We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Certificate of Excellence
exmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yet another Great Holiday”
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This is one of the best holiday destinations we have been to, so much so we have been back every year for the last 8. Stavros, his Family and staff make you very welcome and nothing is too much trouble.. My Wife and children travelled 1 week before me and Stavros arranged transport for her. The appartments are very clean and tidy with maid service 6 days a week... If you want a quiet and relaxing holiday this is the place. We will be booking next year very soon...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyhourpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    64
    17
    6
    11
See reviews for
56
112
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Just returned fom our fifth stay at Bougainvillea Excellent as usual. Have read the recent reviews on this site and am just glad that I spent my time on holiday enjoying myself rather than looking for things to complain about!!!!
Stavros and his staff great as usual (nothing too much trouble) and more like familly after this number of visits.I will be booking again soon for next year.
I could go into great detail defending these apartments and Stavros but I think that the number of people returning year after year says it all really!!!!
Yamas

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyhourSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, shropshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We have been to the bougainvillea seven years running with our children. Stavros, his family and his staff have always welcomed us with open arms and we never want to leave. I cannot understand why anyone would write a negative review. Stavros goes that extra mile to ensure that everyone is happy, but cannot do this if you don't tell him something is wrong. Over the years Stavros has made improvements to the apartments and the surroundings and we have benefitted from the addition of the gargen area and a safer pool. The apartments are very clean and the staff are the most honest people we have ever come across. We left our camera 2 years ago and were given it back on our arrival the following year. We originally travelled with a holiday company, but in subsequent years we have booked under our own steam and Stavros sends a taxi for us and this is the beginning of our 2 week relaxation. I have yet to need to put my towels out in order to secure a sunbed! The accommodation is all you need-somewhere to sleep- you'll be out in the beautiful sunshine the rest of the time, or eatinf out in one of the fantastic restaurants in Polis or down at nearby Latchi, which you can walk to in 25 minutes along the boardwalk on the beach. We have just returned from this years holiday and are already planning to return next year to this hidden gem in the sleepy town of Polis to stay with our very special Stavros and his family and staff

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brosternicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Our holiday Sept last year I think was our 15th/16th year of staying in Polis at the Bougainvillea.I should not have to say any more but I will.Stavros(owner)works very long and hard to try and make the best of everything for all his guests.If for any reason you have a problem,Stavros goes the extra mile to try and resolve it.All his staff try to do their very best in making your stay there pleasurable.The apartments are only a couple of minutes walk from Polis centre but located far enough away for you to have peace and quiet.Bougainvillea has a friendly atmosphere with a pool and bar area for people who wish to relax and meet other guests.Over the years we have made many friends who like us return to Bougainvillea year after year.This should speak for itself.Unfortunately you cannot please all the people all the time,but we do believe the Bougainvillea goes that extra mile towards trying to achieve this goal.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goatherders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I loved Polis and its great restaurants. However the Bougainvillea was a huge letdown. The garden was beautifully kept, but the appartment was dirty. Although we complained it never got much better. Turning on the lights proved to be a shocking experiance on occasion and the sofa bed has to be the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept on. The decor was very dated which you can live with for a week but I do think cleanliness is esential.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allyj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenelg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

On arrival at the above apartments, we were pleasantly greeted by the owner, Stavros and given the key to our apartment.

To our dismay we found the following:

Downstairs

• Dirty Kitchen Sink
• Dirty Kitchen Cupboard
• Dirty Crockery and Cutlery
• Uncleaned oven (traces of fat lying in tray)
• Kettle – dirty on outside
• Mould in fridge as well as severe rusting to the shelf inside
• Settee/sofa bed (aged and tattered to edges, the slats could be felt underneath and made for an uncomfortable nights sleep)

Upstairs

• Damp and dirty towels on bed
• Rubbish and 2 pairs of socks in bedroom drawers
• Bathroom sink and shelf above unclean
• Shower head covered in limescale (this meant very little water was obtained)
• Paint spills on bathroom fittings and floor

All light fittings dirty with stains running down them.

Due to our late arrival, it was the following morning when we saw our First Choice representative, she apologised and took our list and said things would be dealt with immediately. We then went out for the day and on our return to the apartment, found that the towels had been replaced. These towels showed signs of age and one included an old blue towel with what appeared to be bleach stains on it. Otherwise the apartment seemed to have remained untouched – a slug which had appeared that morning was still in the sink – proving that this definitely has not been cleaned. The mould ridden and rusty fridge remained.

On this day we also found the owner had become slightly more unfriendly and we decided that, as were 2 women on our own, we should ‘keep the peace’ with him and not complain anymore.

The apartment remained in the same state for the rest of the holiday, the towels and sheets only being changed once.

I also received an electric shock when switching on the downstairs lights. On several other occasions the lights would not function unless switched on and off several times, sometimes they worked when the switch was in the ‘off’ position and occasionally made a ‘sparking’ sound!

Whilst the frontage of the hotel was in need of the decoration and maintenance, the grounds inside were beautifully maintained and it is a shame that the same time and ‘attention to detail’ were not given to the apartment.

On our last day and whilst waiting for our taxi transfer to the airport, there was a confrontation between Stavros and one of his female members of staff, Stavros raised his voice loudly to this staff member and raised his arm as if to hit her. She ducked and was seen to be bowing to him. He walked out, leaving this female in tears. This behaviour cannot be condoned and in light of this we were glad that we did not complain further to him about our stay at the Bougainvillea if this is how he conducts himself.

We have travelled to many countries but have never experienced the above.
First Choice have now been contacted directly and from their last communication say they are investigating further.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nighean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We stayed in these apartments from 28th June to 5th July 2009. The apartments were spotlessly clean and comfortable. For an official 2* rating, we were more than pleasantly surprised.

The surroundings, with well kept flower beds and potted plants was impressive. The Hotel even has its own vegetable garden and fruit trees.

Within a 10 minute walk was the beach in one direction and the village square in the other, with an abundance of good restaurants.

Stavros and his staff were very welcoming and responded promptly to every request.

If we ever decide to revisit this part of Cyprus, we will go back to these apartments.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennykillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polis
0.3 mi away
Mariela Hotel Apartments
0.8 mi away
Natura Beach Hotel
Natura Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Polis
273 reviews
2.2 mi away
Souli Beach Hotel
Souli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Latchi
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bay View Hotel Apartments
1.5 mi away
Zening Resorts
Zening Resorts
#4 of 6 in Latchi
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments

Property: Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments
Address: Verginas 13, Polis 8830, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque village of Polis Chrysochous, 10 minutes' walk from the sea, Bougainvillea Hotel Apts Offers cozy self-catering apartments, an outdoor pool and free WiFi in the public areas. The apartments are surrounded by beautiful gardens overlooking the mountains the sea and the beautiful Akamas peninsula. Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments is an ideal location for those looking for a peaceful base, for their escapes to the mountain and the sea. The location is ideal to explore the island and its unique beauties. There are plenty of nature trails in the area that you can visit and enjoy cycling. You can also swim in the crystal clear sea of Akamas and discover the magic of the underwater world by snorkeling. Each of the light and airy apartments is equipped with a TV, air conditioning, dining area, refrigerator and kitchenware. All rooms also feature a balcony with sea and mountain view. Guests may relax in the terrace by the pool, enjoying magnificent views of the sunset and the Mediterranean Sea. Moreover, an outdoor pool bar is at guests' disposal. The property offers free parking. Our guests at can start their day with a breakfast, enriched with Greek products and vegetables from our gardens. The village square is a short walk from the accommodation and there you will find plenty of cafes and taverns. Latchi Harbor is only a 5 minute drive from the accommodation, with plenty of water sports activities and boat excursions to neighbouring beaches, you can also find there many taverns and coffee shops. Paphos Airport is 40 minuets drive from our Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bougainvillea Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel Polis
Bougainvillea Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing