We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned”
Review of Hotel Solana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Solana
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Firstly the name of this hotel is called Marvel but runs as Hotel Vita. Booked 1 week with Crystal ski holidays from the 2nd of Feb 2014. As stated before this hotel runs ski holidays for Spanish school children aged between 11 to 15 and anywhere between 25 to 50 children running riot around the reception and lounge area or just sitting on the steps or staircase leading up to the floors as there is nothing for them to do. Breakfast time is hard going as this opens at 8 am. The hot food like eggs / mushrooms / Sausage / beans are stone cold as there appears to be no heating system that works to keep food warm which includes your dinner at night you have to re-heat your food in a queue where there is a microwave. Our rep and crystal are fully aware however nothing seems to change. The pool is dirty I guess this is due to all the kids messing around in the pool as you find it hard to use in a chill way. Rooms are very small and not Kept to a high standard due to children using these rooms. If you booked this hotel threw Thomson's change your hotel as this hotel wrecked our week.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitahoteliers, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Solana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Customer ,

We deeply regret not having met your expectations during your stay at our hotel.
We appreciate your feedback , because through it we hope to improve our service for future occasions.

From the Quality Department our goal is to improve every day and continue to work to provide our customers a quality service . Therefore, we inform your comments to the involved departments to improve our services .

We hope to see you again at our hotel to offer you the service you deserve.


Sincerely,

Quality Department .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

cheap hotel, invaded by 200 Spanish school kids, no room service, breakfast rubbish but evening meal was quite good, swimming pool freezing, sauna and solarium beyond repair, I wish I had payed the extra for the st gothard, 5 mins further down the hill, don't bother with the crystal reps the one at the hotel is a waste of space, hire ski eqt 100 metre downhill from hotel (el negre ) for 20 euro cheaper and great service, also hire a ski locker privately at top of gondala, rather than the crystal cage that has about 100 skis in a cage, also the bus to arcalis does not pick up opposite hotel (the stupid rep said it does ! ) the pick up point is uphill to the gondala, the derby bar was the most expensive, the best bars were the el cau and ciscos ( opposite gondala ) good après ski and 2 euro a pint, good resort but a rubbish hotel

Room Tip: build your own igloo !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowdy376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Rooms were not like the ones from pics they were dirty and outdated! location was nice but very quiet, food was terrible and uncooked all four of us returned home with food poisoning!!! reception staff were not very helpful and rude. the only good thing was the skiing but dont use crystal reps were s..t!!! a very dissapointing and stressful holiday especially as it was a first time skiing holiday for 1 of our party.......did not help sharing the hotel with a large group of noisy and rude spanish teenages who i am convince with smoking weed inside the hotel as i had most of them on my floor and hall smelt really bad.......please think twice b4 using this hotel if u are ask to see if u can if there are any groups of spanish teenages staying!!!!!!

Room Tip: none of the pics show a true likeness of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

When using a popular booking company for hotels beware of the cheap deals! We were trying to save money and went for the special offer. The room was disgusting, it stank. It was really dated. We had booked a double room but they gave us a family room with bunk beds in it. We had a lovely view of the wall outside.
We complained and were given a slightly better family room on the next floor. The curtain was hanging off and it was again very dated.
We were touring Spain and this was the worst hotel we had seen and was supposed to be 3*.
The manager didn't seem to care and didn't want to give us what we had booked, he didn't apologise when we said that we didn't want to stay and left.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. If you don't mind a dated smelly room then book the cheap deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boucher63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This hotel wasn't too bad, my biggest disappointment was the noise from other guests (mainly Spanish teenagers) who had no regard for other people's privacy. The rooms weren't very sound proof, you could easily hear people talking loudly in corridors and several times I had other guests knocking on my order mistaking me for the friends. Besides this, I found the rooms where kept clean although the toilet seemed to smelt somewhat. The hotel restaurant offered an excellent breakfast and evening meal. Besides the lack of spoken English I found the staff at reception helpful. The hotel is well located, being only a five minute walk from the lift to the slopes.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Arinsal is a nice village and this hotel is situated just about the middle which is very convenient.
Rooms are small. We had a twin room at the back of the hotel which had not as good of a view as the front of the hotel. As there was no front rooms available the 1st night, it was too much hassle to wait to be moved so we stayed put.Bathroom is lovely no hairdryer as advertised. No drawer space in the bedroom so everything seemed untidy. Balcony was small and we had to ask for a table.
Restaurant is pleasant, usual limited fare but food not very warm at most meals, staff pleasant enough.
Indoor pool is tiny and not heated, sauna was not in operation and no access to the few sunloungers when we got a warm enough day to sit out. This was very disappointing.
A pretty average 3* hotel with nice staff but needs improvement.If I was returning I would pay to extra few pounds and stay at a 4* hotel with outdoor or indoor heated pool.
We used the spa at the Princesa Parc which was only 6euros per hour.

Room Tip: I renovated room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The hotel is ideally situated on the main street in Arinsal, the staff are extremely pleasant throughout the hotel but speak very limited English, on a number of occasions we were not able to make them understand.
The rooms are very small, only one large built in wardrobe, no drawer space at all, there is a small balcony, we were situated in room 310 at rear of hotel, with a nice view of the mountains, any lower down and you will be looking at the rear yard, this has been refurbished, with flat screen tv (2 english channels, CNN & BBC world news) No tea making facilities so bring your travel kettle. The bathroom was a good size with walk in shower, no bath.
There is an indoor swimming pool and a sauna and hammam, when we visited it we could not get in, our room card would not work, the manager eventually let us in, the pool is small and was freezing, the sauna and hammam were not working, I noticed that roof lights in the sauna were missing and in one case actually hanging out broken, was not impressed and needless to say we did not use it for the whole week.
We visited the Princess Park Hotel just up the road, who have a marvellous spa at a cost of 6euro per hour (1 hr is more than sufficient)
Our price included breakfast and evening meal (hotel do not serve lunch) breakfast was very good, a choice of continental or full cooked bacon, eggs and sausage on a buffet style.
Fruit juices, cereals etc.
Evening meal again was on buffet style and always 4 choices for main but the desserts seemed to stay the same all week.
Dining staff all very pleasant, but very slow on occasions to clearing your table between courses. If you buy drinks with meals or whilst in hotel (not included in price) keep receipts, we paid as we bought rather than settle up at end of week with a large bill, but reception still queried bill and said we owed, only production of receipts kept us from paying again.
We enjoyed our stay in Andorra, the scenery is magnificent, but think if we returned again would not stay at the Marvel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms on 4th floor or higher, this also gives you a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tankywalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arinsal hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
1 mi away
Hotel Arinsal
Hotel Arinsal
#9 of 12 in Arinsal
88 reviews
1 mi away
Xalet Besoli
Xalet Besoli
#4 of 12 in Arinsal
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
#2 of 12 in Arinsal
233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Xalet Verdu Hotel
#3 of 12 in Arinsal
413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Patagonia Atiram Hotel
Patagonia Atiram Hotel
#6 of 12 in Arinsal
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solana

Address: 29 Carretera General, Arinsal AD400, Andorra (Formerly Marvel Arinsal)
Region: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Price Range: £32 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solana 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Solana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marvel Arinsal Hotel Arinsal
Solana Hotel Arinsal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing