We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely food”
Review of Comapedrosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comapedrosa Hotel
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is located approx 50m from the cable car. If you hate walking in your ski boots then this is great. The hotel is slap bang in the centre, extremely close to the bars, eateries and a small supermarket. Its a small hotel (just two floors) and has a bar attached to it.

The restaurant is in the basement and breakfast is from 8 - 10am and evening meal 7 - 10pm. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, lots of choice, lasagne, chips, burgers, salads, salmon, pasta etc etc. The breakfast is also very good with cereals, bread, croissants, fruit juices etc. No complaints at all.

The hotel rooms are functional. Some rooms do not have a bath, but ours had both shower and bath with plenty of hot water at all times.

Rooms were cleaned every day to a good standard.

The downside to the hotel is that because its in the centre of the village, then you get lots of street noise. The Brits tend to stay up until about midnight and then the Spanish come out to party between midnight and 3am so suggest taking ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Also, the pubs nearby play loud music so you can always hear the bass noise, but we coped fine with it and were too tired to notice most nights after a good days ski-ing!

Free wifi in the reception area is also a nice bonus.

Overall, as the cost of the hotel was extremely competitive, then I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from the bar for a quieter night!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviet1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Comapedrosa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here Sunday 16th - Sunday 23rd feb 2014.

This was a last minute booking via Nielson's for a 1 week father and Son ski trip.The up-side is that it is well located, close to the gondola, a little supermarket and some local shops.
The staff were always friendly, and want to please, but little english spoken, google translate /diagrams useful. The breakfast is continental only, and a bit bland, but the evening meal is good, plentiful and filling. The bathroom in the bedroom is new'ish, and I liked the fact there was always plenty of hot water, and fresh towels, although some rooms are a bit titchy, and a bit tired looking. everything was always clean. Good value for money for what you pay.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, with gear for a nightlife as well as skiing and daywear, then avoid 202, its to...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel is nice and cosy. It is in perfect location, as many others mentioned allready (30m to gondola and bus stop, 20 to supermarket). Food in my opinion was very good (not breakfasts - these where very basic) so in my opinion it is worth taking half board. Rooms where ok, bit small which may be a problem, if you plan to go there with little baby, as we did. We had to request bigger one to fit the baby cot, but still it was bit difficult to fit our stuff in.
The bathroom could have been better. I would replace those old baths asap.
The staff was very friendly and helpfull, 5 stars. However if you don't know Spanish and try to communicate in English only, you may have some problems, even with ordering a glass of wine.
As I mentioned we went there with the little baby, just over a 1 year old. The baby club on the top of the gondola is absolutely superb! I honestly recommend it! Spacious, clean with plenty of toys and very nice people. The best place for little ones I have seen so far.
And some less pleasant things at the very end of this review: if you have a room with the view on the street, you will get no sleep. Bunch of drunk idiots shouting and misbehaving even up to 5am will make it impossible to rest there. The worst part is that no one does anything about it. When we where leaving the hotel at 5am I noticed 3 young Spanish local guys sitting on the reception's windowsill, making noices, shouting, talking laud, swearing and stuff. They where perfectly visible and I was very surprised that the receptionist completely ignored it.

Room Tip: avoid street view!!!!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed for a week skiing and its generally a good value, no frills place.
Good attributes:
The hotel is literally 30m from the gondola. Unless you see yourself being completely shattered after skiing don't bother with the lockers you will undoubtedly be offered on a package holiday, the hotel stores your skis for free after paying a returnable 10 Euro deposit.
The food is varied & plentiful. Breakfast buffet has cereal, selection of breads & preserves, juices, boiled eggs ham, cheese etc. Dinner always had a varied salad selection, fish dish, meat dish and some form of potatoes & pasta, soup and vegetables. Plenty to go at and I always had a full stomach. Quick tip, buy your dinner drinks from the upstairs bar as they are cheaper than the restaurant bar.
The not so good:
Hot water can be a bit hit & miss, always useable but temperature can fluctuate a little.
There is a constant noise from the stream outside. Didn't bother me but my Mrs found it annoying. Obviously it depends which side of the hotel you stay in.

I would stay here again as the good points definitely outweigh the not so good,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath as they don't all have one !
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had originally intended to stay at another hotel here but it was closed with a sign on the door directing us to this one.
When we arrived, we saw a notice in the window advertising a double room for 30 euros including breakfast.
Rooms are large but the hotel is a bit run down. There is a great bar downstairs with lots of comfortable, squashy chairs. Breakfast was disappointing but I suppose about what one would expect for the price.
This was not a good time to visit Andorra as the skiing season had not yet started and lots of places were closed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a couple for a ski holiday. We chose this hotel as it was cheap, v close to ski lift (short walk) and reviews stated that hotel was good value. The hotel was clean, always hot water for a long bath after skiing, great location with bars, restaurants and shops on doorstep.
However we were not impressed by the reception desk being unmanned with our passports behind it very visible!
The food in the hotel was disgusting!
We attempted to eat in the hotel on the first night and the food was horrendous and certainly inedible! My boyfriend is not a fussy eater and all he managed to eat was a baguette!
We did eat breakfast in the hotel as you can't go wrong with toast and yoghurt but could not face an evening meal there again. Very few guests actually ate an evening meal there!
There is an excellent restaurant right opposite hotel which does fab food and we ate there at least 3 times and it was busy every night and we saw a few ski reps done there too. Reasonably priced too. I highly recommend anything from there as our group sampled most dishes!
Would consider staying at hotel again but certainly wouldn't sample the food again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 577rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A cheap hotel which cost us less than £100 for the week so wasn't expecting too much.
The room was basic however cleaned regularly, with new towels provided everyday if you requested them. Beds were comfortable, decent mattress and extra pillows provided.
Breakfast was your basic continental of meats, cheeses, bread and croissants. However tables were cleared slowly and not reset so if you arrived late you had to hunt for glasses and knives or take them from other tables.
Service in the reception and bar area was poor. We waited around for about 20 minutes when we arrived and only got seen to after following the man working there around into the bar area. Even then he still had a few other jobs to see to downstairs before he checked us in! We were given the room key and then left to guess where our room was, no directions given or any signs. Generally the reception was unmanned, not 24hours as advertised. They also lock the doors at about 2am and don't open them again until about 8am as we had difficulty getting back in one night and leaving on the day of our departure.
Our room was at the front on the first floor and had 2 "balcony" type things. However we could only use one as one of them had a metal shutter pulled down over it which we couldn't raise. There is also a church right in front of the hotel. It's bell chimes between 9am and 11pm as far as we could tell. It got to be quite annoying as it doesn't chimes twice on the hour, which means that at 9am you get 9 rings at approx. 8.55 and a further 9 at 8.58, rather annoying if you want a lay in. (Although not the hotels fault).
The bar area is also very dark and appears pretty "local" and not very welcoming to foreigners, We discovered that we were charged higher prices than others in there. On our second night of drinking there we had a different bar man who didn't know the prices and showed us the price list. We were charged about half what we were the night before. The regular guy appeared whilst I was reading the price list and quickly snatched it away obviously not wanting us to see. Unsurprisingly we didn't drink there again.
Overall, value for money accommodation shame about the reception/bar area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
0.2 mi away
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Xalet Verdu Hotel
#3 of 12 in Arinsal
406 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Andorra Palace
Hotel Andorra Palace
#14 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coma Pedrosa Hotel
Coma Pedrosa Hotel
#10 of 12 in Arinsal
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arinsal
Hotel Arinsal
#9 of 12 in Arinsal
85 reviews
4.9 mi away
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comapedrosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comapedrosa Hotel

Address: 12 Ctra. General Arinsal, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Region: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Arinsal
Price Range: £34 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comapedrosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comapedrosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing