We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there to eat at the restaurant - stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Le Mas de Montet
Ranked #1 of 1 Petit-Bersac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I booked a "pleasure stay" for my husband and me at the castle. On nights stay with a gourmet dinner and breakfast in the morning.

Upon arrival the staff was friendly, but confused. No one seemed to know anything about "a pleasure stay". Fortunately, our booking was registered in the book, so we got our room. The room itself was big and old fashioned, which suited the castle fine. We left our luggage and went for a walk. The surrounding are beautiful and nicely conserved. Picturesque.

When dinner time came, we went to the restaurant. Again, the staff didn't know about any "pleasure stay", so we had to tell them what was included, eg. a glass of champagne as an aperitif. After having our champagne, we were shown to our table. We got a nice table and could choose between different, local and traditional French courses. The selection was fine.
The dinner was delicious, each course was nicely arranged on the plate, and in between each of our five courses we had different tasters. The food was really good and rich, so we ended up sharing one cheese platter and one dessert, which was a meal in it self: 6 profiteroles with fresh berries! We sent our compliments to the kitchen and went to bed.

BUT, it was difficult to fall a sleep, as we had gotten the room above the kitchen. So, until 1 pm. we could hear the loud dish washer and other activities from the staff down there. I went down to ask for another room, as the hotel was only partly booked. But the kitchen staff told me they had nothing to do with the rooms. Well, too bad for me ...
The next day, I told the receptionist about it. He smiled and apologized superficially, but seemed like he couldn't care less.

When there are plenty of rooms, why give us the room exactly above the kitchen? (and it was not because we got this "pleasure stay"-deal - there were plenty of that room type left. One of the staff members had told us earlier when we asked if they were busy).

Room Tip: It is loud, so ask for a room away from the kitchen area - and avoid the room above the kitchen.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Havenisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Le Mas de Montet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have a fantastic sunday lunch at Le Mas de Montet and the ambiance and food were very good.
the selection of furniture and interior fit beautifully in the Chateau and the owners did an excellent job.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed for one night in the Junior suite #203 Bastille day July 2012. for my husbands birthday, and what a treat it was for both of us.
A lot of time and effort has gone into the attention to detail throughout the Château, gardens and our suite making it a quality hotel to stay in. Our evening meal and breakfast were outstanding and the staff were friendly and attentive nothing was to much trouble for them. We will be recommending The Chateau Le Mas de Montet to Family & Friends and hopefully will be back soon!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed for 1 night for our wedding anniversary on Easter Sunday/Monday April 2012, and had a junior suite (#203), booked via www.hotels.com

Positives

· Good communication - responded to emails very quickly (fwd menus for the restaurant) and the staff were multilingual and made us feel very at home and comfortable.

· Great food, we had the 30 EUR set menu and it was more like 6 courses with coffee - great value and the food was out of this world - 5 out of 5.

· Great location - we were already staying in the Charente valley and this Château is in a great location to visit the Dordogne and the greater area i.e. Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Brantome, Begerac, Perigueux etc).

· The bed was very comfortable, lots of clean fresh towels and robes to wear. The room (and Château) has recently been painted and freshen up and the room, on the most part, was spotless.

· Beautiful grounds with lots of mature trees, wildlife and lots of places to sit and read a book or take in the splendour of the Château

· They provided us with a free bottle of champagne at dinner in the restaurant after we informed them it was our wedding anniversary when we booked - a real surprise and a lovely touch that really made our night.

Reasons we didn’t give it 5 out of 5

· Check in time is at 3pm and check out is 11am, so for us who only stayed 1 night leaves you a little short on time to enjoy the Château.

· Breakfast was plentiful and delicious but at 32 EUR (16 EUR per person) was a little pricey, but as they supplied a bottle of free champagne at dinner the night before we were more than willing to have breakfast and pay the money.

· Very small criticism is that there is a lack of attention to detail in places - i.e. lots of pictures and lampshades are 'wonky', a little tired and grubby in places rather than 'shabby chic' - but this is a very minor criticism. In addition, the 2 arm chairs and footstool in our room (#203) were in need of being recovered or replaced as they really didn’t fit in with the freshly painted walls, shutters, and very nice antique furniture already in the room, but this again really did not have much of an impact on our stay, but if you were paying full summer prices for the junior suite (280 EUR) I think it would be more of an issue than it was for us.

In summary, we had a lovely stay and will always remember our first wedding anniversary. We would thoroughly recommend staying at the Château and definitely would recommend eating in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iab-26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I have been to France many times and love the country. Unfortunately this hotel was terrible, especially considering the prices they charge. On arrival we were shown to our room that was in very poor condition. It had worn carpet that should have been replaced years ago, a bathroom door would not close and there was water damage on the walls just to name some of the issues.

When we raised the issues with the hotel staff they were extremely rude. This is the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemasdemontet, Directeur général at Chateau Le Mas de Montet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Dear Sir or Madam,

We cannot agree with this critic because you never stayed in our hotel. You did not like where it is located and did not make the effort of visiting any bedrooms wich is considered for us as a no show. Therefore, it makes it impossible for you to critic the beds, the cleanliness...
The readers and futur travellers will appreciate the big difference between your critic and the others. We are sure that they will draw the adequate conclusions.

Best regards.

P. Cavaleiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is a really fabulous chateau. Our room was huge with a four poster bed and a small chesterfield sofa. The dining room is beautiful and we had very good service with excellent food. I cannot fault this chateau. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lullabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We (a family of 5 with kids aged 14, 12, 5) recently spent 6 days at the chateau and really loved it. The place offers an extraordinary setting, a somehow relaxing elegance, very beautiful. Delicious food - prepared by the commited and creative Marie. Friendly and discreet, bilingual service staff.

The hotel offered fun activities which the whole family enjoyed - spectacular the "grimpe d'arbre" - or "tree-climbing" which consists in climbing on top of some of the park's huge 35m trees, guided by a specialized instructor. We also had fun kayaking, cycling around and swimming in the near-by river.

The only thing we ended up not doing properly was visiting the region.... - there is actually plenty of things to do in this part of the country (called Dordogne), but we only made it to the beautiful village of Aubeterre, 10 minutes away from the chateau, where we visited an impressive church carved out from the rocks and ALMOST got tickets for the puppet theater.....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petit-Bersac
20.5 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
377 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord
Hostellerie du Perigord
#1 of 1 in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
140 reviews
14.8 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Vieille Maison
Hotel La Vieille Maison
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paul-Lizonne
88 reviews
17.5 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
454 reviews
8.1 mi away
La Braisiere
La Braisiere
#1 of 1 in Saint-Romain
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Le Mas de Montet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Le Mas de Montet

Address: Lieu Dit le Mas de Montet, 24600 Petit-Bersac, Riberac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Riberac > Petit-Bersac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Petit-Bersac
Price Range: £1,320 - £2,307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Le Mas de Montet 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent place to relax with the opportunity to explore the Dordogne, the Charente, and the Bordeaux region. Four-star Chateau Le Mas de Montet, a beautifully restored Renaissance chateau. President Francois Mitterrand - a regular guest. Sumptuously appointed with period furnishings throughout, the privately owned Chateau provides elegant luxury, comfort and complete relaxation. The Chateau has recently undergone an extensive program of renovation and has a brand new 15-metre swimming pool open from April to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Chateau Le Mas de Montet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing