable and unresponsive - though most of the general staff were friendly and helpful.
Damaged fixtures and fittings, including lights, tiles, cracks in main structure and glass windows, not maintained in the 2 weeks we were there - despite this being a 'vacation club flagship hotel' collecting a yearly maintenance fee from all its members.
Good gym but often over run with teenagers messing about. Steam room and sauna ok but have to ask for them to be turned on and wait to heat up.
Desite this does have nice rooms and pool facilities. Plenty of sunbeds (though not next to pool unless you want to get up around 6am) and nice little beach recently made more accessible with addition of steps whilst we were there. However, location not great unless you hire a car.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dotsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Stayed at the Capital Coast Hotel & Spa in August 2010. We chose it after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, most of which were favourable. First impressions were good - modern, spacious foyer / reception and helpful / polite staff. Our room (which was a studio on the top floor with only a skylight) was excellent. It was very well decorated and equipped with wall-hung flatscreen tv (with sky), fridge / freezer, oven, dishwasher, safe, iron & ironing board, hairdryer and a shower to die for. Yep, all in all, very satisfied.
However, as the week progressed, we noticed quite a few areas of deterioration in and around the Hotel. Now, these wouldn't be an issue but the Hotel is only 1 to 2 years old! Not something you expect to see from a Hotel of this age. Examples include huge cracks (taped up!) in two of the large windows of the indoor pool, tiles missing from the outdoor pool, plaster coming away from the wall to the rear of the outdoor pool, paint flaking from the ceiling of the indoor pool, many of the wooden floorboards in the spa treatment room had lifted, door architraving was coming away from the wall in the corridors, mould on the walls in the corridors on the lower floor, the jacuzzi water was filthy for the duration of our stay (infact, our pond at home has clearer water!), and 1 of the 2 plunge pools also had dirty water. The steam room also smelt like someone had actually fell asleep in there and evaporated to death..........3 weeks ago!! Definitely a no-no for anybody with a good sense of smell. Now, my good lady and i are not ones to winge and moan, infact i like to make it known that i am quite common, but these 'blemishes' are not what you would expect from a Hotel which is continually paraded as a flagship for a 'vacation club'. Oh yes, while we were there we noticed a constant stream of tourists been shown around inside and outside of the Hotel in the 'hope' that they will join this Club. Surely, these obvious signs of deterioration should have been rectified immediately if they are trying to 'sell' the Hotel to obtain members??
However, please don't let these negatives put you off as the Hotel has far more pluses. Maid service is excellent, overall cleanliness is good, the staff are all very friendly and efficient, location is good, breakfast is generally fine - plenty of choice (although much the same every day). However, unless you like tasteless blancmange stay away from the scrambled egg (you'll see what i mean), the fried potatoes are terrible, the fried bread like cardboard and the mushrooms watery, rubbery and again, tasteless. Oh, also the orange juice is, infact, squash. But apart from this, the breakfast is actually not too bad.
The beach to the Hotel is quite small and reached by gravelled steps (which had just been completed while we were there). The beach is ok, though not great, but beware that there are strong undercurrents so it's not ideal for toddlers, or anybody who likes to swim in water deeper than what you can stand up in (friends of ours that live out there informed us that there had been about 4 deaths this year alone on that stretch of coast).
There is a lawned area between the pool and the sea with many sunbeds - which is great, infact it's just as well that there are plenty there because all the sunbeds around the pool are draped with towels as early as 8 am and, strangely enough there is no one to be seen anywhere near the pool. This is so mindless - and we couldn't even blame it on the germans, as there weren't any!! Sadly, it was the Brits who were to blame. I, myself, am half german and even i didn't have the slightest urge to put our towels down! NOTE TO CAPITAL COAST: Remove / confiscate all towels that have obviously been placed on sunbeds to 'reserve' them, issue notices that this will be the case, and, 'bingo' the problem is resolved!
On the lower level of lawn there are swing-chairs, benches, and pergolas to sit and watch the sun go down beyond the sea. So romantic, and a great feature - or it would be if the sprinklers weren't turned on, drenching us, 10 minutes before sunset.
And now for the reason that my wife is a plonker: On our last full day we decided to have a walk along the coastal path (recommended) to Paphos harbour. This took us a little over an hour with numerous water breaks, and much sweat dispelled. On reaching the harbour we were approached by a delightful young man who gave us 2 scratch cards and surprise, surprise my wife had 'won' a prize. All we had to do to claim either a 'dream' holiday, 400 Euros, or a Camcorder (which we already have) is jump into the free taxi, and take a quick tour of a hotel........................THE CAPITAL COAST!!!!! Totally taken in by this, and being chuffed at bagging a free taxi back to the Hotel to boot, my wife was keen to go. The fact that i pointed out that we had only just got there, and had not actually seen anything of the harbour, or the fact that you don't get anything for nothing fell on deaf ears.
To cut along story short the short 'tour' lasted 3 hours and consisted of somebody attempting to sell the idea of the vacation club to us. Unfortunately for her (despite the fact that she admits that she was a plonker) my wife and i have a brain, and there was never any chance that either of us would fall for this 'scam'. Beware, as they try to confuse you that you would actually be saving money by buying in to this club - you won't. It'll cost you £3500 for what is basically just access to a website. You can find better deals yourself on the Net. Don't be conned. The fact that they won't let you go away to think about it and do your own research / price comparisons says it all.
However, we did walk away with a bottle of white wine, a sense of happiness at 'besting' the sales rep (i'm a qualified buyer, my wife a finance manager, and we're pretty good with money), oh, and yes, the prize that my wife had won was, of course, the dream holiday. This is infact 2-3 star self catering accommodation in the balearics (no flight, no food) - not exactly what i'd call a 'dream' holiday. And we did get the opportunity to 'air' our list of visual Hotel faults with the vacation club manager - not that they'll do anything about it.
NOTE TO CAPITAL COAST 2 : Disassociate yourself from these cowboys as they'll ultimately lose you customers.
NOTE TO READER: If approached in Paphos by man bearing scratch card, politely take scratch card, and ram up his a***
SUMMARY:
Would we stay at the Capital Coast again? Probably not, although it's not a bad hotel at all. They just need to address the problems highlighted above.
Would we recommend the Hotel to friends? Hmm a difficult one. If they managed to get it at a good price (as we did) then yes.
Is my wife really a plonker? Is the Pope catholic???!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorcesterSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We arrived at the hotel just after 10.30pm and our first impressions were amazing, the hotel is absolutely beautiful, and the room was the best we had ever stayed in. We booked a superior suite (one of the cheaper options within the complex) so I wasn’t expecting the room to be anything like the pictures on the internet, however it was well decorated and furnished, had an amazing bathroom and we had a terrace with its own hot tub which we weren’t expecting, so a lovely surprise! I don’t know if we just got lucky though because when we looked around the site there weren’t many other rooms with the hot tub or the views we had.
We were a little disappointed however that there was nothing in the room for us to eat or drink on arrival and when we enquired at reception about where we could at least get a bottle of water from she sent us on a wild goose chase in the dark for a supermarket miles away as the on-site shop closes at 8pm. So the start wasn't great for us as we were tired, hot, hungry and very thirsty, so just be more prepared than us with your own food and water on arrival!

The pool area is fantastic, so picturesque with plenty of sun beds and well laid out (you do have to be up at the crack of dawn to get a sun bed round the pool though, otherwise you will be on the grass facing the sea, which I think was just as nice, so we never rushed out of bed!) The pool bar is fairly expensive, as was everything to be fair (€3.65 for a pint of local beer - Keo, €2.75 for 1/2 a coke etc) the exchange rate in the hotel is terrible also (€1 = £1) the shop is also fairly expensive; you are better going off-site for your supplies. There is a small beach in front of the hotel, however it is only a small cove, and you do risk your own life climbing down the rock face to get to it, however totally worth it when you’re down there, white sand and clear water.
You get complimentary beach towels which you can have changed every other day so this is handy to know to cut down on your luggage (wish we had known that before we packed)! You do get charged €25 per towel if you don’t take them back when you check out at the end of your holiday so guard them with your life!!

We went B&B so sampled breakfast which was fab, loads and loads of choice (cereal, toast, full English, continental, pancakes, waffles, fresh fruit and yoghurts as well as hot and cold drinks), although it’s the same every day. We never ate in the restaurant on an evening so cannot comment but ate at the pool bar some lunch times which was extortionate (€8 for sandwich!) you are better off buying something in and eating in your room for lunches.

Make sure you go down to the harbour for an evening; it has some amazing restaurants and was so beautiful. You do have to get a taxi (€10 each way from the hotel) but it was a lovely night out and definitely worth it. The Tombs of the Kings is also worth a visit as it's right on your doorstep and only €1.70 each for admission.

My only 2 gripes with the place were:
1. The staff. Yes most of them are smiley and polite enough when they have to be, but you can tell they absolutely do not want to be there and you almost feel guilty asking for things from them, in particular the lady on reception who was quite rude when we asked if there was an on-site doctor (there isn't) and was quite annoyed when I asked for directions to the nearest pharmacy. Also the woman on reception in the gym/spa is very abrupt.
2. Location. Unless you want a 45 minute trek into Paphos centre every day or to hire out a car, don’t go here. It really is quite far out and you risk your life walking along the main road into the town as the drivers over there are lunatics. There are a number of bars and restaurants close by, but you get a little stuck for choice after a few days. A lot are now derelict and you can tell the area has really been affected by the credit crunch, with about 1 in every 4 restaurants and hotels along the main road closed down.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday and I would go back, although next time we would most definitely hire a car to get around more easily and hopefully they may have employed a few more staff by then who actually want to be there!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaTT187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

The apartment could not have been better, spacious, brand new all mod cons best hote apt we have ever staye din anywhere. Gorgeous terrace to sit outside and eat which we did alot with two young kids. Would be great if they set up a kids club and maybe a playground if they did I may go back.

The food isn't great, mediocre but at least they don't charge much for it, I assume they know its bad.

The worst part of this holiday was the staff and one in particular, when we were checking in there was a young guy on the desk. He was completely incompetent, left us sitting there for 40 minutes with two hungry babies, going mad so we said we'd go off and eat then come back and check in when he had figured out what he was doing. He said he'd check us in and have our room ready when we returned in an hour, we returned and he had forgotten that he was supposed to find our room and check us in so again we were left sitting in the foyer for ages. He was rude, we repeatedly asked to speak to someone in charge and he just wouldn not get them for us obviously as he woudl get into trouble.

My husband just ended up screaming at him, not a nice start to our holiday I hope hes been sacked by now! If he has I would recommend staying here, but eat out or cook your own food in your apartment. Please note this hotel although on the coast has no beach which we were a bit dissapointed by.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The hotel was conveniently located, between the centre of the town and coral bay and our overall stay there was quite ok. We arrived at the hotel at about 14:00 (check in time) and had to wait up to an hour to get our room, in the hotel's very hot lobby, since it was not ready. The room was pleasant and clean, though decorated with cheap ikea furnitures and linen. Typical breakfast, nice pool area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnitaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My self and my new husband spent an absolutly fantastic honeymoon here and would highly recommened this hotel. It is so clean and friendly, the staff are so helpful and always happy to sort any problems that may arise. We are even plannin on returning with our three children. We found the locals very friendly aswel espesially from the Paddy bar just down the road from the hotel. The only down fall was that there is alot of Time share sellers who are always trying to con you into buying a time share. We were sunbathing by the pool when we noticed a couple getting show round the hotel by a timeshare bloke, the bloke was telling the couple that all the people who were staying in the hotel are timeshare owners which was a total lie as my self+my husband had booked our honeymoon through Expidia.com. Other than this we would highly recommened this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndsey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
3.0 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
927 reviews
5.9 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
2.0 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 85 in Paphos
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Axiothea Hotel
Axiothea Hotel
#21 of 85 in Paphos
246 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,680 reviews
1.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Coast Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Coast Resort & Spa

Property: Capital Coast Resort & Spa
Address: Tombs of the Kings Road | P.O. Box 62066, Paphos 8060, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Paphos
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#23 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#27 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#38 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#39 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Coast Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the historic Tombs of the Kings, it offers a variety of spacious high quality one, two and three bedroom suites, all encompassing a contemporary light modern decor that captures the Mediterranean spirit. All suits are designed to offer a unique home away from home experience of comfort and luxury. Other services include restaurants and bars, Spa and Bath House, gymnasium & fitness center, beautician and hairdressing salon, squash, indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Opens on 1 August 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capital Coast Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Coast Hotel Paphos
Capital Coast Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing