We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good valeu.A very nice welcome”
Review of The Marion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marion Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Reviewed 31 May 2013

It was very warm place.Friendly staff, Clean and comfortable room with all necessary facilities. Location very close to main square of the village. Marion hotel it 's a very clean hotel and very helpuf staff. The price for accommodation was good value for money. Dinner and breakfwst was excellent. Marion is deal for couple and families looking for relaxing holidays. I believe, if you like to experience the true greek colture and not fell a typical tourist this is the accommodation for you. No far away from the see and akamas peninsula. I enjoyed my stay and the breakfast was great.I will come back

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iovan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for The Marion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Would never stay here again!
It's not a dreadful hotel but it is far from satisfactory.
The Manager and other staff are very friendly and offer help but do not resolve your problems.
We were placed in Room 301 originally and it was a good size but we had a spare bed that we did not need. It had a good balcony and sea view (although the sea is not near).
There were ants in the bed when we woke up!
The toilet tank took about 2 hours to fill up after a flush!
The Manager informed us that he was waiting for a part for the toilet....my partner is a bathroom fitter so he knew this was not true! The part needed was standard and can be readily acquired.
We were moved to the next room (303) but not till after we had unpacked a lot of things.
Room 303 had more room as it did not have the spare bed.
The toilet was much the same as in the other room and the tank took a long time to fill!
The elderly man who runs the "24 hour reception" and cafe-bar is not to be found when returning to the hotel from an evening meal out at 11:30 so if you fancy a drink at this time you will be unlucky! One night he was actually there at reception but looked half asleep and when we asked about a drink he said "tomorrow"! However, the next night he was not even there. the day after this he brought us some free drinks (Whisky sour he called them - not what we like at all) & I think he felt guilty that we had not been able to get a drink at the bar the last time!
Anyone could walk into the hotel after 11:30pm and do what they like because there is no-one around to see.
The hotel was pretty empty and the only other guest were Greek or Greek-Cypriots.
The cafe / bar is not manned much of the day so if we went for a drink or coffee there was no-one there many times and we had to try to find someone to come to serve us. The frappe I ordered was disgusting and undrinkable. We stopped going there for any kind of refreshment.
There is no fridge in your hotel room so if you want cold water on hand or wine you are out of luck.
The pool was a good size but the sun loungers looked jaded and old. There was no-one using the pool. there is no cafe / bar at the pool so you would have to walk to the unmanned cafe bar at the front of the hotel and carry drinks (if you can get any) to the pool which is a fair way from the hotel building, past the gardens.
There was a very large bird cage (you could walk into it) in the garden which was scruffy and out of use but still had old nests in with bits of eggshells.
The hotel itself is dated and needs a refurb.....a big one.
The elderly man on reception also helps run breakfasts and the toaster was only switched on the first day we stayed and after that he kept switching it off so when you wanted toast it took a long time to warm up and we stopped having toast as it was such a bother.
Breakfast was not great either.....ham and cheese slices (processed), tomatoes, some small slices of garlicky sausages, boiled eggs, bread, jam, wrinkled old-looking olives (they did not taste too good so we left those and we love olives), tea and coffee, orange juice. Same things every day. Forks to serve yourself the cheese and ham but the elderly man was serving himself using his fingers.
We came back one day to find ants everywhere around and on the dressing table....we had no food or fruit there so have no idea why they were all over that place. Terry informed the elderly man on reception and he handed him an ant-killing spray which Terry put to good use and this resolved the ant problem.
The bed was comfortable and we had clean towels almost every day.
A few days in the heat became too much at night and we asked for air con. This was given to us at no extra cost so this was one good point. However, it switched itself off after a couple of hours so you woke up sweating anyway.
Soap was supplied and a hairdryer is installed. However, the hairdryer was difficult to get to work because the socket for it was faulty - you could not use another socket since the hairdryer was attached to the wall....I had to punch the plug or hit it with something hard to get it to work and sometimes it took some time before it would.
We did not report this as we had already reported a number of problems and we did not believe it would get fixed anyway....and we did not want to move all our things again if we were allocated yet another room!
There are no tavernas near the hotel so be prepared for a fair walk to one. The only ones open at the start of our holiday were in the main Square but later in the week a couple of others opened which were a little nearer but not much.
The car park looks really scruffy with old, out of use cars dumped there.
We asked to extend our room as we were not being picked up till teatime for our flight home and the Manager ummed and ahed then said we could stay - there was no-one else in the hotel hardly! I asked how much and he said it was up to me - if I wanted to put some money behind reception.
We put ten euros behind as we really did not think the hotel was worth much.
We are not people who want luxury on holiday but this is the worst hotel we have stayed at as far as I can recall. We usually go to Greece (the islands) and have stayed in a number of 2-star hotels which have all been a lot better than this one.
Polis is very nice though....if we went again we would stay nearer to the Square if possible or in Latsi which is not far from Polis.
Will do reviews of tavernas, bars and Polis museum separately but do not miss the museum, it's fabulous and all the tavernas / cafes were good.

Room Tip: Third floor gives a sea view but you can see a scruffy car park and the sea is distant!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Great value. Very clean, though showing age a bit. Nice garden and pool. Everything worked in our room and beds were clean and comfortable. Excellent quality for a 2 star. Close to town centre, this family run hotel represnted great value for money. Staffed and run by a small family group at this time of year, we received excellent service and very good Cypriot food. We hope to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Very nice hotel with good food and breakfast. General All is nice and the staff very polite and Daily cleaning the rooms. An important for me was the breakfast which was plentiful.course there were wifi which is a useful tool for entrepreneurs and children. worth for anyone found in this region. and do not forget to go to the baths goddess's afroditi.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Inout123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The location and parking were good. The room was basic, which was fine for a star hotel, as all the essentials were there.
We book room with mountain view but the person in reception gave us a sea view room with Fantastic view.
It was nic.Good breakfast!!
The room it was comfortable and clean with spacious bathroom, hot water, telephone, television, heating, hairdryer and large balcony. We stayed one week and we will come back soon.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quieter"
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Warm place good price
Location very close to main square of the village
The price for accommodation at that hotel was good value for money.The dinner was excellent and verry good value of the money we paid extra for it rather than looking fora a dinner or snack in the town.
We enhoyed our stay and the breakfast was great

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank iovan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I visited polis xrusoxous and Marion hotel for one week this autumn! I mostly enjoyed the comfortable room and the nice pool view i had from it.The staff was very friendly and willing while giving me directions i needed during my accomodation. Last but not least,is the location of this hotel which is at the center of the village so i could have access on foot everywhere! It is for every recommendable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank marilena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polis
0.1 mi away
Mariela Hotel Apartments
0.7 mi away
Natura Beach Hotel
Natura Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Polis
290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Zening Resorts
Zening Resorts
#4 of 6 in Latchi
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Souli Beach Hotel
Souli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Latchi
333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alkionest Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Renos Complex Tourist Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marion Hotel

Address: 9 Mariou Street | P.O. Box 66029, Polis CY 8830, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Polis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Polis
Price Range: £23 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marion offers all the necessary facilities of a 3 star accommodationThe Marion hotel is located in Polis Chrysochous, in one of the most beautiful areas of Cyprus. Situated far from the main tourist settlements, the property features a splendid view over the surrounding countryside near the legendary cave where, according to mythology, Aphrodite the Goddess of love and beauty, used to meet her beloved Adonis. The complex is a 10-minute walk from the wonderful Polis beach and just a 5-minute walk from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing