We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that glitters is not Gold”
Review of Buddha Bar

Buddha Bar
Reserve with
Buddha Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$45
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lounge bar and restaurant. Amber lighting, a Zen atmosphere, decor blending fabrics, colors, "objets d'art". Asian fusion cuisine, a subtle blend of Chinese, Thai and Vietnamese influences. A special mention for exceptional cocktails to accompany sushi, maki and sashimi, revisited by the Buddha-Bar.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All that glitters is not Gold”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful night in Monte-Carlo, very excited to have some very anticipated Asian food in Europe, as French cuisine has been in abundance of late. We enter the resto, and the decor is absolutely stunning and gorgeous, with the melodic beat going in the background , so chill & charming at the same time. We sit down, take our menus and quickly order as we are so excited. I order your staple spring roles both fried and rice paper which is always a great starter, and the aromatic chicken, wife orders roles also and a few suishi sashimi and maki. The paper spring role was so thick and stale I though I was biting into one of my Pirelli's, they must have prepared them three weeks ago and left them in the fridge, the fried ones were even better, I bit into it, and it tasted of.........of..............................are you ready........nothing!!!!! It went on, and on, only good thing was my wife's salmon sashimi, yes it's true, slicing raw salmon must take raw talent. Unfortunately the problem is even bigger however because, Europeans don't consume extravagant amounts of this cuisine, so if they are being fed this and told that it is the best, oh dear, what a disservice to the segment. Moral of the story: crazy gorgeous place, go there to have drinks and party with friends , you'll have the time of your life, as for the kitchen, save your money, your chances of winning are better off in the CASINO!!!!

Thank Titanium S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane N, Responsable relations clients at Buddha Bar, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your visit, and also for your time and comment.
I would like to appologies if you didn't like the spring roll on that night. I will investigate and look to find what could go wrong in our process. But I can already tell you, all the spring rolls in Buddha Bar are made on the same day with the best fresh vegetables and products.
Please if you visit Monaco again don't hesitate to come back to Buddha Bar for dinner, we will do all we can to make your evening special.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trendy venue for a special night out.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had a great night at the Buddha bar in Montecarlo. A special place with good food and and even better looking people! Was a bit surprised to see young children. If you prefer child-free dining, better to pick the 9.30 sitting. Drinks and dancing at the bar area after dinner was funl, as was the view of the bay from the terrace. The atmosphere was nice and the people were friendly. I would definitately go back, maybe reserve a table for drinks on the terrace. It was not cheap (wine was €50 a bottle minimum) but it was worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank celticstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Certainly not 'best sushi in the world!' What hype !”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Very standard sushi. Service very very slow. 2 hendricks n tonic took over 25 minutes. Then other order they had forgotten. Food far more expensive for other similar sushi restaurants. Then again you're in Monaco. But it was just very average. Clients very rich and lots of booze on display! Makes for lovely evening of people watching. Really lovely views of cote d'azur. That was highlight and DJ played really cool relaxing set ..

Thank Europesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I love the sushi here!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a Lovely, exclusive and romantic building that serves you one of the best sushi in the world

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sofia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good japanese food, mediocre service”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Very good Japanese food and nice decoration. Clients not as nice, very rude and lots of gold diggers and not very familiar. I had a good time and a very nice dinner with good wine!!

Thank Atila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buddha Bar also viewed


Been to Buddha Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing