We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Welcome & Great Food”
Review of Hostel Micolau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Micolau
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We've stayed at a number of hotels in Arinsal and this was by far the best so far. It's a small hotel right in the centre of Arinsal with only a minute walk to the gondola. The room was small but very clean and sure you only need a comfortable bed on a skiing holiday. The hotel served very reasonable food which was fantastic. Food in Arinsal is generally not that good but Hotel Micolau did a fantastic job in serving us the best breakfast we've ever had there and also a great cheap evening meal. As we checking out very early in the morning they had left out two packed breakfast/lunches for our journey home!! Thanks very much to all the staff there and I would highly recommend staying there to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tantan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Micolau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2011

Top hotel, Very chilled out and quiet. Food excellent. Close to gondola's.
Staff are extremley helpful and polite.
Bar next door to hotel is also quite cool.
Would deffinately recomend.
Rooms very small but nice. Window ledge awsome for having a fag out of the window as rooms are none smoking.

Room Tip: Don't go when Big Snow Fest is on!!!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davecar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed with the Big Snow Festival when the town is overrun with Brits! Very central location, no more than 2 mins walk from the gondola station and close to all the apres bars. Irish bar The Derby is next door, with a great apres scene till about 8-9pm. However the main street location meant it was noisy late at night, at least in Big Snow week. Other weeks might be quieter...
The welcome was friendly and service throughout was prompt, friendly and efficient. Our twin room was recently refurbed and very smart but fairly small, esp when it comes to hanging up 2 lots of boarding kit to dry! En-suite bathroom was fine. Free wi-fi all through the hotel was very handy. Access to ski and boot lockers was free too.
Dinners were substantial, 3-course, largely French-cuisine based. Breakfasts were continental only, with warm croissants and eggs on a couple of days. Plenty of tea though and excellent coffee! Barman makes a great mojito too!
Definitely recommended, but take earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodyworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Stayed in this hotel with friends for one week. The rooms are tiny, but adequate. Double beds aren't provided, a double room consists of 2 x single beds and the rooms are so small the beds are jammed together. We had a little balcony in our room, just about fit 2 people standing on it and you had to duck to get in & out of the door but it was nice. TV has very limited stations. Bathrooms are more spacious, very clean and well equipped.

The hotel doesn't have a lift so bear this in mind if bringing a good bit of luggage, as we did.

Breakfast was ok, usual continental fare and eggs & bacon could be ordered. Waiter/Barman can be a bit rude and impatient.
Dinner nights were good, they have themed nights - curry, mexican etc for 15Euros including a cocktail. Ensure you ask for the cocktail.

Irish Bar El Darby is part of the hotel with a seperate entrance. Street noise could be very loud as patrons left the bar and clearly heard in the rooms.

On checking out I had to ask for my deposit to be taken off the room price. It took a couple of calls to locate my deposit by the gentleman on Reception but eventually all was well in that respect.

Location is great, couple of minutes walk from the Gondola and in the immediate vicinity of a pharmacy, ski hire store, supermarket and bus stop.

I would recommend this hotel if you plan to only sleep in the room. For luxury or relaxing it wouldn't be a great choice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanbops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Just returned from a week in the Micolau on a ski holiday with family and friends. The hotel is small but spotlessly clean and the staff are fantastic. Rooms are a bit on the small side but they were only for sleeping as we were out on the slopes all day. Stayed on half board basis and couldn't fault the food. Continental breakfast and choice of three starters and mains each night. Xavi the bar man was great, doubled as a waiter too! Would go back again without hesitation. Arinsal is a great sopt for a group holiday with lots of bars and restaurants and a great bit of 'craic 'at night. Nice variety of slopes for skiing for beginner or intermediate skiers.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mythmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We (between 4-8 people) have stayed in the Micolau twice now and both times the experience has been top class.

The welcome has been warm and helpful and any questions or requests we’ve had had been dealt with quickly and with a smile. The food is top class (best in Arinsal - try the fajitas and the steak) & reasonably priced.

Yes, the rooms are a little small, but they are clean, recently refurbished and warm! On a ski holiday we tend to spend our time enjoying the surroundings, both ski and après so the rooms are really only for sleeping in.

The best thing about the Micolau is the location. It is smack bang in the centre of Arinsal. Right beside a Pharmacy, a Supermarket, 2 ATMs, Several Ski shops, the Gondola to the slopes, Parking, and many bars & restaurants. The Irish bar next door, El Derby, is great fun. Great for catching up with live sports as well as plenty of live music.

Arinsal and Andorra in general are duty free which means the cost of living here is very good especially compared to some of the bigger more illustrious European resorts. The skiing is great too – Arinsal itself is quite good for learners, Pal (connected to Arinsal) is beautiful and has some great tree runs but my favorite is Arcallis. Its large with tons of runs, one of which is the exact road the Tour De France went up last summer (2009) which is a bit of a thrill. Plus you’re only ad 30 minute drive to Encamp which links into the other 2 major resorts in Andorra (4 full valleys of skiing).

We’ll be back there next season for more fun on the slopes.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fpshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

I stayed here with three friends in February for a week. The hotel is in a perfect location as its just a 2 minute walk to the gondola and right across the street from the ski hire shop, supermarket and pharmacy.
On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful and remained so throughout our stay. As stated in many reviews the rooms are small but as you are skiing you tend to be out for most of the day. If you are organized and tidy this isn't a problem as you can store bags/belongings under beds or in cupboards.
The food at the Micolau is excellent and as we were half board we had the choice of 3 starters, mains and deserts. The cook was great she often came to our table to enquire what the vegetarian in our party would prefer to eat and catered for individual needs.The breakfast is continental which was great. We were also provided with a take away breakfast due to our 4.30 am departure.
The Micolau provide free lockers for ski boots in reception, they also have free access to an underground garage underneath the supermarket across the street to store skis. We chose to rent a locker at the top of the mountain for 54 euros for the week. This was worth doing as it saves you lugging skis up and down the mountain.
The only two small downsides to this hotel are the irish pub next door which can get quite noisy on some nights, We were part of this noise on the odd night or two so cant complain And the small room sizes. However i would not hesitate in staying here again and staying at the hotel really made our trip. The service, food and helpfulness of all the staff are second to none.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montane
Hotel Montane
#5 of 12 in Arinsal
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Xalet Verdu Hotel
#3 of 12 in Arinsal
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arinsal
Hotel Arinsal
#9 of 12 in Arinsal
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xalet Besoli
Xalet Besoli
#4 of 12 in Arinsal
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palome
Hotel Palome
#1 of 4 in Erts
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Micolau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Micolau

Address: 15 Ctra General d'Arinsal, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Region: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Price Range: £42 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Micolau 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a privileged situation you will find the Hostel Micolau, a small (mountain) hotel surrounded by nature some spectacular views of the “ Valls del Nord” in Arinsal. The building, dated to the XIX century is one of the oldest buildings in the Arinsal village. After been totally renovated in 2009, a perfect balance has been achieved conserving the charm of a small hotel steeped in history with the design and comfort of the present day.In the winter and only 50 meters from the hostel is the gondola that takes you to the ski resort of Arinsal, one of the resorts of Vallnord, where you can practice all types of winter sports.In the summer the hotel is the perfect place to start an excursion to the Valleys of Coma Pedrosa Nature Park, (Parque Natural de los Valles de Coma Pedrosa.) and its natural surroundings of flora, fauna and high mountain peaks.The hotel is also adequate for those who practice mountain biking and would like to enjoy the Vallnord Bike Park in the summertime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostel Micolau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Micolau Hotel Arinsal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing