We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful food and not much else good to say”
Review of Xalet Verdu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xalet Verdu Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for a week in March for some snowboarding and was not impressed, the food was terrible, only reason I ate there was due to it being half board. I went there alone but had a double room and it was tight for me in there, I think that two people in that room would be very claustrophobic.

In addition, there wasn't a boot room so all of your stuff had to dry out in the bedroom which not only isn't practical, it is hard to dry out in a room at normal temperature so was left with damp boots for a week! Also, don't expect a reliable wifi network to be provided, not even in the public areas, most of the time it didn't connect!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank ScottyBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights at the start of April. Room cleaned everyday. Nice and modern. Plasma tv. Great view. Shower perfect. Radiators very hot and adjustable. Free wifi in the room. Ski lockers. Bus will drop you right at door. 5 min walk down to pubs and cable car....Will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xalet V, Propietario at Xalet Verdu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear guest
Thank you so much for your time taken to review.
I´ll pass on to all the staff , they will be pleased.
We are so glad you had a good time and we hope to see you back again!

Many thanks again.

Paco Morató

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is a great hotel with particularly good food. We stayed just one night (wished we'd had more) and were greeted by very friendly staff (Paolo from Portugal who went out of his way to help us). Our room 309 was very comfortable - pity it was at the back as it lacked the lovely mountain view from the front. Our dinner was buffet style for the first 2 courses - excellent selection of salads including asparagus, mixed beans, vegetable rice,etc followed by choice of fish "fingers" homemade from fish, potatoes and herbs as well as a pasta and tomato dish. The main course followed - and we had a very generous portion of grilled pork loin, chunky roasted chips, peas and carrots. And finally - can you believe it? - we had a homemade chocolate mousse and cream!! All the food was of high quality, fresh and hot and if you had been out ski-ing all day (which we hadn't) it would be most welcome, as it was for us after a long journey.
Breakfast again was very good with plenty of choice of both hot and cold dishes, cereals, juices, etc and as much hot coffee or tea as you wished.
We found all the staff most attentive, could speak good English and did everything to make out stay comfortable and informative. Would definitely highly recommend them and hope to stay there again, particularly as the internet booked price was only 70 Euros for everything, including free parking!

Room Tip: If a room at the front is available, you would get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silversurfer6550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xalet V, Propietario at Xalet Verdu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Kind words , thank you so much for your time taken to review.
I´ll pass on to all the staff , they will be pleased.

Many thanks again.

Paco Morató

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just come back from a week's skiing. This hotel is cosy and has very friendly and helpful staff. We had a few issues with badly behaved neighbours but the manager moved us virtually without us having to ask. The friendly management team's attitude was reflected by all staff. Great food. Nice hot baths and good location. We will stay here again when in Arinsal.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xalet V, Propietario at Xalet Verdu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased when our guests have enjoyed their stay. It makes a big impact on the staff to see how the client appreciate their services.
We hope to see you again in the hotel.
Thank you very much and best regards,

Paco Morató

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I am writing this review on the last night of our skiing holiday to Arinsal. The hotel is situated in a good location about 500 yards from the gondola station. The staff were all very friendly and always happy to assist. The food was good and we were offered a choice of mains following the buffet starters with our main meals in the evening. Our room was cleaned daily, and the hotel was very clean and tidy. The skiing has been good all week with great sun. The slopes do need some new snow though which is forecast for next week. Overall would most definitely recommend this hotel and if we choose to come back again to Arinsal we would be more than happy to spend our holidays here again. We wish the owners a pleasant trip to London and suggest they also make a visit to Canterbury on their travels. Richard & Briony

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stoky2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xalet V, Propietario at Xalet Verdu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you Richard and Briony
Thank you for your review and for booking with us.
You, and clients like you who enjoy our presentation of hospitality ,contribute to ongoing reservations with your positive critique, and this for us is very important.
We hope to see you again in the hotel, a good bottle of cava is ready for you in Xalet Verdú.
If we can go to Canterbury, we will tell you next time you visit us. We are sure that is a great place, and we will enjoy ti.
Best regards for all staff.

Paco Morató

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Recently spent a week at this hotel on a skiing holiday, from the moment we arrived we were impressed, Paco, one of the owners, apologised and told us our room wasn't quite ready, he asked us if we wouldn't mind waiting in the lounge, we didn't mind at all, the next thing we knew he had brought us complimentary drinks and snacks, and we only had to wait 10 minutes for the room to be ready, Also we had left our ski pack info on the transfer coach and he rung round for us and organised for the details to be faxed to the hotel for us.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable, excellent standard.
The meals at the hotel were very good indeed, from the hot and cold breakfast buffet, to the 4 course evening meal, which comprised a choice of 3 main dishes and also soup, extensive salad bar and hot entrees, and if you could manage all that there was always a choice of 3 desserts.
If we go back to Arinsal we will definitely stay at this hotel again and reccomend it to everyone we know.
Paco and Riccardo thank you for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philip a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Firstly I would like to say that when we arrived on the Saturday the hotel seemed pleasant and the rooms were nice (although we had to wait for an ajoining room for 1 day which we had requested last Sept when we booked - so we couldn't unpack till Sunday! When we did have the adjoining rooms the were spacious ) BUT on the Monday morning at approx 7.40am the building work on the huge apartment block right opposite the hotel began!!! It was horrendous, the drilling, the banging, the cement mixer etc - to be honest I didn't notice so much as we were up early to ski - but then by the Thurs morning I'd had about enough and went nuts!! Mainly because it was never mentioned at the time of booking or on arrival at the hotel - they offered to change our rooms "again" but it was such a mission with 2 children for the last 2 nights we didn't - but I do have the video footage which I will be taking up with our travel agents! - The food is awful and 5 of us in our party ended up with a horrible 24hr sickness bug!!! I can't be sure if it was the food, but besides that it was awful anyway - it always seemed that whatever was on the menu the day before would be made into something else the day after and the day after that!! The restaurant in the night didn't open till 7.30 and by then the kids were really hungry - but hardly ate anything as they didn't like the food there was NO menu for the kids - so towards the end of the week we ate out every night - Our sheets were not changed all week and neither were the towels!! I've been to Arindsal in Andorra 10 times - and have to be honest this was the worst stay I've ever had there - thank god for close freinds that live in Arinsal that made us great food to keep us going at the end of the week in their restaurants and bars! There was nothing for the kids to do at the hotel and the wifi was hit and miss - room service was coffee or cold drinks - no food! (not that I would've had it anyway!!) So just to end - it was such a shame as the location is fine and the hotel could be SO MUCH better - sometimes it's just the "little touches" that count!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the road side of the hotel and at the back - ring them before you go to say you do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arinsal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Princesa Parc
5.7 mi away
Hotel L'Ermita
Hotel L'Ermita
#1 of 1 in Meritxell
237 reviews
3.5 mi away
Abba Xalet Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
Hotel Spa Diana Parc
#2 of 12 in Arinsal
233 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Isard
Hotel de l'Isard
#9 of 36 in Andorra la Vella
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xalet Verdu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xalet Verdu Hotel

Address: Prat del Verdu, carretera Gral, Arinsal AD400, Andorra
Phone Number:
Region: Andorra > La Massana Parish > Arinsal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Arinsal
Price Range: £43 - £844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Xalet Verdu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xalet Verdu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Xalet Verdu Arinsal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing