We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb venue for a group party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Le Mas de Montet
Ranked #1 of 1 Petit-Bersac B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb venue for a group party”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at Le Mas de Montet for a week with family and friends and I can't say a bad word about it. It was amazing. The Chateau was incredible and everything that you would expect both inside and out.
This was the first time that the Chateau had been let for a week as a whole as it is normally a hotel. The owner who lives next door maintained a discrete presence to ensure that the facility was being cared for.
The room was more like a suite for me and my two children. The Chateau was amazing both inside and outside and the pool was excellent.
Bakers in the local village and supermarkets close in Riberac.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ridders69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    14
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for an entire week with friends and family, with the Chateau and grounds exclusively for our use, as part of the wedding celebrations for our daughter. With a marquee erected on the lawn for two days the Chateau provided a truly magnificent setting for a very memorable wedding.
The architecture and decor are superb, and the grounds, pool, and local area provided ample opportunity for relaxation for the rest of the week. The owners were extremely flexible, and accommodating in providing us with the facilities to be "self catering" for the majority of the week, other than the wedding itself. I would not hesitate to recommend this as a venue for anyone seeking a high quality venue for a wedding.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed one night in the Presidential Suite, and would have loved to have stayed a week or a month! The grounds and chateau are stunning and have an authentic history. There is a relaxing pool. The exotic tree collection throughout the acres of land is truly astonishing. The food and wine were superb and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were polite, courteous and highly professional yet warm, friendly and welcoming. Hardly anyone in the UK will know about this place, but it really is worth a visit. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Presidential Suite if you can, but all rooms are of a high standard, with impeccable presentation an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESheep01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our family of four stayed for a few nights in the chateau - within easy of of many lovely local spots. The owner was very keen to help us enjoy our holiday, she packed us a picnic basket when we wanted to lunch by a local river, and drew a route on a map for our bike rides to the local town (we borrowed bicycles from the chateau). The chef in the restaurant also cooked a dish we particularly requested, and on the evenings that we didn't eat in the chateau, we tried some of the great local restaurants. I would highly recommend both this hotel, and the surrounding area. A wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJWOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at Chateau Le Mas de Montet for three nights. it was a delight and is to be thoroughly recommended. The magic of the chateau's magnificent architecture is complemented by its setting in the large, fairy tale grounds with a wonderful selection of trees, shrubs and flowers. Take a camera - you'll have enough screensavers to last you a lifetime.
The decor is everything you'd expect for a chateau of this age, so don't expect minimalist chic - that would be ridiculous. It's large gilded mirrors, antiques and Queen Anne chairs, fabric covered walls, oil paintings and the like. However, they're very fine indeed. The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfy, the food is of the highest quality and the swimming pool is gorgeous. The staff are also very pleasant and helpful. In addition, you can visit charming towns and villages nearby, not to mention wine tasting in other chateaux e.g. Montbazzilac, St Emilion, not too far away. Even kayak down the river, should you wish.
A few very, very slight niggles aside (e.g. I'd have happily paid a couple of euros extra a night for complimentary bottles of still and sparkling water in your room - but, hey, I'm only carping) this is a terrific place to stay and completely relax. Francois Mitterand stayed there with his dogs - and probably his mistress - about sixteen times, I believe. The tranquility of the place is utterly wonderful, and I can see why.
Truly Exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Headteacher666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having stayed in a number of French Chateau's with a fading interior, we were delighted to stay at this beautiful Chateau! Le Mas de Montet has been lovely restored to a very high level of quality and comfort. Our room, which over looked the pool was big and furnished with a large sitting area, lovely furniture, beautiful four poster bed and a fabulous modern bathroom large in size which retained its classic french appeal. While booking in, I noticed staff outside cleaning the pool area and painstakingly ensuring it was clean and tidy - attention to detail that was consistent in every part of this establishment! Set in beautiful grounds, big trees, wide open gardens and lovely tidy flowerbeds - perfect for any photo opportunity! Our dinner was excellent, the fruit and vegetables coming from the estate; although the french english translation could be better, and the wine list was extensive. We enjoyed our relaxing stay here. Why choose Montet? perfect for a quality relaxing get away or even a beautiful venue for a Wedding!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoverPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have stayed at over twenty castles/chateau and this rates in the top three. Very quite and beautiful setting, The chateau has been renovated and furnished to an outstanding level. We stayed 5 nights and were upgrade to the Mitternand Suite which was outstanding. Dinner is served thur-sun but adequate dining is 5 miles away in the lovely town of Auberterre sur Donne. The owners and staff could not be more helpful/friendly and dinner in the dining room was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phantomAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petit-Bersac
21.5 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
19.1 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
24.5 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord
Hostellerie du Perigord
#1 of 1 in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel La Vieille Maison
Hotel La Vieille Maison
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paul-Lizonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
21.6 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Le Mas de Montet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Le Mas de Montet

Property: Chateau Le Mas de Montet
Address: Lieu Dit le Mas de Montet, 24600 Petit-Bersac, Riberac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Riberac > Petit-Bersac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Petit-Bersac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Le Mas de Montet 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent place to relax with the opportunity to explore the Dordogne, the Charente, and the Bordeaux region. Four-star Chateau Le Mas de Montet, a beautifully restored Renaissance chateau. President Francois Mitterrand - a regular guest. Sumptuously appointed with period furnishings throughout, the privately owned Chateau provides elegant luxury, comfort and complete relaxation. The Chateau has recently undergone an extensive program of renovation and has a brand new 15-metre swimming pool open from April to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Chateau Le Mas de Montet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing