We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy new attractive restaurant”
Review of U Cavagnetu

U Cavagnetu
Ranked #7 of 102 Restaurants in Monaco-Ville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Busy new attractive restaurant”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Monaco-Ville is pricy, and this restaurant was what we expected. We had Nicoise salads which were good, and a half litre of Rose (12.50 Euros for their least expensive). Service was good, and the place, including bathrooms, were clean. It was the only new restaurant that we ate at on this trip, and it had it's charm. And it was cold outside and warm inside!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 34oceanspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    124
    42
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Just good”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Once you're in Monaco-Ville staring The Prince Castle you need to eat anyway. Why not here? The 'U Cavagnetu' looks good from outside, it's nice inside, it has official 2-stars official classification. So we were not mistaken - the food is good, the service is good, the bill is OK.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VladimirSotnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing spectacular”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The food was good. Atmosphere was good. The service and staff were a lot of fun. But overall, if you are if your goal is a culinary adventure then you could do better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Ordinary”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We were given a tiny table for two - in the worst sense - there was barely room for the cutlery and glasses.No offer to hang coats or supply an extra chair for shopping parcels and handbag. We sat next to the raised area with other peoples' feet under our noses. Cheap paper runner and serviettes did not add to the experience. Waitress arrived to take the order before we had opened the menus. Service generally dreary. Disinterest reigned. Reasonable prices (but not for wines) but food extra dull.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A cut above the rest”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

It was lunchtime, we were hungry and wanted to eat in the Old Town. We knew the area is a maze of fastfood and inexpensive restaurants/cafes catering for the swarms of tourists visiting the nearby Palace. U Cavagnetu had an interesting menu and we liked the look of the place. We chose a table in the alley to watch the world pass by. We both had a prawn and avacado starter followed by sole. Nothing remarkable...as we expected. Service was efficient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Cavagnetu also viewed

Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
 
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
 

Been to U Cavagnetu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing