We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, good location and great for its purpose.”
Review of Hotel Montane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Montane
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Certificate of Excellence
grays
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice, good location and great for its purpose.”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We booked in for a week into this hotel and was looking for convenience and simplicity and this is what we got. It is situated opposite the gondola and is got bus links outside. There is bars and clubs nearby and the town is nearby accessible by bus.

Reception:

Morning Was a nice young lady friendly and helpful, then in the evening was a stern business lady presume she was the manager altogether she never confirmed this.

Food:

Varied menu and changed daily.

Service:

Great waiter graham in the restaraunts.

Rooms:

Basic and served purpose ask for a back room otherwise you will get everyone on their pub crawls.

Overall a nice hotel needs a you h of professionalism as there is a young lad parading around presuming this is the managers son.

Mixed feelings but still worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Montane-AND, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback.
We´re glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Montané and that you found our quality up to standard.
The owner sends her apologies that she just can´t get to know everyone personally , its very difficult with such a popular hotel.
We´re a bit mystified by your comment about her son.He´s the shy ,polite guy behind the bar with curly hair and you definately wont see him "parading" about , he´s far too timid.
We don´t have anyone by the name of Graham working here either..............sorry.
Lets hope we see you again with your return guest discounts and upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    89
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
85
115
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Expat
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Booked this last minute to catch the end of the skiing season. The location is great - right across the road from the gondola, so an easy trip carrying ski gear. Our rooms were at the front but there was no problem with outside noise. Our sleeping problems stemmed from the extremely thin mattress and the coarse sheeting. The mattress was probably only 5 or 6 inches deep - more of a camp bed. The sheets left deep wrinkle marks on my skin every morning due to their coarseness. Our half board was great. The evening meal varied, which was a relief as we had one vegetarian with us, The staff were very helpful and attentive, especially the restaurant staff. The front desk offered ski rental discounts at various local stores, too.
Our bare floor could have done with a couple of mats, as it was very cold to stand on in the mornings. I can understand why the rooms aren't carpeted, but a bare cold floor, although practical, made me feel less about this room.
Overall, I would return, but would probably pack some soft sheets, not their calico?? ones.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DandKOntheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Montane-AND, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive feedback review and we´re glad you enjoyed your stay.
Your comments about the beds have been noted and whilst all the beds have standard 10" inch thick mattresses we are aware that in some rooms they are due for an upgrade this spring.
The bedding is Egyptian cotton and admittedly whilst not silky we have never found it coarse or uncomfortable , we regret your sufferance and would have changed it immediatly had we known, please accept our apologies.
On the upside , we´re glad you agree about the great food and service.If you come back our way , bedding upgrade permitting , please take advantage of our discounts and upgrades for return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londo
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a quite frustrating stay at the Montane.

The location at the bottom of the gondola is a mixed blessing as the central location meant nightly disturbance from late night revellers and nearby bars. Ask for a room near the back. we also had a room with a skylight (no blind) so was awoken by very bright light very early.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful with the exception of the aloof hotel manager (we assume - she never introduced herself).

The food was generally good and we got used to the upselling at each meal. A real sore point was the refusal to supply tap water even though it is provided at breakfast. we spent much of the stay thirsty. Decent tea and coffee not available. Bring your own kettle and tea bags (as some other guests had done).

The hotel is recently refurbished and in excellent condition. Mulled wine was a pleasant afternoon tradition.

Room Tip: near the back to avoid noisy revellers - there is a bus stop opposite where revellers loiter and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachsylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Montane-AND, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Beachsylv,
Thank you for your review.
We tried to solve your skylight problem with a call to the suppliers , sadly they had no blind in stock at the time.
We have had one installed since your comment.
The owner , apologizes again for not being able to become friends with all our guests at this extremely busy hotel and passes on her comment with a small question as to the reason why ,in a very few cases , anyone would want to enter into a friendship when on a sports holiday with freinds and evidently having a busy and enjoyable time with someone as equally busy as her.....
The cordialities ,good manners and top service excepted of course, we all take our example from her.
When the busy season is over she would be delighted to meet you.
Your question about tap water is one we receive quite frequently. The owner is NOT happy to recommend and supply copious amounts of what is to you , a foreign country water supply.
We use spring water at breakfast that is piped from the spring next to the hotel door , it is not the same as the hotel supply .
We definately do not upsell at dinner , we recommend and suggest a whole raft of different beverage possibilities and are not at all disturbed if the guest is not interested.
We do however take exception to guests who buy beverages elsewhere and sneak them past the Mâitre d´hotel to hide them under the table and quite often kick them over flooding the floor , hence upsetting our other guests and diners.
Our coffee is from Brazil , we consider it one of the best in the world ,that also goes for our all-day complimentary filter coffee in the hall.
Our tea is Indian via P.G tips , not everyone´s taste admittedly , but a very good option.

Don´t forget our return guest discount and upgrades if you are ever our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Just returned after a week's stay. Nice clean hotel, especially as it was the end of the season. Staff were all very friendly and helpful and Matthew sorted me out with a bit of cheese every night because I'm not fond of sweets. Food was always hot with a decent variety, and the drinks with the meals weren't expensive as suggested in another review. Great location for the main ski lift which is virtually opposite the reception. Only minor criticisms are; no wifi in the rooms and the beds need a 'comfort' upgrade. Would definitely return next time we ski in Andorra. Thanks - The Steel family

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steelysteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Montane-AND, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.
Its good to know you enjoyed yourselves.
The wifi WAS in the rooms free of charge but we suffered huge overuse and abuse from a specific guest who actually had the cheek to berate us on Trip Advisor. The bill was huge and we just cant reach to that as much as we´d like to.
We had to take it out of rooms but we have flooded the Reception/Lounge and Restaurant and lower floors with the signal, we´re sorry for any inconvenience.
New mattresses are on order to replace the firmer mattresses that we have .

We do hope to see you back.
If you book directly with us we will give you a free room upgrade,an ice cold bottle of Cava on arrival and a 5% discount on the room bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel and it was just as perfect as the first time. The location could not be better for skiing right opposite the ski lift. The hotel staff are so professional and friendly providing a well run service nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant has a relaxed atmosphere and provide a good selection each night.The bus stop opposite is so handy for the main town and the other ski areas,and there are pleasant bars in walking distance for your après ski.Thanks to Matthew and his staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: It was a little noisy at the beginning of the week as it was snow box festival so this could not rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Montane-AND, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased when our guests have enjoyed their stay.
If you re-book , dont forget you will have a free room upgrade , an ice cold bottle of Cava on arrival and a 5% discount on the room bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

A standout hotel and restaurant run by a charming team who care about their guests and are happy to share their knowledge of Arinsal to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Hotel Montane is located in the centre of the town and opposite the gondola ensuring you will be first onto the slopes or the bus to Arcalis. The restaurant offers a daily menu with three options for each course and the chef will also meet personal requests throughout the day.

I will stay in this hotel again when I visit Arinsal.

Room Tip: The Wi-Fi is available in reception, however if your room is close to the reception you will have in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontane2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montane, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
It makes a big impact on the staff to see how the client appreciate their services.
You are very welcome to our return package of free Cava in your room , a free room upgrade and a good discount on the Price.

We hope to see you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The hotel was very well presented, the staff are friendly and always accommodating. The proximity to the gondola makes this hotel perfectly located as well as short walking distance to the shops. Loved staying here - would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
0.2 mi away
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Xalet Verdu Hotel
#2 of 12 in Arinsal
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
#3 of 12 in Arinsal
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palome
Hotel Palome
#1 of 4 in Erts
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xalet Besoli
Xalet Besoli
#6 of 12 in Arinsal
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
St Gothard Hotel
St Gothard Hotel
#3 of 4 in Erts
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montane

Property: Hotel Montane
Address: Carretera General d'Arinsal, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Region: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montane 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montane is a 3* hotel located directly opposite the gondola in Arinsal, Andorra. We offer guests half board, bed and breakfast and A La Carte options for dining in our restaurant.The rooms are equipped with digital television and wifi internet access. All rooms are en suite.We are proud to provide a personal touch to hospitality from the moment our guests check in, until their check out. We also take great pride in our restaurant and have a reputation for providing fine dining throughout Andorra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Montane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing