We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Le Mas de Montet
Ranked #1 of 1 Petit-Bersac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I have been to France many times and love the country. Unfortunately this hotel was terrible, especially considering the prices they charge. On arrival we were shown to our room that was in very poor condition. It had worn carpet that should have been replaced years ago, a bathroom door would not close and there was water damage on the walls just to name some of the issues.

When we raised the issues with the hotel staff they were extremely rude. This is the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemasdemontet, Directeur général at Chateau Le Mas de Montet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear Sir or Madam,

We cannot agree with this critic because you never stayed in our hotel. You did not like where it is located and did not make the effort of visiting any bedrooms wich is considered for us as a no show. Therefore, it makes it impossible for you to critic the beds, the cleanliness...
The readers and futur travellers will appreciate the big difference between your critic and the others. We are sure that they will draw the adequate conclusions.

Best regards.

P. Cavaleiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is a really fabulous chateau. Our room was huge with a four poster bed and a small chesterfield sofa. The dining room is beautiful and we had very good service with excellent food. I cannot fault this chateau. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lullabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We (a family of 5 with kids aged 14, 12, 5) recently spent 6 days at the chateau and really loved it. The place offers an extraordinary setting, a somehow relaxing elegance, very beautiful. Delicious food - prepared by the commited and creative Marie. Friendly and discreet, bilingual service staff.

The hotel offered fun activities which the whole family enjoyed - spectacular the "grimpe d'arbre" - or "tree-climbing" which consists in climbing on top of some of the park's huge 35m trees, guided by a specialized instructor. We also had fun kayaking, cycling around and swimming in the near-by river.

The only thing we ended up not doing properly was visiting the region.... - there is actually plenty of things to do in this part of the country (called Dordogne), but we only made it to the beautiful village of Aubeterre, 10 minutes away from the chateau, where we visited an impressive church carved out from the rocks and ALMOST got tickets for the puppet theater.....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed here for one night but wished we could have stayed for more. It is beautiful and elegant and the sense of peace and quiet sitting out with drink before dinner was wonderful. the dinner was pleasant - the dining room is lovely. We had a particularly charming waiter who was intereseted in helping us select wines. We also splurged and stayed in teh Francois Mitterand suite which was lovely but a quick peek in other rooms showed us that they were fine too. My only compaint is the surliness of the other man we met checking in - he seemed very miffed that we were a couple of hours late and spoke no English..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The setting of the Chateau in the Dordogne vert is on magnificent grounds in a bucolic farmland setting. We stayed in one of the suites with a four poster bed. Furnishings, linens and towels were excellent. Staff were most welcoming and always available to guide, serve and respond to any requests. Eric, the manager on duty in afternoons and evenings was incredibly responsive and full of great ideas for touring the the towns and medieval sites of the Dordogne. The dining room service was perfect, the food prepared with local fruits, vegetables and game. While the location is in the north of the Dordogne, there are a number of the superb ancient towns and remarkable sites to see nearby. We stayed for 6nights and used the Chateau as our base to visit most of the main Dordogne sites.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 200ceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We spent two nights at Le Mas de Montet where we were welcomed by the charming manager, Eric, who helped courteously and professionally from the moment of our arrival; we very much enjoyed the superlative food served in the evenings. The hotel is private without being remote and is in a lovely setting. Oceans of towels, comfortable spacious rooms and a very dog-friendly attitude made this an exceptional stay. Kill for a room!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krysteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Beautiful hotel, with large gardens and swimming pool. Our bedroom was charming and with one of the best hotel bathrooms i have been in, in a very long time - large, clean, country chic, with fast piping hot water and good mirrors! The staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient. The restaurant meal was delicious, beautifully served, and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandSHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau Le Mas de Montet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Le Mas de Montet

Address: Lieu Dit le Mas de Montet, 24600 Petit-Bersac, Riberac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Riberac > Petit-Bersac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Petit-Bersac
Price Range: £146 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Le Mas de Montet 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent place to relax with the opportunity to explore the Dordogne, the Charente, and the Bordeaux region. Four-star Chateau Le Mas de Montet, a beautifully restored Renaissance chateau. President Francois Mitterrand - a regular guest. Sumptuously appointed with period furnishings throughout, the privately owned Chateau provides elegant luxury, comfort and complete relaxation. The Chateau has recently undergone an extensive program of renovation and has a brand new 15-metre swimming pool open from April to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau Le Mas de Montet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing