We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, awkward location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Xalet Besoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Xalet Besoli
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, awkward location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend from 30/12/12 - 6/01/13 on a ski package with Neilson. Check-in was very quick and efficient, and our room was clean and tidy. There was no hairdryer in the room which would have been nice. The TV was small and in the corner, and only showed Spanish and French channels - not a problem as we anticipated spending more time in the bar. The room was kept really warm, and we had access to a balcony for some fresh air. There was plenty of hot water at all times, and we had our room cleaned and towels changed every day. As some other reviewers have noted, the walls are quite thin but as we were up early to ski everyday and all the other guests were respectful and quiet in the corridors, we didn't see this as a problem.

Dinner was served between 7.30 and 9.30 and consisted of three courses with three choices for each course. The food wasn't amazing quality, but there was a lot of choice, and the gala dinner prepared for us on New Years Eve was fantastic quality - and there was lots of it. Drinks in the bar were reasonable as well - I had a very (!) large glass of Baileys which cost 4.50. Breakfast was served over three hours, and there were muffins and biscuits that you could take away for a little snack on the slopes.

It is located about a 15 minute uphill walk from the gondola to the pistes, which was a bit of a hassle - but at least it was downhill on the way back! Overall, the hotel was good for a week stay if you are spending most of your time skiing as the staff are friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable and the food filling and good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BriannaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan F, Gerente at Xalet Besoli, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Customer,
We sincerely appreciate your comments and look forward to their next level visits.
Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    44
    24
    9
    10
See reviews for
40
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel during a great skiing trip and the food was good. The hotel staff are very well presented and helpful. Rooms are basic, but nice and warm. Good value for family stay. Dinning staff were very willinging to accommodate our kids dining requirements.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cappotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan F, Gerente at Xalet Besoli, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Customer,
We sincerely appreciate your comments and look forward to their next level visits.
Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

As always, i will review the hotel and not the resort, even though i will mention the resort on occasions my feelings towards Arinsal have no bearing on the review of the hotel.
Stayed the first week of January 2012 with 3 mates on a snowboarding trip. Got a good cheap deal on a half board basis and were looking to use the hotel as a base so didnt expect much at all. The location is about 5 minutes walk up to the Gondola and 2 minutes walk to the bus stop for the bus to Arcalais. The showers are powerful enough and there is plenty of hot water. The staff, although dont speak good English, are friendly enough and helpful. Maid service is sporadic and towels are changed every other day (if they feel like it). The snow conditions in Arinsal this year were poor so we stayed in the hotel more than we initially would have hoped. The rooms are basic and small but all you could hope for. 2 of us had 3 single beds in our room and there is a small balcony. The rooms are warm. This is a good thing as your wet gear dries easily.
The walls are paper thin. You will hear everything from the rooms around you and also the floor above and below. If, like us, you are unfortunate enough to be there at the same time as a stag do then you will get minimal sleep. This bring me onto the next negative. The quality of the food is an absolute joke. I read the other reviews before our trip and they all said that the food was poor but this is just ridiculous. On 3 of the nights the food was inedible and on the last night one of our party was ill from the dodgy chicken. I cant believe the owners dont check these reviews and havent replaced the chef yet.
This brings me onto the title of the review. I would have given 4 stars as the "what do you expect for the price" mantra keeps popping into mind. However, i went in 2011 and stayed at the hotel Palarine and paid less than the stay at the besoli and i must say that the Palarine usurped the besoli in every single way and it was cheaper. For this reason i have to say that there are better hotels in Arinsal for the price but if you get a good price here then dont expect the food to be much cop and do go with low expectations and you will find it an ok base.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kash130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just back from a four day break which we booked independently at around £20 a night for half board for a room each with a balcony. We weren't expecting too much but were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is part of a chain of varying price brackets of hotel, it was clean and warm. Rooms are quite spacious and although basic are adequate if you dont plan to spend time in there other than sleeping. All the staff we encountered were friendly. Breakfast is buffet style but served over a three hour period so no need to rush. Three course evening meal has 3 or 4 choices per course and although basic was always well cooked and perfectly edible, drinks were reasonable too, bottle of red wine from under 7 Euro's. The hotel is tucked away at the end of a side street, we had a car but the walk to the centre and the lift up to the ski area is up hill approx 10/15 mins - there is a free bus twice hourly. All things considered, great value and would go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Youlsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We travelled to Andorra to ski with our 8yo and 6 yo and another family with similarly aged kids. Xalet Besoli was a little tucked away, and about 400m downhill from the gondola. This was only a problem on the days the footpaths were icy and there was high wind, when the trip up became treacherous. Meals begin at 8am which makes it very challenging to get the kids to ski-school for a 9am start. We did early breakfast in the apartment and just grabbed a croissant from the hotel buffet to eat while we walked up the hill. The rooms were cosy. we were surprised when our 2 room apartment had all 4 of us in one bedroom, then a bathroom and a kitchen/dining. The fridge didn't work and was not fixed during the 6 day stay despite our request, so we were lucky our friends were next door and we could use theirs. The staff are outstanding - friendly, kind to our kids and very keen to assist us in every way. The foos was nice, and although not always incredibly child friendly there was always a way to get them fed. The serves are very generous. Would certainly stay here again if skiing in Arinsal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllyMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan F, Gerente at Xalet Besoli, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Customer,
We welcome your feedback, both negative and positive ones for granted, we note on the subject of time for breakfast and for next winter we will evaluate the possibility of advancing breakfast at 7'30.
Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Nice Staff: Great English speaking staff in the bar and on the front desk very helpful.

Clean Hotel: cleaners came in every day, and even when our room was a state they still cleaned up the bathroom and beds

Bad Food: We were half board and the food in the evening was mixed from bad to awful.

TV in the room was only in Spanish and French, and kept flicking on and off on some channels. Shower was great (after a quick tighten with a screw driver). The corridor echoes a lot so late night incomers can be heard easy.

Its about 15 minutes walk to the gondola, up hill, there is a small shop 2 minutes at the end of the road open till late, its off the main road so it was quiet in the evening

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djk-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here back in February of this year, we booked in the school holiday week as we went with teachers and even then it was superb value for money.

In all we where very impressed, the rooms where basic but spacious enough. We had a great breakfast everyday, and a decent evening meal. The food wasn't "a la carte" but it was a decent portion and edible with plenty of choices on the menu.

Its in a quiet location about 10 minutes walk to the base of the gondola, which is a little challenging early in the morning but its not terrible by any means.

We would be back again based on the cost alone and as long as you keep that in mind you wont have a bad stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.6 mi away
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Xalet Verdu Hotel
#2 of 12 in Arinsal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montane
Hotel Montane
#4 of 12 in Arinsal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St Gothard Hotel
St Gothard Hotel
#3 of 4 in Erts
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Patagonia Atiram Hotel
Patagonia Atiram Hotel
#5 of 12 in Arinsal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
#3 of 12 in Arinsal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xalet Besoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xalet Besoli

Property: Xalet Besoli
Address: s/n Carretera l'Escladella, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Region: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Xalet Besoli 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Xalet Besolí, 3-star hotel in the picturesque village of Arinsal, 500 meters from the gondola ski resort (Arinsal Sector), with a natural and beautiful surroundings views. Typical mountain building has 33 rooms fully equipped and have a balcony, bathroom, satellite color TV, telephone, hairdryer and safe. The café-bar with pool table, restaurant, ski storage and parking. The hotel is distinguished by its family friendly and comfortable environment and being a small capacity hotel promotes interaction with the staff which makes it very close attention. We are just minutes from the center of Andorra la Vella, its popular shopping area and the thermal spa of Caldea. Ideal to enjoy the sports and activities that are made in the Vallnord resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xalet Besoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Xalet Besoli Arinsal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing