We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it.”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Austria
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I liked it.”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

It is a good place to rest. People i very kind and the cleaner room woman tide even your t-shirts.

The barman is the best. Carlos from Alicante. You can ask him whatever about snowboard.

You have Grau-Roig about 2km length and almost 5km length Tarter. But you'll be skiing in a few minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarioRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
7
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012 via mobile

We got stuck here on a motorcycling trip through Andorra after the weather closed in and we struck gold! Fantastically friendly and helpful staff who couldn't do more to help. 5stars from all 3 of us. Budget accommodation but clean and spacious. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2011

If you are looking for a hotel with 5 star amenities then look elsewhere, but this is the best value budget hotel that I have stayed in on any of my recent ski trips. The staff are all friendly and welcoming and sorted out any problems that we had. The rooms were basic but adequate and were always warm enough. In my opinion, the food was really good. There was always plenty of it and it was always hot.
The hotel is situated about two miles outside the main resort of Soldeu so you need to get a bus, but this is no problem as they are frequent.
Of the 6 people in our group, we had no complaints and have already talked about booking up here for next year ( guess it helped that we had a great ski week as well with plenty of snow). There is a nice bar with pool and football table for the evenings. If you want to be at the centre of the nightlife then look elsewhere ( but you will pay more money for it).
I found a few of the reviews on here a bit surprising as there were quite a few grumbles but for the money this is great value. Recommended for skiing on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We have just enjoyed a excellent skiing vacation in Andorra. Prior to our trip we did have doubts about this hotel. However, after a pleasant stay we can'nt recognise the negative reviews. Our experience might be due to the improved management some has written about or the fact that we are less demanding - I don't know.

The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. Our room was clean when we arrived and cleaned every morning after we had left. The bathroom had a bathtub and towells were changed when left on the floor in the morning.

We did find the hotel noisy at times, which mostly were due to the fact that it is a concrete building without carpets on the floors - even in the rooms. At night the hotel was quiet. The bed in our room was bad, but we both had a good sleep anyway. The morning and evening buffet was ok and there were plenty of food. There were several evening dishes to choose from every night and none were salty, as some has stated. Throughout our stay the desserts were not to our liking, but the Spanish guests seemed to like them.

As for the location of the hotel 2 kilometers outside Soldeu, this was'nt a problem as the ski bus operated every half hour during the morning and afternoon hours. The bus took us to Soldeu in 5 minutes for 1.50 Euros each. There is no public transport after 9.30 in the evening, which leaves taxi as the only option for nightly outings to the other towns. Walking on the main road is not safe at any time as there is no space left for pedestrians.

We chose to rent a locker at the main gondola in Soldeu and leave your skis and boots there. There is no storage room at Hotel Austria (hoever, ski equipment is allowed in the rooms) The locker in Soldeu will cost you 50 Euros for week, but up to 5 people can share.

We booked the room 3 months in advance and were given a discount. Comparable hotels in central soldeu will cost you the double. For the price Hotel Austria is very good value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pelean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Soldeu hotels

Teignmouth
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Stayed here for a week, skiing. The hotel is basic but clean, the food is not fantastic but there was several choices. Our room was small but warm,clean and comfortable.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, we would stay here again as it is very reasonable
and although you need to get the bus into Soldeu, its a good service and only takes 5 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cludasdulac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

This is clearly a 2 star hotel.

The main problems is the room are very dirty, they never cleaned the room and bathroom floor during our one week stay.

The food was reasonable for the price/quality, but always salty even after we and other guests had complained about it. This is very big issue for health. Probably they just wanted to force people to buy more drinks.And most of the times was the same food, after the 4th day we had to eat in other restaurant as we couldn't take the same food again.

The facilities are almost none or you have to pay, there is only 1 dryer for the whole hotel. Internet was way too expensive (1€ for 10 min). The safe was in the lobby and cost 5€, for 3 days.

Staff are very rude
.
We wouldn't recommend this hotel and definitely won't come to this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjoanasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Fermanagh, NI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

January 2010 for three nights. Two rooms taken. Five guests total. The rooms were warm and clean with firm but comfortable beds. Lots of hot water for baths and showers. Parking at the door. Located in the hamlet of Bordes d'Envalira a mile or so uphill from Soldeu village and just before the tunnel to Pas de la Casa. A quiet location on the road side served by the local buses and the free ski bus. Most suitable if you have a car. Fantastic views of the ski slopes if you get a room at the front - try asking, it often works! The hotel has a large bar lounge with pool table, darts and table football, open until midnight. Evening meal is a hot buffet costing €20 which looked OK on the way past and is served from 8pm-10pm which is a little late for those planning to apres-ski in Soldeu from 6pm until tomorrow! Breakfast (again 8-10) comprised of hams, cheese, juices, breads, croissants, cereals, fruit, cake, yoghurts, preserves, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and possibly one or two other items since forgotten. Cooked breakfast is not available here but try Slim Jims in Soldeu village for excellent cooked food all day long until 10pm at very reasonable prices, not the usual tourist rip off; ask for Kate, tell her we sent you! This hotel is basic and outside the buzz of Soldeu but is very good value. We were there to ski, not sit in a hotel so it suited us very well. Paul, Desi and crew.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fermanaghski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soldeu hotels
0.0 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 16 in Soldeu
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 16 in Soldeu
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bruxelles
Hotel Bruxelles
#9 of 16 in Soldeu
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pierre et Vacances BORDES D'ENVALIRA Andorra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Property: Hotel Austria
Address: 22 Carretera General Km | Bordes d´Envalira, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Soldeu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing