We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mountain Hotel”
Review of New Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Helvetia
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Platres
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Mountain Hotel”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

An overall excellent experience as always. My kids love it when we go there and they always ask when we will come again. Relaxing, friendly, clean, wonderful views, good food. It is definitely a place that rejuvenates you and puts your mind at peace.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    28
    14
    7
    17
See reviews for
33
42
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A place to remember . nice food , top location especialy for hiking and biking. The family who owns the hotel is very helpfull and hospitable . A small family hotel to recomend for relaxing holidays .Nice rooms and tastfully decorated

Room Tip: room 27 with the big balcony over the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Dıd you know that Cyprus has mountaıns? I dıdn't untıl a frıend spoke to me about ıt, and recommended that I spend 3 nıghts out of a week long vısıt ın Platres, and the New Helvetıa hotel. A fantastıc experıence, as the hotel was excellent, clean, good food, and a homely atmosphere, wıth the owners, attendıng to everythıng we requıred. Hıghly recommended. From Platres, one can engage ın many treckıng trıps, or even vısıt by car the other mountaın resorts of Troodos, Kakopetrıa, Omodos, and Prodromos.

Room Tip: The Maısonette
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

fantastic ambience, almost a feel of being in the Swiss Alps, peaceful and warm with great access to trekking and walking paths through the dense forest surrounding the hotel. plus you can have a nice stroll down to the village

Room Tip: lovely maisonette rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our holidays lasted 1 week and the location was perfect as we had the chance to visit places all around the island. We enjoyed walking around the nature trails which are just 100 metres from the entrance of the hotel. The family/ owners are really friendly, rooms are comfortable and very clean. I specially recommend the restaurant and bar for relaxing and tasty dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Perfect location with great view of the mountains,we were staying in the new rooms of the hotel that had in build balcony and it was very comfortable also the service and the food was awesome and the managers were very friendly and helpful i would recommend it for a relaxing vacation with friends or family

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panayiotismavrikiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This friendly family run "olde worldy" hotel is easily found just off the main Troodos highway, located in a beautiful secluded spot amongst the 200 year old pine trees.
Ideal for a quiet and peaceful holiday and easily accessible for the Troodos.
My wife and I enjoyed our short stay immensely, good food, good service, generally very clean throughout, nice pleasant room though the bathroom fittings left us a little bewildered, but to us this just added to the homely feel of the Hotel, taking us back in time quite a few years.
We would when in the area again, have no hesitation in staying at this Hotel.

Dennis & Karen - Mature Couple - Paphos

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platres
0.6 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Platres
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Semiramis Hotel
Semiramis Hotel
#1 of 5 in Platres
111 reviews
5.6 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Health Habitat and Slimming Resort
7.2 mi away
Casale Panayiotis
Casale Panayiotis
#1 of 1 in Kalopanagiotis
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Helvetia

Property: New Helvetia
Address: Helvetia Street 6, Platres 4820, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Platres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Platres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookcyprus.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Platres
New Helvetia Platres
New Helvetia Cyprus/Platres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing