We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PEACEFUL, FRESH AIR ESCAPE”
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forest Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Platres
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PEACEFUL, FRESH AIR ESCAPE”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great Hotel in the mountains, superior air quality , great for hiking and seeing nature and waterfalls in the area as well as nearby monasteries. The hotel is a little costly and they can be a bit more flexible on the rates or offer something more value for money orientated so that we may stay longer. The pools are super, the Jacuzzi needs upgrading as well as the gym area, the machinery is out dated and needs replacement , although these are minor issues, they go a long way

Room Tip: Choose the New wing as rooms are more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aloe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you ever so much for your nice words, describing our hotel how you saw it and experienced it during your stay with us last September (2013) Thank you once again for your comments and rest assured that we take very seriously our esteemed guests comments and adopt them wherever feasible in our ongoing improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    69
    39
    23
    25
See reviews for
71
89
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

+ Location,surrounded by trees,quiet(only birds singing),fresh air,indoor/outdoor pools,best hotel in the area,helpful staff.Excellent for relaxing and weekend escapes.Restaurant food is ok with reasonable prices.
- Old hotel,old furniture,a bit overpriced,mediocre breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drKyriakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear esteemed client .First of all we would like to thank you ever so much for taking the time to write your comments and express your opinion how you saw it and experienced it during your stay with us last September (2013) , in such a positive way.
Criticism like yours, can only encourage us , in order to continue what we are doing and also to improve even further our standards and facilities .
Thank you once again for your comments and rest assured that we take very seriously our esteemed guests comments and adopt them wherever feasible in our ongoing improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights - mid July 2013. We came across this hotel by chance, travelling to the Troodos Mountains from Konnos Bay in Protaras.
We loved this charming hotel from the moment we stepped through the door! What an enchanting, lovely old hotel with super features from the 30s and 60s. A little bijou of an hotel, not many hotels like this left!
If you like the wonderful, commercial. flashy 5* hotels, I think this might not be for you.
The owners, Hercules and Marios are very charming, friendly and warm! they spent time with us and took us through the hotel and its history, we simply loved it! So many famous people stayed at this hotel in the past including King Farouk of Egypt, Telly Savalas, Indira Ghandi and Daphne du Maurier (she wrote the book Rebecca in this hotel).
Some facilities might not be to the highest standards but who cares when you are in such a beautiful environment. The veranda where they serve breakfast is absolutely lovely, the swimming pool is super. We had a half board price so we ate at the hotel for two nights and the food is very good and with a wide choice. The staff was pleasant and helpful.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Troodos Mountains. If you have had the chance to visit Morecambe Bay and the Midlands hotel, you will love the Forest Park Hotel.
Hopefully we will be back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonGreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear esteemed guest. Thank you ever so much for your nice words describing your experience in our hotel, during the stay with us last July (2013). Our hotel now although has grown in building and facilities since the 30’s, is kept by the owners now in the 4th generation in the original style 30’s and 60’s style rather than super modernising it, because we know that clients like yourself will always appreciate this style. Looking forward of welcoming you again in our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The food and beverages were overpriced for a hotel that actually offers 3 star services and not 4 star services as approved by the Cyprus Tourism Organisation. There was lack of staff during breakfast and dinner time. The team responsible for breakfast and dinner was not prepared for all of the hotel guests. Only the snack option was affordable, but we had to wait for almost an hour for our ordered snacks and drinks to be delivered. At the pool area the WC and changing rood doors were quite old and needed to be renovated. The hotels entertainment was only for a specific targeted group. In overall it was not a bad hotel to stay in but it does not meet with the requirements of a 4 star hotel and that's something that the management should think about. The stuff was willing to provide the services but were not able to, because there was too few of them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Constantinos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to give us your personal opinion for your stay at our hotel of last August (2013) , which by the way is the busiest month of the year. We appreciate your comments and we will by all means take action on your constructive criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It is good but It has to be better. In 1981 was one of the best hotels in the island. Since then very little has been done. When we visited the hotel in 2007 we were given the impression of abandonment. This time was better. Some efforts have been made to improve the whole idea. The entertainment during dinner time till late was a very good effort. The reception staff were friendly and smiling but not all efficient. The waiters were running and trying very hard to serve and satisfy the customers. No toiletries in the bathroom. Carpets in the rooms have to be replaced with laminate or similar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
2 Thank MARIA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your nice words, describing our hotel how you saw it and experience it during your stay with us last summer.

We will also continue to improve and run our hotel in the highest possible standards and our goal is to keep the Forest Park to its glorious days and good name.

We look forward of welcoming you and your family once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Once again we just spent two lovely nights at the Forest Park in Pano Platres. It was cool up there in the Troodos mountains and the magnificent clear water swimming pool had shade around it at all times. It was busy on the Sunday evening with many local Cypriots, but much quieter Monday and through tuesday. The owners are great, caring people who remember you. The room was spotless and the balcony a pleasant place and the dining room offered an excellent selection of food. My favourite meal there is breakfast out on the patio. There was Greek music and dancing on the sunday night as well. Sadly we had to come back to reality and work and the "warmth" of Nicosia. We will be back, Forest Park. We will have another anniversary next year, God willing. I turned my mobile (cell phone) off and the world did not come to an end and I only went online once and that was really unnecessary.

Room Tip: Both old and new wings are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyprusdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your nice words, describing our hotel how you saw it and experience it during your stay with us this year. We look forward of welcoming you and your family once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I am wondering if I am now reviewing the same hotel as our experience differs quite a lot from some of the previous comments.
We have spent the last week at the Forest park and enjoyed every minute. The only thing we felt could have given it 100% (instead of 99.8%) was to supply tea/coffee making facilities in the room. It is full of charm and history - it has been there for over 75 years and has had some famous guests such as Daphne du Maurier.
We had room 619. It was spotlessly clean, with a well equipped bathroom. The bed was comfortable. Linen was spotless and crisp and lovely thick white towels - they even supplied a towel for use at the pool.
We had stunning views from our large balcony over the beautiful grounds which were very well maintained.
The pool area was very clean and well shaded if required.
We had a very good daily breakfast which set us up for the day. We didn't try the main evening meal, although did eat 3 times from the all day menu and the food was very good.
We had absolutely no complaints about the staff, they all very happily saw to our needs and the owner was always around and offered guidance on local sights to see.
They do now have free Wi-Fi in the dining and pool bar areas. You can get the password from the reception. However they do limit is to 3 hours at a time which is more than adequate I felt.
The hotel itself is in a good location within easy walking distance of the centre of Pano Platres where there are some good tavernas and a few shops, including a supermarket, post office and a good tourist information place.
We will almost certainly be re-visiting this hotel. I suspect that maybe parts of the hotel which are older, may not be to such a high standard. Maybe those that have written the poorer reviews stayed in these rooms, which may also be cheaper. We booked through Booking,com and paid 104euros per night for B&B.
When we booked we had the last room, but the hotel never seemed overcrowded and the rooms seemed well sound-proofed (or we just had very quiet neighbours!)
We did not visit the fitness area (walking to the waterfalls was enough exercise thank you!), or use room service, hence the average score on those. Although we did look at the indoor pool which looked fab.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackiechaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPHHotelManager, Director of Sales at Forest Park Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear esteemed client .First of all we would like to thank you ever so much for taking the time to write your comments and opinion in such a positive way. Criticism like yours, can only encourage us , in order to continue what we are doing and also to improve even further our standards and facilities . Once again we thank you and we look forward in welcoming you and your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platres
0.6 mi away
New Helvetia
New Helvetia
#4 of 5 in Platres
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semiramis Hotel
Semiramis Hotel
#1 of 5 in Platres
109 reviews
2.6 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Hotel
Edelweiss Hotel
#5 of 5 in Platres
48 reviews
5.7 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spring Hotel
Spring Hotel
#3 of 5 in Platres
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Property: Forest Park Hotel
Address: PO Box 59018, Platres 4820, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Platres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Platres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forest Park Hotel is an imposing building standing in its delightful grounds in the fringe of the pine forest. The striking panoramas over mountain and sea are a never - failing pleasure to the eye.The Forest Park Hotel has a style of its own. It is located deep in the heart of the Troodos woodland yet only 35 minutes from the wonderful beaches and Mediterranean Sea.It's the only four star hotel in the area and has 137 comfortable relaxing rooms including 7 chalet suites. All with private bathroom, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe deposit box, telephone with possibility of internet connection, radio, satellite TV channels, air conditioning, central heating, and breath-taking scenery views, balcony or terrace for a happy and relaxing holiday.It also offers big Lounges - 3 restaurants, 2 Bars, a library, extra-large TV screen, Tennis Court, Table tennis, games room, sauna, Jacuzzi, Breakfast Terrace, Gardens, Heated indoor and outdoor swimming Pools.Good facilities for business meetings, Conferences and Banquets with always a warm welcoming smile. The hotel has also installed Wi-Fi connection in most public areas.The Forest Park is still family run which may explain its charm and excellent standards of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Platres
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Cyprus/Platres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing