We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quiet and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nicki Holiday Resort Polis
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Polis
UAE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly, quiet and clean”
Reviewed 24 June 2007

The Nicki resort is a family run business and this is still evident with the friendly welcome and relaxed atmosphere. We stayed in a superior 1 bedroom apartment and were really happy with the accommodation which was very spacious, light and airy and nicely decorated.

We were given a great location, on the ground floor with a paved patio overlooking fields and the sea. Many a pleasant evening was spent with a glass of Cypriot wine watching the sun set over the mountains! Many other rooms would not have had much of a view, and balconies would not be a spacious as the patio we had which extended the length of the apartment. Check if you can what room you're going to get, and it does seem that the extra for a superior room (newer and bigger) is worthwhile.

The 2 sofas in the living room are actually single beds which suited us as we had our toddler in the large double bedroom and slept in the living room which also had a dining table and kitchenette. We found the kitchenette had adequate equipment - 2 electric rings, a good sized fridge and what looked like new pans, cutlery and crockery. There is only one wardrobe and a small amount of drawer space.

The resort itself is lovely, with a big main pool and nice wading pool for kids and a separate pool (in the older part, deserted). It's all kept very clean with lots of flowers and greenery. The kids club is a big room with toys which was left open all the time, and our 3 year old took toys away from there to play with around the resort. Probably not interesting for older kids though.

The resort was very quiet indeed when we stayed - a handful of local and british tourists. This was good in terms of peace and quiet, but also a shame as our son would have enjoyed some other young kids to play with.

The restaurant, although it had a nice location by the pool, was always deserted and only open until 3pm. Breakfast was from 8am (a bit late for us) and was okay, not great. I would recommend either self catering or eating out at any of the scores of low priced and atmospheric tavernas nearby, a lot of which have a childrens menu and a mix of local food plus pasta, omelettes etc. The nearest well stocked supermarket is a co-op on the way into Polis, but you do need a car.

The location is on the main Polis-Latchi road, but there wasn't much traffic so noise was not an issue. There is a lovely walk through the fields to the sea; turn left to reach Latchi which is a nice fishing village with loads of sea front tavernas and a good kids playground in about 25 minutes. Polis is on the right and there is a pleasant beach at the camping site there with a restaurant, playground and sunloungers for hire. All the beaches nearby are mixed pebbles and sand and the sea can be a bit rough.

The Polis area is lovely and very unspoilt compared to what we saw of the rest of Cyprus with lots of orange trees, vineyards and lovely views from the mountains in the Akamas peninsula. I'd recommend a trip to the Pafos Bird & Animal Park for kids (30 minute drive) and hiring a speedboat from Latchi is a lovely way to see the coast and swim in the crystal clear sea.

Overall a lovely relaxed holiday.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Too quiet!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol-Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

We have just returned from our two weeks stay at Nicki Resort. We found it very relaxing and enjoyable experience and one we will repeat in the future. We chose to stay in a Superior Apt overlooking the pool and found the standard of cleaning and accommodation to be excellent, the staff to be helpful and friendly, the area superb and the centre's of Polis and Latchi a great place to dine and relax.

I would have no hesitation in recomending this complex to others and I know I sahll return another time in the future.

If anyone is looking for nice, relaxing quiet and friendly holiday, this is the place to go.

If they are looking for Blackpool abroad, then they canstick with Paphos!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2006

I had booked a Standard one bedroom apartment, on the internet and got a very good rate, however, the room, in one of the old buildings was a bit tatty and very close to the main Polis to Latchi road. We checked in late in the evening and the following morning we told reception that we were unhappy with our room, unfortunately as it was the Cyrpiot holidays there were no Superior One Bedroom apartments available for the whole of our stay so we could move but would have to move again - we checked out the Superior rooms in the new buildings, they are delightful, and eventually settled on a Superior Studio which was more than adequate for myself, husband and 13 year old son and we didn't need to move again.

We didn't eat at the Nicki as we like to get out and about so can't comment on the restuarant facilities. However, the local Taverna "Aioys Therressos" is just a short walk away, the food is excellent and we can recommend the BBQ and Suckling Pig.

The "onsite" shop is very basic, but a short walk in the opposite direction brings you to a local supermarket that has a wider range of goods. If you have a car there is a Co-op supermarket just before the bridge on the way into polis.

Both Polis and Latchi are a 20 minute walk but I wouldn't recommend you doing the walk in the height of the summer!

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms and location
  • Disliked — No onsite entertainment, if there had it would have encouraged us to spend more time at the propery
  • Tips/Secrets — Steer clear of the Standard Accommodation
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cyprus_Delights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Largely based on comments on this website, we booked to stay at this "resort" for 7 nights on a half board basis from July 5th. Foolishly, I sent a deposit equivalent to a 3 night stay. We soon discovered that we were sharing the resort with over 100 schoolchildren who were on a summer camp. Whilst they were generally well behaved, they all came to the restaurant at the same time, four times a day. It soon became clear that it was going to be impossible for us to eat in the restaurant when we wanted to and indeed on the second night we were told that we would have to eat either before or after the children arrived and our choice would be limited to what had been prepared for them. So we cancelled all food and ate out after that. However, that wasn't the end of the problems: on the second evening we wanted to use the pool but we couldn't because the children had taken it over with loud music blaring. [the Manager may dispute this but he wasn't there so he never saw it] At this point we decided to move out and we fould another hotel apartment which was better and for the same price.
Even though we hadn't actually had what we paid for, our bill came to exactly what I had sent as a deposit. My request for a refund has been refused and instead we have been offered a room upgrade if we go again.
Other things of interest to potential visitors: 1) The resort is on the main Polis to Latchi road and is 800 meters (half a mile) to the sea. Apartments with a "sea view" will be able to see it in the distance. 2) The apartment itself was modern and nicely decorated but the only storage space is a wardrobe 3) The pool (when you can get in it) is large and very nice, but the jacuzzi jets weren't working.. 4) In the kitchen there is a two-ring hob and a fridge but not much else. 5) Satellite TV wasn't working when we were there 6) Air Conditioning costs CY£3 per day extra. 7) The only store within walking distance stocked only Russian goods so wasn't much good for daily essentials like bread or milk. You would need a car.......
If you can go when there are no summer camps taking place maybe you would have a better experience than we did.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wadadli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2006

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Cyprus. I chose this accomodation after reading wonderful reviews of the hotel. Unfortunately, we were slightly disappointed to find there was no-one here,t there was no entertainment, the smaller pool bar was shut and the kids club was locked, although there wasn't an awful lot in there anyway! There was no apology or explanation given either. We were disappointed to never once meet any of the 'Stratis' family that people have raved about. I asked about tourist attractions and although Popi gave me a map, she was not very forthcoming with information, so I found the local tourist office which was great and told me everything I wanted to know. they even rang through to paphos to help us sort our cruise on the Pirate ship, which I highly recommend.

The plus side to our stay was that we had a pool all to ourselves for the whole time we were there. It seems that as they don't deal with tour operators, the hotel is either full of Cypriots, but when they aren't there, the hotel is empty.

The hotel itself is lovely and clean, beautiful pools, comfy loungers, the rooms however are very basic, the bed was really uncomfortable, cuboards were smelly. We were in the old part of the hotel though and I'm sure all the new rooms are wonderful. We chose not to eat in the restaurant as there was never anyone there, so can not comment on the food.

I personally would not choose to return to this hotel but I loved the area.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank noods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 July 2006

We stayed at the Nicki Resort for a week in June after checking it out on Trip Advisor and booking direct with the hotel. Nothing seemed too much trouble for Petros ( the owner) who arranged taxi transfers and car hire for us in advance of our stay and answered emails promptly. We stayed in a superior studio room, which was a good size with a huge balcony;- big enough for 2 sunbeds and a table and chairs. It was great to sit outside first thing in the morning with a cup of coffee enjoying the peace and quiet and the bright sunshine before it got too hot. I would have liked more storage for our clothes but this is a minor point and we solved the problem by emptying the blankets out of the straw chest in our room and using that.

Polis is a nice place to base yourself. The beach is ok but there are definately better ones such as the one in Pissouri which is more sandy and less pebbly and better for kids.

I'd rate the hotel as a good 3 star,we enjoyed our visit and hope to return there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 January 2006

We booked our holiday through the internet, it gave us a great opportunity to get all the relevant information we needed to book our wonderful holiday at Nicki Holiday Resort.
The resort itself is of the highest standard, and offers a family atmosphere with fantastic views of the surrounding countryside
New motorways have made traveling a pleasure around the island.
The village of Polis skill a true Cypriot way of life and welcome
Thank you to the Nicki family and staff for making this a very special holiday

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Polis hotels
0.0 mi away
Natura Beach Hotel
Natura Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Polis
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariela Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Akamanthea Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bay View Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
The Marion Hotel
The Marion Hotel
#9 of 14 in Polis
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alkionest Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicki Holiday Resort Polis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicki Holiday Resort Polis

Property: Nicki Holiday Resort Polis
Address: P.O Box 66091, Polis 8830, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nicki Holiday Resort Polis 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nicki Holiday Resort Polis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicki Holiday Hotel Polis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing