We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“as long as you don't laugh .........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akamanthea Holiday Village
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Gainsborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“as long as you don't laugh .........”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We won a week's stay here and paid difference for two weeks because of the situation (near Polis). It was so quiet - all the guests sat quietly and read - it was just like a residential home. One man actually asked the bartender to turn the music down!
We laughed at the guest's morbid faces.
Once when we ordered a meal, we were told that it wasn't possible as the chef was in a bad mood and nobody dare approach him!
We often remember this place and laugh at the whole situation. Thank goodness it is near Polis where we spent most of the time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    71
    36
    22
    17
See reviews for
87
73
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After returning from a weeks stay at the Akamanthea I felt compelled to write a review of this complex. The accommodation consists of apartments. I stayed in a studio apartment, which although basic was clean with a two hob cooking facility and microwave along with a large fridge and dishwasher. There was also a basic selection of crockery and cooking utensils. The maid service was adequate but the bed was not the most comfortable.

I stayed in a ground floor apartment, which had a patio leading onto a garden area with a sea view, which was very pleasant. The hotel pool was a reasonable size and nice. Sun beds were situated around the pool and there seemed to be plenty to go around although the hotel did not appear to be particularly full at the time of my stay. The hotel did not offer a pool towel service.

I had booked the all inclusive option at the hotel and unfortunately the most disappointing aspect of this holiday was the food offered by the hotel. The restaurant was not particularly large and it seemed as though the all inclusive food had been added as an afterthought to a complex which was previously intended for self catering apartments. The food selection was poor, there were a couple of salad trays and generally a couple of different options for main course and a dessert on offer. The poor selection may not have been an issue if what was offered was good quality, however sadly, this was not the case and much of the food bordered on inedible. The food was not labelled and if you are a vegetarian or have any dietary requirements this hotel is not for you. After a couple of days we gave up and decided to eat outside the hotel.

The drinks available within the all inclusive menu were good save the basic wine choice of white or red and cocktails were available within the all inclusive menu. However, other beers, wines, and imported wines did not seem to be available even at additional charge which has been the case at other all inclusive resorts I have stayed at.

The hotel is situated directly in between Polis and Latchi, about a mile away from each. We felt that the walk was a little too far in the heat and opted to hire a car. There is a supermarket about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and a Chinese restaurant at the end of the road if you turn right on exiting the hotel. I can recommend the Chinese restaurant and Finnikas situated in the main square in Polis. Polis itself is a nice unspoilt Cypriot village with a few places to eat and drink with a good atmosphere and friendly locals. It is not for those seeking louder nightlife.

The hotel guests seemed to be 98% Polish and the food and entertainment catered exclusively for Polish tastes. All of the entertainment was in Polish with no English option offered. We do not usually participate with the entertainment but if it is an important part of your holiday be aware that you need to speak good Polish to join in.

I am surprised that this holiday resort carried a 4* rating. I have stayed at other hotels on the main hotel strip in Paphos which also carried a 4* rating and the difference in the standard of accommodation and in particular the food is so large it can only be described as a chasm.

I would return to this area of Cyprus but would not return to this resort. There is alternative self catering accommodation available closer into Polis or Latchi and the choice and quality of the food are such that I would not return for the all inclusive option.

Room Tip: Opt for accommodation closer to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Polis hotels

Darlington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

After reading some of the reviews for this complex i just had to write my own. A family of four adults staying here in 2011 and although the location is perfect for peace and quite etc it was dominated by the polish. I wonder if the polish have to pay extra for air con as we did.The food was terrible and badly catered for the english staying guests. was considering going back here this year but the reviews have just changed my mind as nothing has changed at all and i dont see how olympic holidays can advertise this in an english holiday brochure..

Room Tip: learn to speak polish
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quorndon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had previously been to Akamanthea about 6 years ago, so decide to return as it was lovely and peaceful. When we arrived the staff were very good and even though the restaurant had closed we were able to get a sandwich as we had arrived late in the evening. Our first day was spent by the pool, but we were unable to get a sunbed as they were all taken. After a while we noticed that we were the only English people there, everyone else was Polish. A few days later we did find another English family who told us that it was a exclusive all-inclusive Polish resort. We also had a leaflet offering us accommodation in Limasol for 5 nights free, which we found out later it was only the British people who had been offered this as they needed our rooms for more Polish families. The following week another English family arrived, but one of their party decided to kick at a door at 3 in the morning after they had been to a nightclub. The following night there was a fight between some of the English that had just arrived and the Police were called. Our view on our holiday was that we were glad to have hired a car and were able to get away from the awkward atmosphere there. We don't think we will be returning there, which a shamed as it is in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

very nice hotel, great staff, good location, great views, good food, very clean water in the pool, far from the city, perfect for real relax especially for families with kids, ideal place to rest, to meet new friends, very friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KubaiBeata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

the Akamanthea hotel has a great location, it's in the middle of the way between Latchi and Polis. It's situated on the hill, quit close to the beaches and sea.The rooms are fine, spacious, clean, with a/c and tv. The staff is great, very nice and very helpful. I can recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Episkopi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Akamanthea, hotel, is set in a fantastic location, its rooms are fine and clean, the staff friendly and the pool and facilities more than adequate. What makes this place one to remember is that the service from the management down is family friendly. If your looking for a place to enjoy being with your family, playing in the pool or grounds, walking to latchi or polis and enjoying the harbour then you would not go too far wrong than visiting the Akamanthea. The entertainment team made a great difference to the stay, with our young children loving every minute. What makes this hotel even more appealing to visit again is that because its geared to families, there's no problem from binge drinkers, no loud disturbances during the night, just great family entertainment that finishes around midnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeEpiskopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polis
1.6 mi away
Souli Beach Hotel
Souli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Latchi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Natura Beach Hotel
Natura Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Polis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Zening Resorts
Zening Resorts
#4 of 6 in Latchi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mariela Hotel Apartments
0.7 mi away
Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akamanthea Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akamanthea Holiday Village

Property: Akamanthea Holiday Village
Address: Venetiotissas Street, Polis 66301, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Akamanthea Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akamanthea Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akamanthea Holiday Village Polis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing