We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than satisfied but there are some catches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akamanthea Holiday Village
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Polis
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than satisfied but there are some catches”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Booking on Lastminute for a holiday in mid August, we were understandably a bit anxious that there was a high risk of being ripped off by top prices for a low range hotel. But Akamanthea more than saw off our anxieties and we were really pleased with our holiday here.
Other comments here are true - the main users here are Polish families, which was fine and we were particularly pleased to find that suggestions that the staff were willing to help out with a snack for late arrivals was true as we tested it when we arrived not far short of midnight and they happily sorted us out some sandwiches.
As mentioned elsewhere the Akamanthea is a bit isolated and the nearest small supermarket is 10 mins walk away. Whilst the beach is only 10 mins walk away, the shops, restaurants and water sport activities in Latchi are more like 20mins walk away. It's a nice walk along the beach front but in the hot Cyprus heat, it's a bit of a trek and not something to be taken on by the faint hearted, especially the walk home up the hill. There is no public transport to speak of and this was a bit of an issue for getting further afield. A cheap hire car was the only way to go really but even this was a bit restricted because the best places were only accessible by 4x4 vehicles and our little susuki Splash was no match for the rough tracks
So the hotel is in a quiet location and seemed to us to be orientated around families. Not a place for those looking for a busy nightlife.
We agree that the beds are a bit hard and the sofa bed not that comfortable either. But other than that we thought the rooms were good value, well equipped for self catering including a new dish washer and washing machine and for us in 217, a nice view both across to the sea from the balcony and the valley at the front.

Nice pool and grounds made the place feel even more comfortable. Usual strategies needed to get a sunbed and umbrella. Breakfast was fine, if a bit repetitive and unimaginative.

We found the staff warm and friendly. Special mention to Charlotte who helped get us orientate us, helped with booking a car and came and looked out for us to check things were ok several times throughout our stay. The hotel also had no problem with us leaving our bags with them and using their facilities after our check out until our late transfer to the airport (45 mins away).
The Gardner was a bit keen. He as up cutting the grass outside our villa at 8am on our first Sunday. But who can blame him since it was 38degrees by midday!
We didn't get involved in the activities programme. It was not our thing anyway but it looked a bit repetitive. There was plenty of great stuff for our teenage boys with Latchi Watersports - good quality English firm offering scuba diving and motorboat hire and other activities in Latchi plus there was a sports bar a few minutes further along the strip.

So in summary, we were not disappointed with our stay at Akamanthea and in fact were more than satisfied. If you want more than just lazy days by the pool you have to think through how you are going to get about, but don't let that be an issue unless you have small children or are infirm.
Would we stay here again? When we want another beach, swimming pool, lazy days with occasional bursts of adrenalin, hassle free holiday with guaranteed good weather and nice quiet scenery - absolutely yes.

Room Tip: Second floor apartments looking over sea were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    72
    36
    22
    17
See reviews for
89
74
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Fabulous!!!
Booked on late booking All inc',

Accommodation good for Cyprus/Greek, all very clean & well appointed.

Hotel grounds are lovely & pool area great, 5 min walk across farmers field to beach.

Staff are an absolute asset to the hotel & a compliment to the equally helpful owners.
Food was very good & varied with lots of it & choice all excellently presented; again my daughter is veggie & nothing was to much trouble, the very kind chef would even do special one off meals just for her; how good is that, that's service.

Local drinks are what you would expect from any resort hotel on All Inc'.

Although this village is predominately Polish, the "Itaxis" rep's/animation team are great!! They made us feel very welcome & although they organise daily entertainments, they are inviting but not pushy, these entertainments normally finished latest 11PM, so you could actually sleep as part of your vacation, hooray!!!

Thoroughly recommend this resort, well deserving of its good reports.

Would welcome the opportunity to return.



Latchi is great to visit & with a hire car their is lots to see & do.

Beaches on this NW coast are stoney/pebble but water is warmer & clearer than in south.

Room Tip: All good, with sea/country views, with the exception of those facing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicholas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

arrived in early hours of mon 28 july to small but on first glance clean and modern room went to bed to sleep as can only decribe on wood blocks and kids on pull out beds on 2 inch mattress so not the best sleep however breakfast was good and has nice pool area /restaurant .found the bar /restaurant /entertainer staff hardworking friendly polite.this is mainly a polish holiday villiage so enterainment is in polish and this hotel is not really near much however ok for just a chill at the pool holiday but this brings me to the last day of our holiday we had booked this holiday on the all inclusive basis and had been ok food was nicely cooked and plentiful but of corse geared for polish guests after checking out of our room we went for lunch went for drinks got refused them we asked why was told only entitled to lunch as our all inclusive had finished this was at one in afternoon we were not getting picked up till 9 that eve to travel back to uk so went to reception to seek advise on this and was told that are ai package starts from the day we travelled on so i then said we did not arrive till the monday morning but that didnt matter i was talking to the scottish woman and another woman who was obviously listening jumped up and cut my ai wristband off my wrist i coudnt believe what she had done how very rude i was furious felt like i was being treat like a hardened criminal i was only asking for explaination as we basically still had most of this day left so basically ai doesnt mean for full holiday we were offered to buy a card to continue to eat and drink for the rest of day but after that woman so rudely done that just wanted to get out the place at no time in booking the ai package checking in or out or advise from a lady at the hotel told us what time the ai finished but they said the would inform any british guests in future so good them but they made no attempt to move the goal posts for us even after what that rude woman had done earlier when i mentioned that i was just told she didnt understand me but i think not judging how quick she jumped up to cut the wristband off so anyone who is interested in going here and traveling from uk remember the ai package starts the day you travel not the day you arrive at this hotel goodluck

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Polis hotels

Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked last minute due to passport issues, we were offered this resort on an AI basis from our local airport.

On arrival I cannot fault the service and fun we had here. Staff were great, great for kids, good location that is not too in the mix but close enough to walk or short bus ride. 40 min transfer from the airport.... A really good holiday.

We arrived late but I had emailed to ask for a bite to eat nod a drink.... All was done and in our room...

The room was clean and had stunning views of the mountains and sea with a veranda that accessed a small grass area I front that was great for the children to vent a little fun.

The hotel itself is clean and well kept with good sports facilities... Volley ball, tennis, table tennis, indoor pool and two out, small basic gym, basket ball nets, table tennis, pool and a great kids club with great staff that connect with the children immediately.

The food..... Great and if anyone says other they are wrong. If you want engish food in an english pub with the english 'air' then stay in England but if you are happy to try other cultures, taste other foods and welcome experiences then go here. As with all AI a lot is re moulded to be used the following day but that is business and to survive at reasonable costs it's a must.

The staff were great with fun to be had most dats, constant activities that are not pushed on you but you are made welcome if you so desire. The waiting and bar staff are great, quick to get to know you and make the whole experience a friendly one.

I will return to here and only hope the standards continue and if so we will be back again and again.

If I can recommend anything I have 3 comments

1 softer mattresses

2 padding for the patio chairs, not a must but nice...

3 Departure room, we were kindly given the use of a room as we flew late but our room was needed but this is not a standard, it made a great difference!! Just a thought but if you could make this a standard, one room, used by multiple families on a pre booked basis it is nice.


A GREAT HOLIDAY

Please feel free to contact me for info.

Room Tip: Book one! But for good sleep try to get one opposite the reception as scooby do and other great acti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A very elegant Hotel in a peaceful and beautiful location. We thought the food was great, plenty of variety and many choices for children. Restaurant staff polite and the apartment well equipped, only thing to improve would be softer beds.Would highly recommend the Akamanthea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We won a week's stay here and paid difference for two weeks because of the situation (near Polis). It was so quiet - all the guests sat quietly and read - it was just like a residential home. One man actually asked the bartender to turn the music down!
We laughed at the guest's morbid faces.
Once when we ordered a meal, we were told that it wasn't possible as the chef was in a bad mood and nobody dare approach him!
We often remember this place and laugh at the whole situation. Thank goodness it is near Polis where we spent most of the time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

After returning from a weeks stay at the Akamanthea I felt compelled to write a review of this complex. The accommodation consists of apartments. I stayed in a studio apartment, which although basic was clean with a two hob cooking facility and microwave along with a large fridge and dishwasher. There was also a basic selection of crockery and cooking utensils. The maid service was adequate but the bed was not the most comfortable.

I stayed in a ground floor apartment, which had a patio leading onto a garden area with a sea view, which was very pleasant. The hotel pool was a reasonable size and nice. Sun beds were situated around the pool and there seemed to be plenty to go around although the hotel did not appear to be particularly full at the time of my stay. The hotel did not offer a pool towel service.

I had booked the all inclusive option at the hotel and unfortunately the most disappointing aspect of this holiday was the food offered by the hotel. The restaurant was not particularly large and it seemed as though the all inclusive food had been added as an afterthought to a complex which was previously intended for self catering apartments. The food selection was poor, there were a couple of salad trays and generally a couple of different options for main course and a dessert on offer. The poor selection may not have been an issue if what was offered was good quality, however sadly, this was not the case and much of the food bordered on inedible. The food was not labelled and if you are a vegetarian or have any dietary requirements this hotel is not for you. After a couple of days we gave up and decided to eat outside the hotel.

The drinks available within the all inclusive menu were good save the basic wine choice of white or red and cocktails were available within the all inclusive menu. However, other beers, wines, and imported wines did not seem to be available even at additional charge which has been the case at other all inclusive resorts I have stayed at.

The hotel is situated directly in between Polis and Latchi, about a mile away from each. We felt that the walk was a little too far in the heat and opted to hire a car. There is a supermarket about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and a Chinese restaurant at the end of the road if you turn right on exiting the hotel. I can recommend the Chinese restaurant and Finnikas situated in the main square in Polis. Polis itself is a nice unspoilt Cypriot village with a few places to eat and drink with a good atmosphere and friendly locals. It is not for those seeking louder nightlife.

The hotel guests seemed to be 98% Polish and the food and entertainment catered exclusively for Polish tastes. All of the entertainment was in Polish with no English option offered. We do not usually participate with the entertainment but if it is an important part of your holiday be aware that you need to speak good Polish to join in.

I am surprised that this holiday resort carried a 4* rating. I have stayed at other hotels on the main hotel strip in Paphos which also carried a 4* rating and the difference in the standard of accommodation and in particular the food is so large it can only be described as a chasm.

I would return to this area of Cyprus but would not return to this resort. There is alternative self catering accommodation available closer into Polis or Latchi and the choice and quality of the food are such that I would not return for the all inclusive option.

Room Tip: Opt for accommodation closer to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polis
0.8 mi away
Zening Resorts
Zening Resorts
#4 of 6 in Latchi
461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Natura Beach Hotel
Natura Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Polis
283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mariela Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Souli Beach Hotel
Souli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Latchi
329 reviews
18.0 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#40 of 85 in Paphos
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akamanthea Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akamanthea Holiday Village

Property: Akamanthea Holiday Village
Address: Venetiotissas Street, Polis 66301, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Akamanthea Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Akamanthea Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akamanthea Holiday Village Polis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing