We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a beautiful location....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Akamanthea Holiday Village
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have had many stays in this hotel over the last 2 years. The hotel staff are very friendly and although relatively small hotel, the presence of all 8 children in our party is never a problem. There are 2 outdoor pools one of which is a childrens' pool, shallow enough for my 2 year old to learn to swim in without any swimming aids whilst being able to touch the bottom. He loved it!
the food is okay. Not really good, not really bad, just okay, but you get what you pay for and i definitely can't complain. There is also a pool side snack menu which is perfect for children's early teas.
The grounds are beautiful and the view over the fields to the sea is spectacular. The walk into Latchi harbour only takes about 15 minutes across the field and then along the coast path.
If you get a good deal then don't hesitate on booking :0)

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goolia08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

We spent a week at the Akamanthea and actually really enjoyed it but only really because we had hired a car which meant we could escape from the 'relax club' madness. In typical British ironic fashion, by the end of the week we actually started to find it funny. When you are trying to relax by the pool and some employee is blasting 'todays fun activities' information in Polish at full volume what else can you do but laugh. Our highlight probably was trying to stare down the bizarre Yoga class which took place at breakfast time, right in front of our balcony. Try keeping your muesli down to that! It was a bit like being stuck in an 80's sitcom - highly entertaining but not necessarily for everyone.

The room itself was OK and no complaints about the cleaners but the beds were awful. We complained after the first night and whilst the receptionist made a 'note', they did nothing. I slept on the sofa bed all week which was marginally better. This is not 4 star by anyone's normal standards. We did eat in the restaurant twice but on one occasion the waitress could not hide her surprise at the fact we thought the food was 'alright'. The taverna at the end of the road is great and a better alternative than all inclusive.

Northern Cyprus is great and Latchi is a nice place - if you want to try scuba diving - latchi watersports are the people to do it with. i am hooked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank loobie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked via Travel Republic & upon arrival on Friday were told there was no such booking even though we had the documentation. We were asked to wait & supplied with a free drink for an hour whilst they found us an apartment, where we could only stay for the night & would be allocated another room on Saturday. As we were only staying for 3 nights to celebrate my husbands birthday & it was inconventient to say the least.
We were not provided with a kettle to make tea & upon going to reception was told it had a 10 euro deposit, but they omitted to give us an adaptor plug..Back I went to reception, only to find they had all been handed out, yet the apartment was supplied with a rather super dishwasher, washing machine, cake mixer & blender, but no kettle (as apparently they get stolen & no adaptor). Luckily I had an adaptor for my mobile phone connection with me.
The following morning the maid arrived early to clean the room in readiness for the new occupants so I went to reception & was told that we were being given a better apartment. It was in fact a two bedroomed bungalow with glorious views to the sea & mountains & blissfully quiet. We took our kettle with us & found that the bungalow already had one (seems that folk who book a 2 bed are less likely to steal!!).
Fortunately we were booked on a self catering basis & had our own car but without one the location is poor but the views are excellent. Anybody arriving without transport would find the walk to the nearest shop for provisions a trek & there are no restaurants in the vacinity. The complex's restaurant & pool area was completley taken over by Polish families & an animation team so if you want a quiet read by the pool during the day forget it, & at night the music was deafening, although it did stop at around 11pm.
Our bungalow was far enough away from all of this to make it a pleasurable stay once we got settled.
You really do need transport otherwise you can not get to the wonderful Baths of Aphrodite & it's brilliant & inexpensive restaurant, with superb views, or in to Polis. We had a wonderful meal at the Mikis Tavern (tel 26321586) in Polis Square. A huge & well grilled Sword fish steak costs under 9 euros, grilled Snapper at 10.5 euros & a carafe of the local red under 7 euros. Excellent service at both places.
Meanwhile back at the accommodation, the receptionists, maids & waitresses were helpful & the complex is lucky to have them.....The gardens are immaculate but much of them are not accessible as the sunbeds around the pool prevent you from wandering past them to the fields & sea beyond, unless you try to squeeze past the occupants who are not really wanting to move to make this possible.
When i ventured in to the pool I had to try & swim between the aerobic lessons & conger eel team!!!!!.
We are generally non-whinging Brits who live in Larnaca, Cyprus, so thankfully could be home withing 2.5 hours. So remember, you will need transport to get the best from Latchi/Polis & an adaptor plug & ask for rooms 127, 128, 129, 130...........

Room Tip: We had 127 & it was very nice & faced north east which was good as the sun went off of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just returned from a week stay at the Akamanthea. I stayed here a few years ago and was so impressed i suggested a return visit with my partner and three year old son. What a mistake! I'll start with the room, we were given room 229 which is a one bedroom apartment. We only had one chair on our balcony so i asked the receptionist for two further chairs and a table (as every other apartment had this) i was told if it was possible they would do this. Thought this was a bit off as we paid the same as everyone else. Anyway we were given one the next day and when my partner sat on the chair it collapsed! I started to wonder if this was faulty towers!!!
We paid 42 euros for air con that literally poured water out which my little boy went flying on, we complained and were assured someone would fix it but all they did was turn it right down so it didn't pour water out, but it didn't cool the room either!
The hotel information states that depending on your tour company (we booked with on the beach) towels were changed 2-3 times a week ours were changed once which was a nightmare considering we had to use lots of them to put under the leaking air con!
There is no way you could call this a self catering apartment either, only one of the two hobs worked, there were hardly any utensils, no toaster, kettle etc and there were ants everywhere. I would advise people to put everything possible in the fridge!
The maid service was dire too i think they swept and moped the floor and that was it. And the beds were rock hard, the bed settee my son slept on had a massive groove down the middle of it.
The pool area however was lovely until the 'relax club' turned up and blasted out dodgy music and started the activities for all the Polish visitors. This hotel is for the polish with only a few British visitors. All the activities, kids club etc is delivered by Polish for the polish it was like stepping back into the 80's. When did speedo's come back in?! They were all pretty rude to be honest, i felt sorry for the bar staff working so hard while the 'relax' staff sat around. They put towels out early, stole parasol's from people etc, very sad but nothing could match the lows of the dance the reps did just before they all buggered off for lunch which coincidentally was the nicest quietest time of the day for us!
This really could be a lovely hotel with some money spent sorting the rooms out and maybe less of the dodgy entertainment. The area is amazing Polis and Latchi are so nice the places to eat in Polis are amazing, so friendly and great with kids too. Will come back to this area but not to this hotel!

Room Tip: Don't get room 229!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just returned from a week stay at the Akamanthea again 4th stay and I must say I was a llittle disappointed on this occasion, the room itself was again adequate for our needs, we were warned at the airport there was a large Polish contingent which didnt initially phase us, unfortunately it was very evident once there, the entertainment was for the Polish and the announcements were in Polish, the kids club was for the Polish we were segregated villa wise from the Polish so all in all everything was geared up for them and when I mentioned it to the owner was told "sign of the times!" well I paid my money too, maybe this was the fault of the tour operator Olympic who you saw if you wanted for an hour in the morning, I must say the Polish entertainers were very well set up and I am not too bothered about joining in, but even the music that entertained their aqaurobics, waterpolo etc was Polish about 4 English songs which because you didnt understand their commentary suddenly boomed out in total, I feel next year we wont be welcome there at all, which is sad because the Akamanthea was a very nice village

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Having read two very poor reviews before we left we were concerned at what we would get. All I can say is there is no need to worry, those who left the poor reviews must have been somewhere else. We stayed in a two bedroom appartment, air conditioning was included, it was spotlessly clean with both a dishwasher and a washing machine in the well furnished kitchen. There could have been more utensils, we had to buy a bread kinife and a few mugs (although there were plenty of cups) but hardly a big problem. The rooms were cleaned every day except Sunday and toilet paper and soap were stocked up daily, towels were changed every 3 days, quite normal for a resort hotel. The staff were very effecient and helpful and while the entertainment was not for us it was not obtusive if you didn't want to join in. We stayed S/C and went out each night, both Polis and Latsi are within easy reach with plenty of good taverns although I am glad we had a car for the two weeks as it would have been a long walk perhaps 20 to 30 mins.
A great holiday and a lovely hotel I would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonB416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Great value for money.The pool was great and the facilities like tennis court,spa center and volleyball court awesome!!Its something between sea and mountain with a great view of your choice!!!Good breakfast and the staff professionals!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leftos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polis
0.9 mi away
Mariela Hotel Apartments
1.3 mi away
Natura Beach Hotel
Natura Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Polis
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zening Resorts
Zening Resorts
#4 of 6 in Latchi
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Marion Hotel
The Marion Hotel
#12 of 14 in Polis
130 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Alkionest Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akamanthea Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akamanthea Holiday Village

Address: Venetiotissas Street, Polis 66301, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Price Range: £58 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akamanthea Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Akamanthea Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akamanthea Holiday Village Polis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing