We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent King Prawns”

Arsinoe Fish Tavern
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Polis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Arsinoe Fish Tavern is located in the centre of Polis, just opposite the small church of Agios Nikolaos. For almost 30 years, our family does their very best to make you enjoy an unforgettable evening being our guests! From the beginning, it was our aim to serve fresh food at reasonable prices. In combination with our high quality dishes, this let us gain a lot of regular guests visiting our restaurant whenever they visit the town. People come as tourists and leave as friends! We invite you to experience the difference!
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent King Prawns”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Mostly outdoor tables, closed Sunday when we were visiting, although by the side of a minor road in the centre of Polis, we didn't notice traffic fumes or noise to be an issue. The staff were very friendly, food was great, obviously fish being their forte, at the end of the meal we were offered fruit, cake and a drink. Well worth a visit, the prawns were huge and good value, with octopus and calamari available for those with a bone phobia. Good selection of fish - bass, bream swordfish etc.Unusual noodle dish served with the meals, but also an excellent pasta dish (Orzo) along with great chips. The dips were particularly good value too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ivang1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    70
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best there is!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are visiting Cyprus and are near Polis or Latchi, don't miss a treat, Arsinoe Fish Tavern serves the finest fish meal that we have ever experienced in Cyprus. It is located in the Town square, the service is excellent, the fish is fresh and cooked to perfection, the chips are dry and hand cut using best quality potatoes, lots of crispy salad and dips complementary desserts and other freebies! Absolutely excellent value, fine dining without the glitz, glamour and high prices!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Place to eat fish meze”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a family run, Cypriot taverna in the center of Polis. Basic, simple but excellent in cooking and hospitality. As the name indicates, fish is their real thing. The best way to enjoy this is eating the fish meze. It starts off with a selection of dips, bread, salad and olives. Very fresh and so tasty, but save yourselve for the rest of the meze. The fish then comes in different types, different style of preparations and at large quantities, fried calamari, grilled octupus, swordfish, prawns and so on. The sides are crispy, super large homemade fries and a cypriot noodle dish. This is the fantastic cypriot taverna food everybody is looking for on a holiday. Your stomach will quickly fill up with the still covered by almost full plates. At some point of time you will sit in front of the plates and decide to give up. Then the friendly owner will appear to finish your meze with a small selection of fresh fruits. The perfect way to finish this dining experience. The price of the evening. Forget about it, it is not worth to mention. So cheap. After eating here once you want to return. If you are not strong enough to take on another meze, you can also select several fish dishes individually.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilMoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Greasy food and car exhaust appetisers.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visited this restaurant, despite warnings from locals, and found exactly what the title says. Both meals were swimming in oil. I like olive oil but not the bland greasy stuff that was on our plates. Two different meals, mine a fish platter which was mainly batter and soggy batter at that. My wife had sea bass, so small it would be illegal in England, opened up and therefore rendered stone cold by the time it got to the table, so bony it was almost inedible. Sat outside, big mistake, fumes from the locals clapped out 4X4 pickups frequently pervaded the eating area and even though we were probably the furthest from the roadway (the immediate area is blocked off at night) we were nonetheless smoked better than some of Arsinoe's fish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Latchifoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best fish restaurant in the area”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to Arsinoe since it re-opened after the winter break proved once again that that there is nothing in the area comparable to this restaurant both in quality and value for money. Salad, pitta, sea bass cooked to perfection, water, ouzo and complimentary fruit and dessert all for a very modest bill of €32.50 for the two us. Not a lot more I can say other than if you love fish and are in the area, do please give it a try; you will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerie2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arsinoe Fish Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Arsinoe Fish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing