We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably would be more spectacular in spring” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caledonia Falls

Caledonia Falls
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Platres
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Probably would be more spectacular in spring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Towards we took the path by stairs and it was shorter, and backwards we went by easy path, which also isn't long, but no shade. We imagined that during spring, when snow melts it should be very spectacular.

Helpful?
Thank Brigita-Urte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    95
    25
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Murmansk, Russia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Walk and Waterfalls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

A leisurely walk to the waterfall gives more pleasant than the waterfall itself. Small waterfall (7-9 meters), a small creek and beautiful nature around - all this you will see if you visit this place.
You have to walk carefully on the track - there are a lot of tree roots and sharp stones. The walk takes 1-1.5 hours.
Decent food in a tavern at the trout farm is waiting for you after a walk.
Negative: There is WC in tavern, but only for the visitors of this tavern/

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 0gik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An easy enough trek up to the falls in beautiful natural surroundings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I liked the total nature of it - nothing but trees, rocks, river, flowing water, a few quaint little bridges... a lovely escape from the madding crowd!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mariamcm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“long walk, small falls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Finding this waterfall can be tricky, especially if you arrive from the wrong direction. It is signposted poorly and the sign posts do not necessarily point in the right direction. Once located, it is still a long walk to the falls on a hot day, mainly uphill. I witnessed a number of people who looked close to a heart attack and collapsed gratefully in the bench at the top. A few gave up and just stayed at the trout farm at the bottom. The route is rough, slippy and strewn with rocks and tree roots. There is an unsightly water pipe travelling from the top to the trout farm which is at best a trip hazard and in places likely to cause some child to fall head first over the edge .
I am a seasoned hiker and used to rough terrain and hills. I am concerned as this place attracts tourists who are unfit and ill equipped in very hot weather. Not a place to wear flip flops.
The falls are pretty, I expect they would be much better after a good rainfall. Someone has made an effort to label some of the flora on the route.
Took about an hour up and back at a leisurely pace.
Worth a look but don't expect to much and its free.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank westiewelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very well looked after route....and very clean...in fact we passed a guy who was collecting any garbage. Really nice and no negative comments....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caledonia Falls also viewed

 
Platres, Limassol District
 

Been to Caledonia Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing