We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tulip Inn Andorra Delfos Hotel
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Escaldes-Engordany
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good location but....”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Booked half board here. Used Novatel buses to get to Andorra from Barcelona and they were very good. On arrival first impressions were good and check in smooth. Thankfully we had rooms on the top floor with nice views of the mountains. We encountered two people at reception during our stay, one was friendly and helpful but the other, younger one, was very abrupt and didn't have a nice manner. Rooms are basic but reasonably comfortable for a short stay. We went for our first meal and as we had booked half board we could only choose from a very limited menu. We asked if we could change to B and B but this was refused immediately by the abrupt reception person. We then had to order food so managed to find something. Soup was ordered and bread arrived. We asked for some butter for the bread but this was refused as it wasn't included in the half board price !!!! The food when it came wasn't great and was lukewarm. Breakfasts were the same with most of the food cold - the food that was supposed to be hot was left to go cold.
We ended up eating out the rest of the time.
The hotel is in a good location and is decent enough for a few days but the food was very poor. If you go eat out. I personally wouldn't stay here again

Room Tip: Try and get a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    168
    134
    47
    28
See reviews for
135
163
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

With the Costa Blanca skiclub, we stayed for a week in this hotel. It is 100 metres from the shopping area and for my wife a splendid challenge. The hotel is good hotel with niece service and good food. Although we are an International group, we were a little bit astonished by the behavour of our fellow europeans from russia, who stayed in the same time in this hotel and who are not a part of our group. Sometimes they think that they are the only persons in the world. The hotel has excellent connections with Grandvalira , the splendid ski area in Andorra , just 20 minutes away. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly return to this skiarea

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Willy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We had some trouble finding the hotel as some of the roads had reportedly changed direction recently and this was not reflected in maps or our GPS. Once we figured things out, it was easy to get to.

The room was great and we arrived much later than our check-in time, and the staff were very flexible and understanding, allowing us to change our dates of stay without a problem. The first gentleman and lady we spoke to were very pleasant and provided excellent service! However, later that day, there was another man at the counter - I don't know his name but he had a tattoo on his neck. I found him to be unfriendly and rather arrogant. He was quite unpleasant to my husband, and he was much different than the other staff - who were all great. Unfortunately, I kept running into the unpleasant gentleman and then just chose to avoid the front desk.

Otherwise, I don't have any major complaints. People should be aware that the parking is at a surcharge of 18 Euros per day. Also, the WiFi signal in the rooms is very weak and easily lost.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitKat781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The only "excellent" that this hotel can be assigned is on the location. The hotel itself is just average, far from being a 4 stars, and not even a high end 3 stars.
Let's start with the "buts ...". When placing the reservation I requested a good room, mentioning that it was a short scape to celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived to the hotel we were assigned a room that was terribly smelling to tobacco and the bed covers were filthy (shoe marks included!). We went down to reservation desk and requested to be moved to another room. When explaining the problem the clerk's face denoted no surprise at all, and we were assigned a new room. This one was clean, and not bad smelling, but the window was facing a wonderful concrete wall! We had wasted enough time with ups and downs, so decided not to go for another change but mentioned the "landscape views" issue to the clerk.
BTW: when leaving the hotel after two days, we were told by one of the employees that the hotel was almost empty that weekend.
Regarding the food: the breakfast buffet is quite varied, but the quality is likely to be the worst I have never ever found in a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Escaldes-Engordany hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Alicante, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We have been coming to the Hotel Delfos with our ski club for over 15 years!
We have always said the rooms are excellent for skiers and obviously designed by a women as there are many cupborcds and drawers!
Also good mirrors and bathroom toiletries!

We are disappointed with the food!
We used to be served at the table with an Al a carte menu which was always good and good service !
There used to be only one "grand" ( Exceptional buffet , a week, on Fridays)
Now we have a buffet every night and it gets very , very boring!
Although drink is now included which is a little compensation!

The Staff are mainly pleasent but do need more on reception when we arrive home from the slopes and we have to queue for our keys-whilst the only receptionist is on the phone!!

Wouldn 't use the car park at that price unless no alternative!
Overall Hotel is good but has become dated with the food!
Beds very comfortable and rooms clean

Room Tip: All O K. No views anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 512Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordi T, Director del Hotel at Tulip Inn Andorra Delfos Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Google Translation
Estimado /a huesped,

Muchas gracias por su tiempo y comentarios positivos de las habitaciones de nuestro establecimiento , limpieza y amabilidad del personal.

Lamentamos enormemente que el servicio de Restauración y en concreto el servicio de Buffet no fuera de su agrado, sin duda , haremos llegar su comentario al Departamento correspondiente.

Saludos Cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel is relatively good. It might be suitable for families and wide range of travelers. But… If you want to have a dine DON’T EVEN COME NEAR hotel’s restaurant “El restaurante La Tapad´era” because it is THE WORST restaurant we were. THE WORST MEAL and THE WORST SERVICE. At the first waiters strive to deceive you (by the way, waiters are alcoholics or drug-drug-addicts, be careful!) At the second you will wait your meal about 2 hours. And then you will be surprised with a meal a la carte that looks like garbage. Really, it will be "meals delivered especially for you from nearest dums", or "first-rate leavings". That is why, try to find another place for your dinner!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anatoly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed at Delfos in Andorra for 6 nights in January 2010 as part of a skiing group.
The hotel is well situated being only a few metres from, and running parallel with the main shopping street in Andorra la Vella.
It is only 20 minutes by bus to the main ski resorts and as such is perfectly located. The hotel itself is warm and well decorated and generally the staff are welcoming.
The rooms are quite large and clean and always warm. There was an abundance of hot water - which is a must after a day's skiing. The room has a tv and small sitting area, fridge and safe. The beds were comfortable and clean though the linen was old and needed mending in places.
The food was Spanish and generally well cooked, though not popular with all. We had a buffet one evening which was excellent. Breakfasts consisted of a choice of both hot and cold dishes, limited cereals and toasting facilities.
Main complaint is the overriding smoke which seems to permeate the whole building. There is no designated smoking area and all public areas suffered. Even the fabric in the bedrooms reeked of smoke which was unpleasant.
if you are a smoker you will find the hotel Ok but if not it will mar the enjoyment of your stay.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escaldes-Engordany
0.0 mi away
Hotel Exe Prisma
Hotel Exe Prisma
#2 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
NH Hesperia Andorra la Vella
#2 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Andorra Fenix Hotel
Golden Tulip Andorra Fenix Hotel
#6 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mola Park Atiram Hotel
Mola Park Atiram Hotel
#1 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exe Princep Hotel
Exe Princep Hotel
#13 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Andorra
Holiday Inn Andorra
#6 of 35 in Andorra la Vella
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Andorra Delfos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Andorra Delfos Hotel

Property: Tulip Inn Andorra Delfos Hotel
Address: 17 Avd del Fener, Escaldes-Engordany AD700, Andorra
Phone Number:
Region: Andorra > Escaldes-Engordany Parish > Escaldes-Engordany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Escaldes-Engordany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulip Inn Andorra Delfos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tulip Inn Andorra Delfos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfos Hotel Escaldes Engordany
Tulip Inn Andorra Delfos Hotel Escaldes-Engordany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing