We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother.”

Famagusta Viewpoint & Mini Zoo
Ranked #35 of 57 things to do in Paralimni
Attraction details
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We recently visited this attraction and thought it was an absolute disgrace.
As we arrived we thought we were entering someone's back yard with an extremely miserable woman behind the counter. If you thought this was a 'mini zoo' then visit a dog and cat rehoming centre. Dogs and cats everywhere, cats being savaged by a dog.
We all left feeling dirty and that we had fleas!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 14ShropsS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    18
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eye opener”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Fourth time to Cyprus but first time we went to Famagusta, and boy did it touch us, the terrible crime that was commited against the Cypriot people was disgraceful and shocking and a real eye opener. Well worth a visit to watch the video and visit the small Museum

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheRugbyGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zvolen, Slovakia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

If you are nearby, and you are with children, it is a good choice to visit this place. Entry fee is only 4 Euro. In additional to the animals and trees, there is a small museum dedicated to the Turkish invasion to Cyprus in 1974. On the roof top is located the viewpoint with small telescop so you can see (for 1 EUR) the "Ghost City" Famagusta (Ammochostos).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Raw insight into the history of Famagusta”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is not a fancy day out, but a must see. The Zoo is a selection of caged animals, lots of fruit trees and some water features, the real attraction is the small tower with the telescope to view Famagusta abandoned. Then below a museum with all the history and conflict behind the town. So sad, i feel wholeheartedly for the Cypriots x

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Worth a visit!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

If you travel to Cyprus & are looking for places to visit then go here. It only costs
€4 to get in & the money feeds the animals. You can take a view of Famagusta from the roof top & learn alot about the invasion that took place when the Turks invaded in 1974 & claimed the northern area of Cyprus. Definitely worth the visit & at a price you can afford. Go take a look, you will learn alot!!

Helpful?
Thank USinCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Famagusta Viewpoint & Mini Zoo also viewed

 
Paralimni, Famagusta District
Deryneia, Famagusta District
 

Been to Famagusta Viewpoint & Mini Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing