We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This fabulous hotel is right where we wanted to be in Monaco, amonst it all! and we were very pleased with our choice... We only had two nights there but we are already looking forward to our next visit. The service was excellent and at the same time very friendly... they were extremely helpful too. The hotel itself was decorated in an 'opulent old style' and very 'Monte-Carlo', it conjured up visions from days gone by! The bar and lobby area that you walk into when entering the hotel, is not only a great place to eat and drink, but definitely the place to be seen. Our suite was actually very lovely too and had everything we needed including two bathrooms... The only problem was that it looked out onto the 'pool renovation works' that other reviewers have talked about... I guess though, when the pool is finished it will be a good view.
The Joel Robuchon restaurant was fantastic, the food was amazing, and the staff superb... We entertained some friends who very impressed, and they like us will be going back soon. Oh and the shopping was brilliant!

Room Tip: For the next few months choose a room away from the pool works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AEW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    140
    40
    19
    16
See reviews for
104
412
30
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

After one night, I couldn't sleep due to noise from pool renovations. The Guest services manager, Celine, was kind enough to upgrade me to a beautiful suite on the opposite side of the hotel. Very much enjoyed the last couple nights of my visit. Beautiful French hotel close to everything in town.
Incredibly wonderful staff except for service in the Bar.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a great position, definitely pricey but it is Monaco!!! Charming and helpful staff, sadly pool out of action at the moment and knock on effect is a slightly shambolic scrum for breakfast but this is temporary and overall it's a really lovely place to stay

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaraC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales,
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Hotel Metropole provides opulence and style on a grand scale. My wife and I took a suite there for three nights and I have to say it was magnificent. The staff are charming, attentive and polite and the whole hotel has a wonderful ambience of calm. The location is perfect, just a minutes walk from Casino Square and the dining terrace overlooks the straight from Casino Square down to Mirabeau on the Grand Prix circuit. However, this does mean that on race days the beautiful calm is destroyed by the roar of racing engines. One niggle which I feel I must mention is that no tea or coffee making facilities were provided in our suite.Given that the nightly rate amounted to what is most people's monthly mortgage payment I thought the hotel let themselves down somewhat.
Having visited Monte Carlo frequently between 2002-2005 on business, I thought I knew what to expect, but in the short time since I was last there, the prices charged seemed to have turned on the afterburners and shot another level into the stratosphere. I took my wife there for the weekend of our wedding anniversary which just happened to coincide with the Historic Grand Prix. The racing was fantastic and my wife has been converted to an avid fan of motor racing but I really think Monte Carlo has gone a price too far. Twenty-four euros for a glass of dry white house wine and eight euros for a bottle of vittel water,served in the bottle not even with a glass, is difficult to justify. However, a group of middle aged Russian co-residents and their young female companions seemed quite happy as they worked their way through six or seven bottles of Dom Perignon at nine hundred and ninety euros a bottle.
A fabulous weekend but it won't be repeated too often

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pack0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
192 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have read everyone's favorable reviews and accept them, but my experience was very different and as I am an avid Trip Advisor User I must share my views.

Granted we chose the lowest category room - funnily enough called Superior, but as there was no room category under that how could it be called "Superior?" It was the worst room I have ever had in a four or five star hotel and cost me 400 Euros, excluding breakfast which was an additional 40 Euros each. The bathroom was exactly the size of a bathroom on a ship, with a basin, shower stall and toilet squashed into a small area - you had to be careful not to crash into the metal toilet roll holder when you sat down! The furniture and carpet are tired and the furnishings very sparse. The air conditioner was extremely noisy even with the fan on the lowest setting. I accept that the room needs renovating and that the lower priced rooms would be the last to renovate but I do not feel the price was warranted, even in Monte Carlo, for a room such as this. The television was an old tv on an old metal one-leg stand with the wires sticking out of the stand. Much better to stay to stay at the Port Palace hotel not too far away where we stayed last year. We had decided to take a room at the Hotel Metropole as we wished to revisit the wonderful Joel Robuchon restaurant there. The restaurant was a fantastic experience once more.

On check out I was asked if I had enjoyed my stay and answered honestly that I had not. I received an email from the management saying how sorry they were that I had been dissatisfied and that they would automatically upgrade me to deluxe on my next visit. Next visit I shall go back to the Port Palace Hotel.

I must say that the staff were extremely efficient and helpful and the public areas of the hotel are beautiful. A new Spa is in the process of being built and I am sure this grand dame of hotels will return to splendor once more in the future but if you wish to stay here, rather pay more for an better quality room than "Superior".

Room Tip: Ask to see the Room First.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Excellent hotel in the heart of Monte Carlo. The ambiance is quiet and pleasant while tapestries hanging on the walls of the lobby add to chic style of this classic place. Special attraction of the hotel is a two Michelin stars restauran of world-renouned chef Joel Robouchon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vop63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have just stayed for three nights, and our stay could not have been much better!
Booked a package which included return helicopter transfers and everything ran smoothly.
Our room was upgraded to a Deluxe and we had a partial sea view and looked towards the Casino. The room was fantastic as was the bathroom and turndown service.
Breakfast was included and could not have been better, the service was spot on.
The Hotel is situated right next to the Casino and Cafe De Paris and a short walk to the Harbour, which was great as the weather was fantastic and there are great views along the way. We had cheap drinks at the Brassiere De Monaco!
The big thing for me was the staff at the hotel, they were so friendly and polite and wanted to do everything possible to make our stay memorable, which they have achieved. Thank you and we would return in an instant!

Room Tip: Be polite if making requests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo

Property: Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Address: 4 Avenue de La Madone | BP 19, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Region: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, this hotel offers elegant accommodation just steps away from the Casino. It features 126 refined rooms and suites, a heated swimming pool and two Michelin-starred restaurants. Guests can enjoy inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Joel Robuchon restaurant, or go to Yoshi for modern Japanese cuisine. The exterior space of the hotel was redesigned by Karl Lagerfeld and includes the hotel's third restaurant, Odyssey, an outstanding swimming pool open year-round as well as landscaped gardens, all of which are only accessible to guests of the hotel and spa. To further enhance this relaxing experience, the Metropole ESPA Monte-Carlo offers an extensive range of well-being and beauty ESPA treatments and a new collection of "a la carte" holistic and therapeutic treatments. With private parking on site, the hotel is 2 km from Monte-Carlo Golf Course. Nice Cote-d'Azur Airport is 19 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing