We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, away from it all - just what we were after”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akamanthea Holiday Village
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We booked the hotel through Olympic as a late deal and got a good discount, which made the hotel a good value all inclusive break for a week compared to the rest of the Cypriot hotels offering all inclusive. We wanted to chill out by a nice pool and not have to think about dipping in to our pocket / purse during our stay.

The location for us was perfect i.e. it was set in a quiet, picturesque location - it did not matter what was or was not near by because we only left the complex twice to walk to the local shop 5 minutes away. When we sat on our patio it was so peaceful and relaxing and we had a lovely view.

Check in at reception was very good - friendly and painless, and we were shown to our suite by the receptionist (English expat living in Cyprus) which was a very nice touch. We had up-graded to a suite as a bit of a treat and we were pleased with the modern fitted apartment which as previously described was well appointed. However, we had a few niggles e.g. we had three large cockroaches which we had to exterminate, and there was obviously a leak somewhere in the water system which seemed to be the cause of a millipede infestation so each day we did our extermination task. This did not bother us particularly because we are seaoned travellers but could put off more squemish people. We did of course report the problem to reception and hopefully the matter has been taken care of. I aslo was not happy with my bed mattress which was lumpy and needed replacing, although my wife had 7 excellent nights sleep, and I was able to sleep on the sofa bed in the living room so was OK - again, problem reported to reception. As it was so hot whilst we werfe there we needed to use the air conditioning for which there was a local charge of €6 per day, which we though was OK and it was very effective. We must confess we watched some TV and were (sadly) delighted to find we had BBC 1 and 2 and ITV.

We found the all inclusive food OK, though not brilliant. We are not fussy eaters so we always found something to satisfy our appetite, although lunch was generaly better than the evening meal. Breakfast was fine. There were times when the buffet dishes were empty and we had to ask for replenishments, but this was no problem for the staff to dela with. The salad choice was limited and could have done with a meat / seafood accompaniment - this only happened on one night when prawns were included and this made a very nice change.

The seating in the dining room was padded but as we like to sit outside and eat we were disappointed that the seats on the dining veranda were wooden and uncomfortable. We ate most of the time down by the pool bar but these seats although canvas were not that much more comfortable.

The pool is very nice, a single depth of about 4 feet and a nice long stretch for a good swim. It was never busy and our 7 days lying by the pool was absolute bliss - especially as the pool bar was close at hand and the unlimited soft drinks, slush puppies, beer and cocktails were a pleasure. I got addicted to the cappucino slush puppies and my wife (and I) had more brandy sours than we can remember. We both participated in the daily aquaerobics at 11.00 with Reka and this was good fun. The evening entertainment was simple and was not overpowering so it gave us plenty of opportunity to converse with the mainly british holiday makers over a few drinks - very pleasant and relaxing evenings.

There was never much of a wait for the bar, and the staff were very attentive although the newer members needed more training on how to mix the cocktails, but this was amusing rather than irritating.

All in all a good holiday which we enjoyed. We have given an overall average score which takes into account everything above, the good and the not so good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Royalpalmbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Akamanthea Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2010

Came for 2 weeks and stayed in a 2 bed suite - the room was as per the previous review from Phil - excellent and we were all inclusive so didn't need to use anything apart from the fridge freezer in order go store bottled water and managed to do all washing in the washing machine before coming home which was great. It was more like a semi detached bungalow with lovely views across to the sea.

My main concern was regarding the towel/linen change. Now I don't expect a clean towel or sheets every day but by the time I'd got to the 8th day - they hadn't been changed. In fact what the cleaners had done was to remove the towel from my room and fold it up and put it back in the bathroom on the rail. I knew this as there was a mark on my towel that I noticed when I used it. So by the 8th day we decided to put our towels in the bath in order to get clean ones. Not very happy to return from a full day at the waterpark to no towels. When asked at reception we received 5 hand towels which obviously wasn't good enough. The receptionist did track down two towels but I declined as I needed five (lucky for the lady behind me who did need two towels herself!) Upon speaking to the manager we were told we would have to wait until the tumble drier had finished it's cycle.

Luke was excellent. He did apologise (as did the other manager) and informed me that a meeting was being held with all housekeepers so for me - as long as the situation does not arise for any future guests - I will be happy and there is now a notice up in reception stating that towels will be changed every 3 days.

It is a lovely place to stay to relax and although you could walk into Latchi - in the heat I wasn't even going to attempt it so decided to stay by the pool.

The food was acceptable although I know that other guests were not happy with it.

The indoor pool was never open, the outside pool could have done with litter being collected at the end of the day that had accumulated around the pool (although I cannot see what the problem is with guests themselves removing their own rubbish and I don't understand why apple cores were thrown on the grass area behind the sunbeds?!). There was a couple of instances where towels were reserved from 8:30am and guests didn't return from their day out until 4:40pm. On one occasion there were 26 towels on sunbeds but only 3 people on them! Maybe a "no towel reserve" policy would help.

Some of the bar staff were obviously in early training but I guess we all have to learn some time.

Wasn't expecting a kids club but Reka was fantastic. She also hosted the evening entertainment - the usual of bingo, greek dancing etc and aqua aerobics.

All in all a very nice holiday and for the price we paid you can't really grumble. I probably wouldn't stay at the Akamanthea again though as I prefer self catering and the area is remote regarding restaurants - unless of course you walk to Latchi.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveCyprus95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed here from 5 - 19th June 2010, booked through Olympic Holidays.
Although the inbound flight was into Larnaca, the 2 hour trip was not too bad, and was included in the price. We had a Junior suite, with 1 bedroom, sea view, washing machine, dishwasher, hob, oven, microwave, iron, ironing board, 2 x TVs (1 x 32'' FST), PS2, all this and we were all inclusive!
With a good variety of menus for breakfast, lunch & evening meal, together with snacks & drinks in between, what more could you really expect.
Arrival at the hotel was seamless; check-in, shown to your room, local maps provided.
The staff here are so friendly, helpful and obliging, and my goodness they work so hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
The complex is kept spotless at all times, both inside and out. The outdoor pool is cleaned daily,as is the indoor pool, gym, sauna and jacuzzi.
The entertainment on a daily basis was organised by Reka, who puts her heart and soul into it, looking after both adults and running the daily Kids' Club.
Running the complex in a super-efficient manner is Luke, who is charm personified. Ask him for anything within reason and he will do his utmost to oblige.
If you are looking for a holiday to chill, away from noisy clubs and bars, then you cannot get much better than the Akamanthea. Read the other reviews, there are no bad ones.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philthekwacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Am just back from a 2wk stay at these lovely apartments. We booked last minute and were a bit hesitant about what we would find but thankfully we were very impressed. Akamanthea is set in a quieter area of cyprus so if you want to party you don't want to go here. We found it to be just wonderful. Our rooms were clean and above average (it had 2 ring hob, no oven, teapot, pots and pans) - not 4 star but then the superior rooms seemed to be fabulous looking. The pool area has a snack bar which is good for lunch and the blue slush puppies are a great way to cool off mid afternoon! There is a no claiming of bed with towels policy that we greatly appreciated - unfortunately some people ignored this but management did remove them in one instance! A car is very valuable if you don't want to get buses or taxis. Walking is a possiblity but Cyprus is hot - so if you want to get to a restaurant looking half decent our advice is dont walk!! All in all we had a lovely time in this well appointed complex and would have no hesitations in going back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We have just returned from this lovely hotel and as previous comment a week is not enough. We usually go to Greece for one week a year and this is now on our list of places to return to.
We booked through Olympia a week before we left and after looking at other reviews and checking online sites i was a bit concerned that we would be miles from anywhere but that is not the case. On arrival we picked up a hire car - paid for fiesta online but had a focus so more space and the drive (thankfully the rep gave us directions) was fine albeit at 1am in pitch black, but we found it no problem and in fact glad we had the car for the week as we drove to places/beaches that we would not have walked to. On arrival were shown room and left to it. Have to pay extra for air con which i always find a cheek but at 6euro a night not really too bad. We requested a sea view room via email before we left and we were not disappointed - on the ground floor (would have preferred the upper) but the view was great and although by the pool was not too noisy, just a few kids in the morning but thats at 8ish so not a problem. The rooms were spacious, we had 2 rooms as also had 2 teenagers so space was great, basic cooking facilities but they were not needed as we ate out all the time. only gripe re room was single hard beds and the maid although cleaned often we had to request clean towels and they said the sheets had been change but they had not!!!

Apart from that the pool was a good size and often just a few people in it so not too noisy - also a kids pool so the little ones were in there. The sunbeds are not allowed to be reserved which is great and we never had any trouble finding 4 beds when we wanted them. There are no real tips at the hotel for finding places to eat or beaches etc but the receptionists are really helpful. As already said we had a car and found that the driving is really easy - if you go of the main road you will usually end up on a small beach, we found one that was to the left of a caravan park on the road to aphrodites baths and it was desserted, perfect for a peaceful few hours, another one is at the front of a taverna on the same road and the taverna is really reasonably prices for drinks and lunch.

In the evening we went to Latchi which is a pretty harbour and if you get the timing right can photograph the lovely sunset. We ate in a few of the Tavernas on the harbour the worst being the snack bar, good for brekki but awful frozen pizzas. The best we found was Linardo on the front of the harbour and the owner was really friendly, highly recommend this place. We also went to the chinese just round the corner from the Hotel and it was great - we ordered the meal for 4 and there really was so much food - it just kept coming and coming, really tasty and nice atmosphere, recommend eating inside though as it is hot and dusty outside, the air con is a releif. I would also avoid Porto Latchi, some people say its the best but we ate here twice, the first was OK but the 2nd as we were in a hurry to get to the airport and it was quiet we had a meal and it was horrible. never mind. Another small moan was a comment from a bar member at hotel that we were not allowed to have cans of coke at the poolside although they sell them in thier shop & its self catering !!!!!!!!!! We did eat at the hotel for lunch a couple of times and again i agree with the previous comment - share as the portins are big, one day we had 2 chicken pittas and had the village salad on the side, it turned up and was huge pitta stuffed with loads of salad and chicken with chips and salad on side, also village sald in huge greek salad and dips with pitta & olives, would ave fed 6 !!!

By the way also has indoor pool & small gym but this was only ever used for kids swimming lessons ??? apart from that always locked.

Anyway - highly recommend this place as a great chill out hotel or a great base for exploring the area. Will definetey be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Firstly,a week is NOT enough!! I will be returning next year for two weeks!! Upon arrival at 5.30 pm were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was expecting us,there was no faffing about with names or any confusion.After being shown to our room and a brief tour of the hotel we were told that there been a table had reserved for us in the buffet style restaurant if we wished,we kindly declined as we were keen to explore the near harbour town of Latchi,but only after i had a quick dip in the pool which we had to ourselves! The pool is open between 9am and 7pm,my only gripe with pool is that none of the steps to get in and out are particularly sturdy so chose to climb in and out via the side.The pool bar was well equiped to cater for everyone served imported and local alcohol,soft drinks,slush puppies,hot drinks, ice creams and had a very good chioce and value for money snack menu,we quickly learned that anything ordered could be shared as portions are generous snack menu stops serving at 3pm.
We had breakfast every morning which was buffet style fresh and replenished often,good variety hot and cold.We did not eat in the resaurant in the evenig as we preferred to eat out and explore,if you are going to eat in the nearby harbour of Latchi,i can highly reccomand the Porto Latchi with indoor and outdoor tables and once you have dined, there is bamboo?/wicker furniture with very comfy cuishons on decking which is on the beach,and ajoined is avery stylish cocktail bar where a waitress will look after you,great atmosphere.
Having never visiting cyprus before found it amazing and gorgous the hotel is surrounded by beautiful scenery of the troodos mountains and the sea.
The hotel staff were freindly and attentive without being over bearing and spoke good english.
We booked through thomas cook and our tour operater was olympic great service from both.
We will back next year to the akamanthea holiday village.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank star_90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We stayed for 2 weeks from Oct 5th 08. We were self catering. It's in a lovely location and is a great base for touring. To get the best out of the holiday you really need a car. As it's a 2Km walk to Polis (nearest town) or Latchi(nearest village)

The appartment was clean and the holiday village had a great pool though we hardly used it. They have a restaraunt thought it was just ok on the night we ate in ,there are lots in Latchi(2Km) & Polis(2Km) and they were much better. Finikas in Polis was good.

Kitichen equipment if you're self catering was pretty limited though adequate. (apparently the time share appts are better equipped), only two electric rings, no microwave, and the fridge did not have a freezer compartment. However Papa Antoniou's supermaket in Polis is large and as good as Tesco/Morrisons and there's a smaller E&S COOP in Polis as well. So as we had a car we were able to stock up regularly. The on site shop was closed in October, but having seen it, frankly you'd be much much better going to the supermarkets.If you want a decent sized cup of tea you'll have to buy a cheap mug from the supermarket (we did) as the on site cups & glasses are small.

You can walk to Latchi and it's well worth doing so, but take the beach path, it's paved and a much nicer way to go than the road.

If you're arriving at night( we arrived at 2230) with Olympic Holidays and have booked a car to pick up at the Airport (Paphos) make sure you take a map of Cyprus with you from the UK and ask for directions to Akamanthea. There were n't any Maps or directions offered and its a 45KM drive. At least we were'nt given any and had we not had asked before the Olympic Reps left with the coach and I'd brought a map from the UK we'd never have found the place, as Avis didn't provide a map and we were'nt given directions by anyone until we asked. That was really the only bad bit.

If you've a car do explore, we went up into the Paphos Forrest & the Westeren Troodos mountains and across to the Kykos Monestary, great trip! . Everybody slates Jeep Safari's but they are really the only way to see the Akamas Peninsular, the drivers know where they're going so you get to see stuff you'd otherwise miss and you don't have to worry about falling of the edge of the road (well most of the time). The ruins at Episkopi are are also well worth a visit if you're into history. 19km up the coast is Pomos with a very pretty harbour, nice pebbley beach and good Tavernea the Kanalli (great views) OK when your in your 50's but not so good I suspect for children.

Olypmpic Rep Chris was good but Olympic welcome at the Airport very poor if you're picking a car up there, though to be fair we had hired the car via Thomas Cook who were the Olympic agents in the UK. Chis as he sai will hire you a car via Hertz which it deliveres to the village, however ?????

Anyway we liked the Akamanthea, the area, and we like Cyprus.

Great holiday for two 50 somethings who left the kids at home!

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank salveGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polis
0.8 mi away
Zening Resorts
Zening Resorts
#4 of 6 in Latchi
478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mariela Hotel Apartments
1.3 mi away
Natura Beach Hotel
Natura Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Polis
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Souli Beach Hotel
Souli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Latchi
333 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Marion Hotel
The Marion Hotel
#11 of 14 in Polis
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akamanthea Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akamanthea Holiday Village

Address: Venetiotissas Street, Polis 66301, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Price Range: £57 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akamanthea Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Akamanthea Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akamanthea Holiday Village Polis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing