We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nescafe coffee and settling the bill”
Review of Edelweiss Hotel

Edelweiss Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edelweiss Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Platres
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nescafe coffee and settling the bill”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

As the hotel offers breakfast, lunch and dinner my mother (83) asked for coffee and a chocolate cake on our first evening there (at about 6:00 p.m.), but got hot chocolate and a cup of hot water together with prepacked soluble nescafe coffee instead. When we stated our surprise about this coffee we were asked: "Don´t you know nescafe? That is a world wide known brand."
We paid the bill for two nights at our arrival receiving a receipt only after we explicitly asked for it. The manager didn´t see any need for it because "We all are a big family." When we left two days later in the morning we were handed another bill for two nights by the lady at the reception who insisted that we had not paid yet. She didn´t even believe us when we showed here the receipt, but phoned the manager instead obviously assuming that we had forged the bill. When he confirmed that we really had paid already she took the room key we had handed her without a comment, bothering neither to apologize nor even say good by. I have never encountered behaviour like this in any hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Hemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

An excellent hotel
Excellent cyprus food and very clean , also great reception from Mr. George and the family.
Also excellent view of the mountain
To summarize just excellent

From the hotel you can have a trip by oasis rent car to go to a lot of sightseeing (kikos,platres,trodos)
Also near the hotel there is a nice walk in the forest and also there is a nice town.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherif R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paralimni, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

George and Penny made us feel as though we were their own family, we have 2 dogs and this is the only hotel locally that will accept them.Breakfast was typical Cypriot but the home made Kleftico and Mousakka was fantastic, the bar area is very welcoming with large tv and comfy chairs. Outside the front of the hotel is wonderfull for just letting the world go by.Can't wait to go again thanks very much George and Penny for a lovely weekend away

Room Tip: Room 18 perfectly positioned if you are taking your dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyprusWolvesSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Loved the view from room 26, mountains, trees and sunshine! George and his wife very friendly. Breakfast the usual Cypriot style eggs bread cheese ham etc. lovely Austrian style restaurant room. Good recommendation from George for skylight restaurant in town. Only one plug socket in room but everything else fine. Platres is very quiet on Sunday evenings, eat early !

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shulm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I staid one night, but it made the difference. The hotel is nice, quiet and cozy. The living room down stairs has a small bar and a large TV.
The rooms are very conformable and I think all of them have air conditioner.
Don't look that it has only 2 stars, in my opinion should have 3 stars.
The owner is very nice.
It was a very nice experience to have in the beautiful mountains of Troodos.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I couldnt wait to get out of there...and the receptionist made it easier. He was so rude, that I couldnt believe that there are people with such bad behavior. espesially when we asked for the bill. It was overpriced
The smell of the hotel in the hallways was terrible, but that wasnt the worst. The smell of the bathrooms was repulsive.
Even though it was at Christmas time, the lobby smelled anything but turkey or wine. It smelled like somebody was frying in bad oil.
On top of that some of the guests were very slutty and fortunately we didnt have children with us.
I couldnt wait to get out of there and promise to myself that I will never return

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitor1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Platres hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Larnaka City, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2012

First time at the Edelweiss where I stayed for two nights in November 2012 with my wife for a conference we had here in Platres. There is absolutely nothing wrong with the place if you want a nice quiet, relaxing and warm stay. It was very clean and comfortable with a relaxing atmosphere and the owners are very friendly when you get talking with them. I just don’t understand how anyone can write something bad about this place and say that it was cold and dirty which is far from the truth we witnessed. We found the exact opposite that it was very warm with the central heating being on and it was very clean everywhere. As for the food, the breakfast was good with all that one requires for a breakfast. You can serve yourself serials with milk and the staff bring the rest to your table. We also heard that the dinner is very good and they do a fantastic trout with a really good special sauce. Although we never had dinner there because we were with a group who had already arranged elsewhere but would certainly try it next time. I would definitely stay here again without any doubts.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisisCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platres
0.0 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Platres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Helvetia
New Helvetia
#4 of 5 in Platres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semiramis Hotel
Semiramis Hotel
#1 of 5 in Platres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.7 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ekali Hotel
Ekali Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakopetria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Hotel

Property: Edelweiss Hotel
Address: Spyrou Kyprianou Str. 53, Platres 4820, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Platres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Platres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Edelweiss Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edelweiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Platres
Edelweiss Hotel Cyprus/Platres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing