We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Le Mas de Montet
Ranked #1 of 1 Petit-Bersac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here to attend a family members wedding, WOW.

Stunning building and grounds, we stayed in one of the little gites, not so little (could sleep 5 in one ensuite double, double sofa bed and a single), immaculate, comfy and spacious.
The swimming pool is lovely, clean and comfortable loungers, pool towels provided.

The food was fabulous and they did the bride and groom proud.

The staff could not do enough for you, they told us that while we were stopping there to make it our home, and we did.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Petit Bersac is a small village with an impressive chateau. Just within Charente it is easily accessible from the Perigord Vert and is worth a journey for the quality of its restaurant. We did not stay at the chateau but were so impressed with its restaurant for a weekday lunch that we returned the following week for dinner.
The Chateau is extremely photogenic and beautifully furnished. It is surrounded by parkland and visitors are permitted to walk around and visit the kitchen gardens which supply the restaurant. It was a hot day when we visited for lunch and it did become uncomfortably hot on the terrace despite the shade offered by the trees and the awnings. Staff were welcoming and had excellent English in particular one waiter whose language and accent were so polished we had to enquire if he were French or English!
Food is in the ‘fine dining’ style with a great deal of attention paid to appearance. This was not, however a case of style over substance as flavours were well considered and matched, and quantity was greater than that which you might experience in England.
The French tend to provide a variety of menus at different prices. This makes good sense and provides value. The cost of a four course meal at the Chateau cost approximately £60 per head including quality wines and cocktails and would easily have cost double the price in London.
Two main courses stand out for their quality. A piece of cod loin topped with a pistou crust and served on a bed of a cheesy risotto was a pairing made in heaven. Wild pigeon served two ways was again a triumph of flavour and tenderness. Deserts were beautiful to look at and delicious to eat.
The Chateau does not currently have a Michelin star. It deserves one of not two!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docvwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This place ticks all the boxes for what you would expect from a chateau stay in the Dordogne. The place is beautifully appointed and we had a gorgeous four poster room with large dressing area and great bathroom. I have even taken pictures of the bathroom to copy if we ever get round to refurbishing ours! The dining and breakfast food was faultless and their breakfast pain au chocolate the best of the holiday with it practically melting in your mouth. I am not a sun worshipper but there is a good sized swimming pool and plenty of loungers if that is what you like. We really enjoyed our three nights and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

On our way to southern France i stopped over for the night and was more than impressed with the location, the building, the beautifully clean and well appointed room and the evening meal. Everything was excellent and the staff were all very friendly. A great place and I definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 106 which was great for a couple with lovely large seperate bath and shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for four days at Mas de Montet at the beginning of May, and were extremely impressed. The château is a very fine building, set in large grounds, and Beautifully converted and updated. We were lucky enough to stay in the "Mitterand Suite", since we understood that the previous French president used to stay at the château quite often.

The rooms are particularly well furnished (I was able to see two others, and they were of the same standard as our suite, although a little smaller), and very comfortable.

The staff are professional and attentive, without being obtrusive.

We stayed on a half – board basis, so dinner was included, and the food was both varied and excellent.

An advantage is that the château is in particularly pretty countryside, and bicycles are provided for guests to use which we very much appreciated.

Although seemingly in the middle of nowhere, access to the château is not at all bad, since one can fly to Bordeaux or Bergerac, or take the TGV to Angouleme, all of which are well within two hours.

My only criticism is that the wine list, while extensive and containing some excellent wines was rather expensive, to the extent of inhibiting the amount of wine we ordered! apart from that, we recommend it unreservedly.

1  Thank AviatorHerefordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My wife and I booked 3 days in Montet as a part of our Honeymoon and ended up staying for 5 as we couldn't not bring ourselves to leave. Having spent nearly 3 weeks travelling around the region and staying in 6 different 4 star (and better) hotels, Montet was the unquestionable highlight. The staff could not have been more helpful, the Chateaux and gardens are simply stunning and the food is Michelin star quality - particularly the desserts. There is plenty to do in the area but we saw out many an afternoon drinking from their extensive wine menu relaxing by the pool which is set so elegantly next to the facade of the main house. If you do choose to visit, take a cooking lesson from Marie, where first you will head into the grounds to pick mushrooms, wild garlic and herbs, before being taught classic french cooking in the easiest of ways. You will not regret a visit here, of this I can promise.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCJarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

What a wonderful place to go. Great food and individual attention. I stayed here with a friend for a couple of nights in June and was absolutely delighted with the treat that we felt Chateau Le Mas de Montet proved to be. The food was superb and included fresh fruit and veg from their own beautiful kitchen garden, a good selection of wine, and attentive waiting staff.The suite we stayed in was fabulous and huge, however having looked in other rooms I would be equally happy. Despite the inclement weather, the pool was opened for us and lots of warm towels supplied as we got out in the rain! I am really looking forward to going back. I think this would be a perfect place for family celebrations and couples.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clonboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau Le Mas de Montet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Le Mas de Montet

Address: Lieu Dit le Mas de Montet, 24600 Petit-Bersac, Riberac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Riberac > Petit-Bersac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Petit-Bersac
Price Range: £146 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Le Mas de Montet 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent place to relax with the opportunity to explore the Dordogne, the Charente, and the Bordeaux region. Four-star Chateau Le Mas de Montet, a beautifully restored Renaissance chateau. President Francois Mitterrand - a regular guest. Sumptuously appointed with period furnishings throughout, the privately owned Chateau provides elegant luxury, comfort and complete relaxation. The Chateau has recently undergone an extensive program of renovation and has a brand new 15-metre swimming pool open from April to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau Le Mas de Montet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing