We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, questionable hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kyriad Andorra Comtes d'Urgell Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Escaldes-Engordany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, questionable hospitality”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week of New Year. I wasn't too happy with the hotel in general. The only thing I really enjoyed was breakfast and New Year dinner - guys really can cook.

However in the rooms you don't have an electric tea pot, and when I asked for a cup of hot water, they sent me to a nearest bar, because their restaurant was closed. So we had to buy one ourselves. There's also no WiFi in the rooms, so people hang out in the lobby. The rooms themselves are quite old. And we paid quite a lot for them, around 100 Euros per night. So if we had a choice by booking earlier, we definitely wouldn't have stayed there.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jacckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    58
    78
    36
    50
See reviews for
69
94
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The room was small, with little room to move around the bed. The bed itself was good and the room had a decent tv, with a (small) bath. We arrived in peak season and still found a room as a walk-in guest, which was good.

The location is great, just 200 metres from Caldea in one direction and 200 metres from the main shopping road in the other.

Free wifi internet is available but only in the lobby & not in the bedrooms.

Breakfast was buffet style and pretty good value. There was a wide variety of pastries, meats, yoghurt, etc. The only disappointing thing was no proper fruit juice - just some concentrate from a machine.

For an overnight stay we found parking in one of the main car parks was cheaper and more convenient than parking in the underground car park.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Bogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComtesUrgell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Kyriad Andorra Comtes d'Urgell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear customer,

Undoubtedly, we greatly appreciate your words, and we will send your appreciation to the whole team of our hotel ..
Hope to see you again very soon, and of course, offer a quality service.
Thank you for trusting us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa da Caparica, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Very nice hotel, good price and good location. It was very nice to sleep hearing the sound of the river's water running down the hill.
Small but very comfortable rooms. Good restaurant.
Delicious breakfast!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciaFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComtesUrgell, Direccion at Kyriad Andorra Comtes d'Urgell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear customer,

Undoubtedly, we greatly appreciate your words, and we will send your appreciation to the whole team of our hotel ..
Hope to see you again very soon, and of course, offer a quality service.
Thank you for trusting us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
191 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

It is average hotel. The best part of our stay here is definitely price. The other thing I can suggest, is to take breakfast in here. They are delicious, it is big variety of food to choose and so on. Also, it is good because of the hotel location. Just a fifty meters from the hotel, You can find a tourism information which is in the main street of the city. This street is great to buy things and go clubbing, drinking or whatever You want to do in this town.
The bad things about this hotel, are mentioned in the earlier coments: the hotel needs to be refurbished, rooms are small, walls are thin, so You can hear what Your neighbours are doing. But hese things for me, didn't made a big problem. The major minuses was, that the personel in the reception had no good map of the small city (Andora la Vella). They brought me a black and white google map, in which was no marks, where is the old town, main sights and so on. When I asked to mark these things, the receptionist marked old town in different place than it was, so we have lost. I suggest beter go to information center for the help of sightseeing.
The other big problem is parking, which is paid (but I would rather pay then search for a place to park in the city). In this parking there is not enaugt spaces for the hosts of hotel. I had to look for a parking place in the city, which took half an hour, and I parked a car about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
To sum up, next time I would stay in the same hotel, because of its price, but not because of its conditions.
You get what You pay, in other words.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with a view to the city, othervise You will get rooms to the Yard, which has noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rimgaudas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

The rooms are very small. There's too much furniture and it's hard to move around with the suitcase.
The parking lot is small, but if you're lucky to get a spot, the guard is very friendly. The price for parking is 14 e, so take it into account. Also, you have to leave the keys in the car, and it closes at 22:00 and opens again at 8:00, so your car is stuck there between those hours.
There's Wifi, but only in the lobby.

In conclusion, it's a good value per money + great views hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusivol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

the room was not bad, ok view, only downsides was that parking lot was full and we had to park nearby (but same price), and the internet only works in the lobby area.. you have to pay for a lock if you want to use the safe.. (something like 2 euro/day)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Diana_8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed for one night with the kids (2). Clean room, enough for four people. Very old but clean bathroom. No air conditioning.

The garage is very small and we couldn't get a parking space and in the place where the hotel is situated is necessary as it's at the end of a steep ramp (even though you can find a parking space around caldea, about 200m away from the hotel)

The only bad experience was with the maître of the restaurant (name beginning with "A") which was tremendously rude (as stated in other reviews). He probably doesn't like his job at all.

Room Tip: Big rooms are in the top floors. That can be hot at summer, without air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Escaldes-Engordany hotels
0.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Andorra Delfos Hotel
Tulip Inn Andorra Delfos Hotel
#18 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silken Insitu Eurotel - Andorra
Silken Insitu Eurotel - Andorra
#21 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Aparthotel Cosmos
Hotel & Aparthotel Cosmos
#20 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tudel
Hotel Tudel
#17 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#8 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eureka Hotel Les Escaldes
Eureka Hotel Les Escaldes
#13 of 29 in Escaldes-Engordany
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Andorra Comtes d'Urgell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Andorra Comtes d'Urgell Hotel

Property: Kyriad Andorra Comtes d'Urgell Hotel
Address: 29 Avinguda de les Escoles, Escaldes-Engordany AD700, Andorra
Phone Number:
Region: Andorra > Escaldes-Engordany Parish > Escaldes-Engordany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Escaldes-Engordany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Andorra Comtes d'Urgell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kyriad Andorra Comtes d'Urgell is a traditional hotel in the center of Escaldes Engordany at 100 meters from Caldea. It offers free wifi in public areas and a large lounge with TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kyriad Andorra Comtes d'Urgell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comtes d Urgell
Kyriad Andorra Comtes D'Urgell Hotel Escaldes-Engordany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing