We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun and skiing a perfect combination”
Review of Hotel Montane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montane
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I have just returned from a weeks skiing in Arinsal. The hotel is perfectly located for the ski lift local bars and supermarkets. The rooms are clean and perfectly adequate although the beds creak every time you moved. TV had the traditional CNN and BBC news in English but a bonus for three star.
The food was of a good standard and variety but sometimes the main course could be a little small depending on your choice. Breakfast consists of cereals, bread and cold meats. Typical continental.
The staff in general were very friendly and helpful and offered lots of guidance and advice. The lady owner was less friendly.
Overall the hotel was perfect for our holiday and I would use it again if I return to Arinsal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

Me and four friends went to Arinal in Andorra for a few days snowboarding. One of my friends stayed here years before and recommended Hotel Montane. Great recommendation. Here are the best bits about it:

1. The staff are really helpful. They sorted lift passes and board hire for us and got a us a discount. They let us store bags when we arrived early on the first day and gave us somewhere to change out of snowboarding clothes after we checked out on our last day.

2. The place is located literally next to the ski lift. Couldn't ask for a better location. You can get off the gondola, dump your boards in the ski room and go straight for a beer at Ciscos (another place I'd highly recommend!).

3. The restaurant is really nice. We had breakfast and dinner there every day. Great food, great service and really pleasant place to enjoy food with friends.

Basically, if you're staying in Arinsal then you should stay here. I'll be staying here if I come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

my wife and i have just returned from the montane, for a 3 star hotel this place is the bizz.The rooms are a bit small but then you only sleep in them. The staff are brilliant and will accomodate you if they can. To say the food is mediocre is laughable because we have stayed in many 5star hotels and it was'nt up to this standard, and my better half should know as she is a qualified chef.The location is superb and we will be back to use this hotel again. many thanks to the staff but especially to anne and matthew.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 251john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just back from an excellent week as guests of the Montane Hotel. The hotel and all staff made our week with fantastic service and fabulous food each day. The chef is a real treasure and whilst on a half board package the choice was exceptional for dinner each evening. Our thanks to Viviene Matthew and all for a great time. Nick &Matt

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

As stated in most other reviews the location is as good as can be.
Staff is very helpful and friendly.
Food is mediocre. Next time we'll not take half board and just eat out.
Rooms 304 and 305 are at an attic floor, which is a bit annoying - we bumped our heads in the low ceiling more than once.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Montane-AND, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Guest Idoltz ,
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.
We´re glad you found us ideally placed and that was convenient for your ski hols.
What we are amazed at is that you found our food mediocre, something that 99.9% of our thousands of visitors dont hold the same perfunctory view.
Had we known that you weren´t enjoying the experience we would have offered you alternative choices to meet with your expectations,you may have noticed how accomodating the restaurant staff are to every whim.
The other problem we see you had was an attic room , usually very sought after for their cosiness and idiosyncrasies , we are aware however that some people aren´t all that taken with them and any room change request is immediatly activated , if only we had known.
Anyway we hope to overall impression was a good one and we may see you back again.
Please take advantage of our return client discounts and incentives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Right opposite the gondola that takes you up to the ski station, nice and easy when you come back tired, straight and into a warm reception area for a glass of warm wine.
Food is great, staff are very helpful, want to know anything about anything and where, they'll help.
Definitely coming again next year, if my wife lets me.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank CelsiusD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Montane-AND, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
We make sure that everyone that works here gets to see these reviews good and not so good , but yours certainly put a smile on everyones face.
Its gratifying to see their hard work and diligence repaid by generous and deserving reviews.
Thank you again.
Don´t forget your return client discounts and incentives if you come our way again , which we hope you will.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We are just returning from a wonderful holiday at the Montane. We booked with Neilson and were very happy with the whole holiday.

The hotel staff were wonderful and were helpful and friendly at all times. The rooms were a good size and were cleaned to a excellent standard. The breakfast was continental and had a good choice each morning. (Juice, hot drinks, cereals, pastries, bread, cold meats and cheese, yoghurts, fruit salad, Spanish omelette, hard boiled eggs) and you could order a full English for extra cost.

Dinner was so delicious. It was great that they stayed late to cook for us on arrival which was needed but not expected after the airline forgot to load the pre-ordered meals. Each night a 3 course meal with choices, usually salad, pasta or soup starter, a choice of mains and sweet, ice cream or fruit for dessert. They were brilliant at catering for special diets and went out of their way to cater for us as vegetarians and happy to change menu slightly to suit, as was all freshly cooked and prepared. Good priced wine avaliable.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Straight across from the gondola to the slopes so easy to get skis from handy hotel locker (€10 returnable deposit) and walk in ski boots.

Good to have free mulled wine and snacks in return from slopes. Could sit in reception for good wifi signal on big sofas sipping mulled wine. :-)

We enjoyed our ski school experience, choosing to split groups to suit our levels of ski ability but could meet up easy on the slopes due to central location of bottom of pistes and bars. Refugi bar on the slopes was our favourite with good priced huge portions of fries! We joined in with all the neilsun activities to keep busy in the evening and particulary enjoyed sledging and the visit to caldea spa. We also got a free ski bus to archalis to try the 'grandeverde' on the Saturday.

All in all a great holiday made special by the arrival back to a clean room, mulled wine, a good dinner and charming staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beatravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
0.2 mi away
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Xalet Verdu Hotel
#3 of 12 in Arinsal
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
#2 of 12 in Arinsal
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Xalet Besoli
Xalet Besoli
#5 of 12 in Arinsal
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arinsal
Hotel Arinsal
#9 of 12 in Arinsal
88 reviews
3.3 mi away
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montane

Address: Carretera General d'Arinsal, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Region: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Price Range: £69 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montane 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montane is a 3* hotel located directly opposite the gondola in Arinsal, Andorra. We offer guests half board, bed and breakfast and A La Carte options for dining in our restaurant.The rooms are equipped with digital television and wifi internet access. All rooms are en suite.We are proud to provide a personal touch to hospitality from the moment our guests check in, until their check out. We also take great pride in our restaurant and have a reputation for providing fine dining throughout Andorra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing