We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Hotel Montane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montane
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

For our first visit to Andorra we chose this hotel, by chance, and were delighted with our choice. Very off season in September but Arinsal was delightful, immaculately clean and very charming. The Hotel Montane owned and run by Fiona Dean ably assisted by Matthew who seemed to be able to be in three places at once without any difficulty was a home from home. Both Matthew and Fiona gave us a great reception, the rooms were large and well appointed and the continental breakfast was just right.
I would recommend this hotel during the skiing season too, as the main cable car station is right across the road from the hotel.
Free parking right across the road, very safe and close.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have mountain views and our number 204 was excellent; even with a lumpy bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

Loved this hotel, this was my 2nd trip to Arinsal and this hotel made my skiing hols, main reasons:
- Food was excellent, and a waitered service
- location was by far the best in the whole resort - right opposite the Gondala and near the bars (the restaurant faces the Gondala, so you can watch the ques go down in the warm whilst enjoying a coffee before you pounce on the Gondala!)
- lovely friendly staff, very chatty and few are English so good to relate too!
- rooms great condition, clean, modern (could do with more room for our 3 bed room but when your skiing you barely spend any time in the room, so not a problem for us)
- fresh pastries and hot wine in hotel reception every day
- own private ski locker (no paying for ski lockers at the top of the Gondala which is a saving money and time wise)

only negatives were that our curtain rail in the bathroom broke and didn't get replaced during our stay but the hotel staff gave us all our alcohol free for a night.
you have to pay extra for full English breakfast (but well worth it) and you have to pay for drinks for your eve meal (but expected when only half board)

fab little family run hotel!!! A+++

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The other reviews said it all, it's just understated. The food is fantastic, the staff is great, the location was perfect for us. The staff speaks English. Best value for money one could hope for. They have their own chef, and he's really nice and helpful, not to mention that he's a very good cook, too!

In three words: go for it! We will return there, chance given, and that says it all.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZKes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Superb hotel in an excellent location on the main road opposite the cable car, built into the hillside in Arinsal with a free large car par opposite. All the staff were extremely polite & helpful, rooms, corridors & public areas all spotlessly clean, great décor and atmosphere in the dining room, half-board 3 course dinner was excellent, by no means gourmet, but good range of choice for each course, and all freshly prepared. Our room had a large shared balcony giving great views up the valley and the mountains. In agreement with comments below from others, I’ve knocked off a point for the mattresses which just weren’t comfortable, had we been skiing all day, with the associated aches & pains, we would have liked better. But aside from that this hotel is great value for the location and you will not be disappointed with the service and overall package you experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbo-jeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Excellent position in the village centre immediately opposite the ski lift, although the lift was not operating at the time we were there, June 2012, summer schedule. Just two miles down the valley though there was a lift operating at this quiet time of year so that wasn’t a problem to get higher up to enjoy the views. The hotel is situated on the main road, as most are in Arinsal, but this is not a problem as the village is the head of the valley and there is no through traffic. And in our room at the front of the hotel we experienced no road noise whatsoever. Nice size room with a good view of the mountains. Very pleasant light dining room and the food was excellent and the service better. Matt could really not have been more pleasant with the service and helpful with his advice. Yes, it was off season and quiet so we were spoiled by the attention to detail with the food and service, but I have no doubt this would be matched even at busy times. Meals were three course, well prepared and very filling. Breakfast provided plates of meats, cheeses, croissants, pastries, tea, coffee, juices and all waiter service. There are a number of bars and restaurants in the immediate area, and 100 metres to a lively bar for those on winter breaks. ATM’s also within 100m for topping up the Euro’s. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife, my kid and I stayed for 2 nights in the hotel and I can say that everything was fantastic: the food, cleanliness and location. I don't have enough words to thank tha staff that were very friendly and helpful throughout our visit. Excellent service and great value for money

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvella66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My wife and I have just spent the last week in this superb hotel the staff Matthew and Jose were excellent they cannot be praised enough at all times friendly polite helpful trying in every way to improve our holiday with pieces of everyday advice that made our time there so much better. The food is second to none breakfast being a great selection and a dinner every night was a 3 course meal to die for all made fresh once ordered. All in all I cannot think of a single thing about our stay that could have been improved on.
The hotel is in a superd area just opposite the ski lift with lots of walks close by the rooms are large spotless warm and well appointed
Guys thanks for a fantastic time and we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulsterman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
0.2 mi away
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Xalet Verdu Hotel
#3 of 12 in Arinsal
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xalet Besoli
Xalet Besoli
#5 of 12 in Arinsal
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
#2 of 12 in Arinsal
221 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel L'Ermita
Hotel L'Ermita
#1 of 1 in Meritxell
236 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montane

Address: Carretera General d'Arinsal, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Region: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Price Range: £38 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montane 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montane is a 3* hotel located directly opposite the gondola in Arinsal, Andorra. We offer guests half board, bed and breakfast and A La Carte options for dining in our restaurant.The rooms are equipped with digital television and wifi internet access. All rooms are en suite.We are proud to provide a personal touch to hospitality from the moment our guests check in, until their check out. We also take great pride in our restaurant and have a reputation for providing fine dining throughout Andorra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Montane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing