We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Semiramis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Semiramis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Platres
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Words just can not explain this wonderful experience in this beautiful little village! It is an amazing area in the heart of Troodos mountains, the location plus a hotel with a lovely service and a great man named Jack, a combination that makes a wonderful vacation in a great hotel...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamziJawhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

On our arrival Jack (Mr Iacovos) brought us tea and the famous McVities Digestives to our room - can't be bad. So from this excellent start the rest of our stay was just as good. Great room, large bathroom, massive bath and hot water always on tap. The hotel is run by Arla who is quietly very efficient and friendly.The breakfast is very good and you can eat as much as you want. We walked every day through and over the Troodos mountains and Jack often made us tea on our return after a long days walking. The weather was perfect for walking and no rain. As we did not rent a car on our last day Jack very kindly took us on an extensive tour of all the local churches. We will go again but will choose the spring to see all the wild flowers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yespel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very nice small family hotel but with lots of character. The hotel has been tastefully restored and its was a pleasure to feel part of it during our stay. Mr Iacovos (Jack) is a wonderful person and very nice to talk to. The hotel is very well managed by his daughter in law Alla who is always busy, efficient and very polite. It was wonderful having breakfast on the patio, under the pine trees. Peaceful, homely and close to nature. So far from it all.
The room was nice, comfortable and clean. The bathroom spacious.
We will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mythos659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very small (only 10 rooms) but very cosy, welcoming and warm hotel. The service was excellent. There is no pool or bar but when we requested some tea and coffee late at night Mr. Iacovos kind-fully prepared them for us. Two minutes from the center of Platres but far away from all the noise its perfect for relaxing in peace and quiet listening only the sound of the birds and crickets. The only negative was the wooden floor (little squicky) but definitely going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daphne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a restored building that is in a quiet location on the outskirts of Platres. The rooms differ in size but all have views of the forest and two or three of them feature private balconies. A family business, with Mr. Iacovos running the place like it is his home. Very good, cooked to order breakfast, the family also owns the Village Tavern in Platres and can accommodate half-board arrangements through that. Reasonable prices. Only negative is that the restoration took place some time ago and parts of the building are showing signs of wear and tear (like cracks on the wooden floor).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clawper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A small, cosy family run hotel that can pride itself on personal customer attention! We arrived well after midnight due to car trouble, yet the owner stayed up and welcomed us with sandwiches and juice! No problems at all. Everyday there was time for a little chat and tips on where to go. The rooms are high and spatious and provide very good comfort. Perhaps not for those interested in 5-star hotels, but we found everything we needed. Breakfast was plentyful and good, as was the dinner. Despite the fact that the season wasn't on yet, there was plenty of choice. It is an excellent base for trips to the mountains as well as the salt-planes and marshes in the South.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Riddler_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

There is no pool and no bar, but we were welcomed enthusiastically by the manager Jack who, once we taken coffee with him on the shady patio, treated us like long lost friends. Our room was very comfortable, the bed was enormous - as was the bathroom. Definitely rooms with a view.
Very relaxing and a great place to stay if you are walking in the Troodos mountains.

Room Tip: We had room 8 and it was definitely one of the larger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Woodstock1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platres
0.2 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Platres
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Helvetia
New Helvetia
#4 of 5 in Platres
115 reviews
5.8 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Hotel
Edelweiss Hotel
#5 of 5 in Platres
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spring Hotel
Spring Hotel
#3 of 5 in Platres
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semiramis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiramis Hotel

Address: Spyrou Kyprianou St. 55 | Pano, Platres 4820, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Platres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Platres
Price Range: £43 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Semiramis Hotel, Cyprus. The hotel is owned and managed by Agis Iacovides and family. We are situated in the village of Platres in the Troodos mountains and within easy reach of the islands two main airports (Larnaca & Paphos).The original hotel was built in the early 1900’s and whilst it retains all it’s classic 1920’s style, it now features – following its very recent refurbishment - a refined interior design that blends with traditional hospitality to provide an ambiance that is guaranteed to delight the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Semiramis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semiramis Hotel Cyprus/Platres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing